Maine / Dischargers /
City of Bangor (Wastewater Treatment Plant)
CSO · Maine · Bangor
- NPDES permit
- ME0100781
- Outfalls
- 9 with coordinates in the registry (the state's layer lists 8)
- Receiving waters
- Kenduskeag Stream; Penobscot River
- Tracked waters
- Kenduskeag Stream, ME, Penobscot River, ME
- Events tracked
- 0 discharges
- Volume reported
- no volumes reported
Source: discharger record from the project's research and EPA ECHO (dischargers.json); counts from the 0 event records below, as of 2026-11-02 11:56 UTC.
How it tells the public
City CSO Control Program page https://bangormaine.gov/294/Combined-Sewer-Overflow-CSO-Control-Prog (history and LTCP, no event notices); city general alerts at https://me-bangor.civicplus.com/636/Alerts-Notifications (not CSO-specific). Signs at outfalls per permit.
Source: the project's research on each operator's notification channel (research/<state>/dischargers.json), checked by fetching the operator's pages.
Outfalls
Source: water outlines from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL); outfalls from EPA ECHO and the state outfall layers; modeled reaches computed by DirtyWaterWatch from USGS NLDI, NHDPlus and the nearest USGS gauge (Jobson 1996); basemap OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
9 outfalls in the registry
- 002 BARKERSVILLE · CSO · Penobscot River
- 003 DAVIS BROOK · CSO · Penobscot River
- 006 KENDUSKEAG WEST · CSO · Penobscot River
- 007 KENDUSKEAG EAST · CSO · Penobscot River
- 009 HAMMOND STREET · CSO · Penobscot River
- 011 MEADOW BROOK · CSO · Penobscot River
- 020 CARR BROOK · CSO · Penobscot River
- 023 CENTRAL STREET · CSO · Penobscot River
- 016 Cemetery, off OH · CLS · Kenduskeag Stream
Source: EPA ECHO CSO outfall inventory matched to waters (data/outfalls-ne.json).
Event history
| Start | End | Water | Outfall | Type | Volume | Source | Links |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 2025 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 9.23 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100781:2025, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2023 | 2024 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 73.01 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100781:2024:r2025, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2023 | 2024 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual totalrevised | 73 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100781:2024, published Jun 29, 2025, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2022 | 2023 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 62.55 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100781:2023, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2021 | 2022 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 52.47 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100781:2022, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2020 | 2021 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 77.72 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100781:2021, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2019 | 2020 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 58.75 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100781:2020, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2018 | 2019 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 96.01 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100781:2019, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2017 | 2018 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 50.55 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100781:2018, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2016 | 2017 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 13.31 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100781:2017, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2015 | 2016 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 48.59 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100781:2016, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2014 | 2015 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 40.11 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100781:2015, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2013 | 2014 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 87.75 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100781:2014, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2012 | 2013 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 32.14 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100781:2013, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2011 | 2012 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 69.94 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100781:2012, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2010 | 2011 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 146 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100781:2011, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
History
Reported yearly totals: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals)
Maine DEP reports one total per community and year (all of its CSO outfalls); it is shown in full on each water the community's outfalls reach. Event-days: calendar days with any CSO discharge in the community. Source: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals). Covered 2011-01-01 to 2025-12-31.
Reported volume
Gallons per year.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume |
|---|---|
| 2011 | 146,000,000 gal |
| 2012 | 69,940,000 gal |
| 2013 | 32,140,000 gal |
| 2014 | 87,748,000 gal |
| 2015 | 40,109,000 gal |
| 2016 | 48,586,000 gal |
| 2017 | 13,310,000 gal |
| 2018 | 50,547,000 gal |
| 2019 | 96,009,000 gal |
| 2020 | 58,745,000 gal |
| 2021 | 77,720,893 gal |
| 2022 | 52,468,359 gal |
| 2023 | 62,551,149 gal |
| 2024 | 73,011,955 gal |
| 2025 | 9,226,984 gal |
Days with a CSO discharge
Days per year.
Show table
| Year | Days with a CSO discharge |
|---|---|
| 2011 | 54 |
| 2012 | 29 |
| 2013 | 27 |
| 2014 | 34 |
| 2015 | 20 |
| 2016 | 28 |
| 2017 | 21 |
| 2018 | 23 |
| 2019 | 34 |
| 2020 | 16 |
| 2021 | 16 |
| 2022 | 28 |
| 2023 | 18 |
| 2024 | 16 |
| 2025 | 8 |
How these charts are counted
Discharge events are counted once: where a source publishes both public notices and verified reports (MassDEP, Vermont DEC), a discharger's month with any verified report counts its verified reports only, and other months count notices. Revisions are folded into the record they revise, and EPA copies of a state report are not counted twice. Monthly and yearly totals (Maine DEP, EPA discharge monitoring reports, Portsmouth) are shown on their own and never added to the event counts. Hours under advisory follow the map's red rules. A muted band marks periods no source covers: a gap there is missing data, not a quiet month.