DirtyWaterWatch

Maine / Dischargers /

City of Belfast WWTP

CSO · Maine · Belfast

NPDES permit
ME0101532
Outfalls
2 with coordinates in the registry
Receiving waters
Passagassawakeag River; Belfast Harbor
Tracked waters
passagassawakeag-river-me, Penobscot Bay, ME
Events tracked
0 discharges
Volume reported
no volumes reported

Source: discharger record from the project's research and EPA ECHO (dischargers.json); counts from the 0 event records below, as of 2026-11-02 11:56 UTC.

How it tells the public

No event notification found. Permit requires a permanent 12x18 inch green 'wet weather sewage discharge' sign at each CSO outfall (standard MEPDES CSO special condition) and Ch. 570 annual newspaper notice; annual totals appear only in the DEP CSO Status Report (published each June-July for the prior year). Website check 2026-11-01: belfastmaine.org returned 403.

Source: the project's research on each operator's notification channel (research/<state>/dischargers.json), checked by fetching the operator's pages.

Outfalls

Source: water outlines from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL); outfalls from EPA ECHO and the state outfall layers; modeled reaches computed by DirtyWaterWatch from USGS NLDI, NHDPlus and the nearest USGS gauge (Jobson 1996); basemap OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

2 outfalls in the registry
  • 002 MILLER STREET · CSO · Belfast Harbor
  • 003 CONDON STREET · CSO · Belfast Harbor

Source: EPA ECHO CSO outfall inventory matched to waters (data/outfalls-ne.json).

Event history

Events reported for City of Belfast WWTP, newest first
StartEnd Water OutfallTypeVolumeSourceLinks
2024 2025 Penobscot Bay, ME not stated Annual total 0 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101532:2025, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2023 2024 Penobscot Bay, ME not stated Annual total 207,301 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101532:2024, published Jun 29, 2025, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2022 2023 Penobscot Bay, ME not stated Annual total 504,877 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101532:2023, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2021 2022 Penobscot Bay, ME not stated Annual total 444,090 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101532:2022, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2020 2021 Penobscot Bay, ME not stated Annual total 264,774 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101532:2021, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2019 2020 Penobscot Bay, ME not stated Annual total 96,444 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101532:2020, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2018 2019 Penobscot Bay, ME not stated Annual total 330,905 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101532:2019, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2017 2018 Penobscot Bay, ME not stated Annual total 305,071 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101532:2018, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2016 2017 Penobscot Bay, ME not stated Annual total 0 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101532:2017, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2015 2016 Penobscot Bay, ME not stated Annual total 0 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101532:2016, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2014 2015 Penobscot Bay, ME not stated Annual total 0 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101532:2015, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2013 2014 Penobscot Bay, ME not stated Annual total 0 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101532:2014, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2012 2013 Penobscot Bay, ME not stated Annual total 0 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101532:2013, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2011 2012 Penobscot Bay, ME not stated Annual total 0 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101532:2012, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2010 2011 Penobscot Bay, ME not stated Annual total 490,495 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101532:2011, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

History

Reported yearly totals: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals)

Maine DEP reports one total per community and year (all of its CSO outfalls); it is shown in full on each water the community's outfalls reach. Event-days: calendar days with any CSO discharge in the community. Source: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals). Covered 2011-01-01 to 2025-12-31.

Reported volume

Gallons per year.

Show table
Reported volume
YearReported volume
2011490,495 gal
20120 gal
20130 gal
20140 gal
20150 gal
20160 gal
20170 gal
2018305,071 gal
2019330,905 gal
202096,444 gal
2021264,774 gal
2022444,090 gal
2023504,877 gal
2024207,301 gal
20250 gal

Days with a CSO discharge

Days per year.

Show table
Days with a CSO discharge
YearDays with a CSO discharge
20113
20120
20130
20140
20151
20160
20170
20182
20193
20202
20213
20225
20234
20241
20250
How these charts are counted

Discharge events are counted once: where a source publishes both public notices and verified reports (MassDEP, Vermont DEC), a discharger's month with any verified report counts its verified reports only, and other months count notices. Revisions are folded into the record they revise, and EPA copies of a state report are not counted twice. Monthly and yearly totals (Maine DEP, EPA discharge monitoring reports, Portsmouth) are shown on their own and never added to the event counts. Hours under advisory follow the map's red rules. A muted band marks periods no source covers: a gap there is missing data, not a quiet month.