Maine / Dischargers /
Greater Augusta Utility District (incl. Hallowell sanitary sewers and CSO)
CSO · Maine · Augusta, Hallowell
- NPDES permit
- ME0100013
- Outfalls
- 19 with coordinates in the registry (the state's layer lists 9)
- Receiving waters
- Kennebec River
- Tracked waters
- Kennebec River, ME
- Events tracked
- 0 discharges
- Volume reported
- no volumes reported
Source: discharger record from the project's research and EPA ECHO (dischargers.json); counts from the 0 event records below, as of 2026-11-02 11:56 UTC.
How it tells the public
No event notification found. Permit requires a permanent 12x18 inch green 'wet weather sewage discharge' sign at each CSO outfall (standard MEPDES CSO special condition) and Ch. 570 annual newspaper notice; annual totals appear only in the DEP CSO Status Report (published each June-July for the prior year). Website check 2026-11-01: gaud.org homepage scanned; no CSO or alert links.
Source: the project's research on each operator's notification channel (research/<state>/dischargers.json), checked by fetching the operator's pages.
Outfalls
Source: water outlines from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL); outfalls from EPA ECHO and the state outfall layers; modeled reaches computed by DirtyWaterWatch from USGS NLDI, NHDPlus and the nearest USGS gauge (Jobson 1996); basemap OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
19 outfalls in the registry
- 003 Jackson Avenue · CLS · Kennebec River
- 005 GAGE/VALLEY STREETS · CSO · Kennebec River
- 006 PARK LOT/RYAN HILL · CSO · Kennebec River
- 007 RR STA-DEPOT PARKLOT · CSO · Kennebec River
- 008 FRONT STREET PS #3 · CSO · Kennebec River
- 012 NORTHERN/WASHINGTON · CSO · Kennebec River
- 017 North Belfast Avenue · CLS · Whitney Brook · not on a tracked water
- 019 MAPLE STREET · CSO · Kennebec River
- 020 WILLOW ST - O'CONNERS · CSO · Kennebec River
- 021 Cony Street · CLS · Kennebec River
- 022 Howard Street, Pump Station #4 · CLS · Kennebec River
- 024 E. INTERCEPTOR-AMHI · CSO · Kennebec River
- 026 WILLOW STREET - COTTLE'S · CSO · Kennebec River
- 027 Laundry - AMHI/Riverview · CLS · Kennebec River
- 029 SEWALL/CAPITOL STORM · CSO · Kennebec River
- 031 WINTHROP/COMMERCIAL · CSO · Kennebec River
- 032 75 Stone Street · CLS · Kennebec River · not on a tracked water
- 040 WEST SIDE C.C. · CSO · Kennebec River
- 041 HALLOWELL-HINKLEY RD · CSO · Kennebec River
Source: EPA ECHO CSO outfall inventory matched to waters (data/outfalls-ne.json).
Event history
| Start | End | Water | Outfall | Type | Volume | Source | Links |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 2025 | Kennebec River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 3.62 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100013:2025, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2023 | 2024 | Kennebec River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 10.68 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100013:2024, published Jun 29, 2025, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2022 | 2023 | Kennebec River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 2.51 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100013:2023, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2021 | 2022 | Kennebec River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 1.99 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100013:2022, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2020 | 2021 | Kennebec River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 3.08 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100013:2021, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2019 | 2020 | Kennebec River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 6.07 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100013:2020, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2018 | 2019 | Kennebec River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 3.48 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100013:2019, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2017 | 2018 | Kennebec River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 3.77 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100013:2018, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2016 | 2017 | Kennebec River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 3.68 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100013:2017, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2015 | 2016 | Kennebec River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 7.12 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100013:2016, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2014 | 2015 | Kennebec River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 21.68 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100013:2015, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2013 | 2014 | Kennebec River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 17.65 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100013:2014, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2012 | 2013 | Kennebec River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 26.9 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100013:2013, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2011 | 2012 | Kennebec River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 38.41 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100013:2012, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2010 | 2011 | Kennebec River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 31.59 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100013:2011, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
History
Reported yearly totals: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals)
Maine DEP reports one total per community and year (all of its CSO outfalls); it is shown in full on each water the community's outfalls reach. Event-days: calendar days with any CSO discharge in the community. Source: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals). Covered 2011-01-01 to 2025-12-31.
Reported volume
Gallons per year.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume |
|---|---|
| 2011 | 31,589,000 gal |
| 2012 | 38,408,000 gal |
| 2013 | 26,901,000 gal |
| 2014 | 17,646,000 gal |
| 2015 | 21,680,000 gal |
| 2016 | 7,120,000 gal |
| 2017 | 3,680,000 gal |
| 2018 | 3,771,000 gal |
| 2019 | 3,482,000 gal |
| 2020 | 6,074,000 gal |
| 2021 | 3,082,000 gal |
| 2022 | 1,989,200 gal |
| 2023 | 2,509,450 gal |
| 2024 | 10,679,193 gal |
| 2025 | 3,624,263 gal |
Days with a CSO discharge
Days per year.
Show table
| Year | Days with a CSO discharge |
|---|---|
| 2011 | 37 |
| 2012 | 29 |
| 2013 | 22 |
| 2014 | 29 |
| 2015 | 17 |
| 2016 | 17 |
| 2017 | 29 |
| 2018 | 35 |
| 2019 | 26 |
| 2020 | 24 |
| 2021 | 11 |
| 2022 | 14 |
| 2023 | 18 |
| 2024 | 5 |
| 2025 | 6 |
How these charts are counted
Discharge events are counted once: where a source publishes both public notices and verified reports (MassDEP, Vermont DEC), a discharger's month with any verified report counts its verified reports only, and other months count notices. Revisions are folded into the record they revise, and EPA copies of a state report are not counted twice. Monthly and yearly totals (Maine DEP, EPA discharge monitoring reports, Portsmouth) are shown on their own and never added to the event counts. Hours under advisory follow the map's red rules. A muted band marks periods no source covers: a gap there is missing data, not a quiet month.