Maine / Dischargers /
City of Old Town Pollution Control Facility
CSO · Maine · Old Town
- NPDES permit
- ME0100471
- Outfalls
- 3 with coordinates in the registry (the state's layer lists 1)
- Receiving waters
- Penobscot River
- Tracked waters
- Penobscot River, ME
- Events tracked
- 0 discharges
- Volume reported
- no volumes reported
Source: discharger record from the project's research and EPA ECHO (dischargers.json); counts from the 0 event records below, as of 2026-11-02 11:56 UTC.
How it tells the public
No event notification found. Permit requires a permanent 12x18 inch green 'wet weather sewage discharge' sign at each CSO outfall (standard MEPDES CSO special condition) and Ch. 570 annual newspaper notice; annual totals appear only in the DEP CSO Status Report (published each June-July for the prior year). Website check 2026-11-01: oldtownmaine.org did not respond.
Source: the project's research on each operator's notification channel (research/<state>/dischargers.json), checked by fetching the operator's pages.
Outfalls
Source: water outlines from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL); outfalls from EPA ECHO and the state outfall layers; modeled reaches computed by DirtyWaterWatch from USGS NLDI, NHDPlus and the nearest USGS gauge (Jobson 1996); basemap OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
3 outfalls in the registry
- 002 PRIMARY TREATED/PRENTIS ST CSO · CSO|NPD · Penobscot River
- 003 Blended Effluent/GILMAN FALLS · CSO|NPD · Penobscot River
- 004 STILLWATER AVE · CSO · Penobscot River
Source: EPA ECHO CSO outfall inventory matched to waters (data/outfalls-ne.json).
Event history
| Start | End | Water | Outfall | Type | Volume | Source | Links |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 2025 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 0 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100471:2025, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2023 | 2024 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 93,715 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100471:2024, published Jun 29, 2025, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2022 | 2023 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 79,695 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100471:2023, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2021 | 2022 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 7,608 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100471:2022, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2020 | 2021 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 12,128 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100471:2021, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2019 | 2020 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 20,698 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100471:2020, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2018 | 2019 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 61,508 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100471:2019, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2017 | 2018 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 270,801 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100471:2018, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2016 | 2017 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 0 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100471:2017, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2015 | 2016 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 10,000 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100471:2016, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2014 | 2015 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 30,000 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100471:2015, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2013 | 2014 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 0 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100471:2014, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2012 | 2013 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 0 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100471:2013, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2011 | 2012 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 0 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100471:2012, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2010 | 2011 | Penobscot River, ME | not stated | Annual total | 0 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100471:2011, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
History
Reported yearly totals: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals)
Maine DEP reports one total per community and year (all of its CSO outfalls); it is shown in full on each water the community's outfalls reach. Event-days: calendar days with any CSO discharge in the community. Source: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals). Covered 2011-01-01 to 2025-12-31.
Reported volume
Gallons per year.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume |
|---|---|
| 2011 | 0 gal |
| 2012 | 0 gal |
| 2013 | 0 gal |
| 2014 | 0 gal |
| 2015 | 30,000 gal |
| 2016 | 10,000 gal |
| 2017 | 0 gal |
| 2018 | 270,801 gal |
| 2019 | 61,508 gal |
| 2020 | 20,698 gal |
| 2021 | 12,128 gal |
| 2022 | 7,608 gal |
| 2023 | 79,695 gal |
| 2024 | 93,715 gal |
| 2025 | 0 gal |
Days with a CSO discharge
Days per year.
Show table
| Year | Days with a CSO discharge |
|---|---|
| 2011 | 0 |
| 2012 | 0 |
| 2013 | 0 |
| 2014 | 0 |
| 2015 | 1 |
| 2016 | 1 |
| 2017 | 0 |
| 2018 | 2 |
| 2019 | 2 |
| 2020 | 3 |
| 2021 | 2 |
| 2022 | 2 |
| 2023 | 3 |
| 2024 | 5 |
| 2025 | 0 |
How these charts are counted
Discharge events are counted once: where a source publishes both public notices and verified reports (MassDEP, Vermont DEC), a discharger's month with any verified report counts its verified reports only, and other months count notices. Revisions are folded into the record they revise, and EPA copies of a state report are not counted twice. Monthly and yearly totals (Maine DEP, EPA discharge monitoring reports, Portsmouth) are shown on their own and never added to the event counts. Hours under advisory follow the map's red rules. A muted band marks periods no source covers: a gap there is missing data, not a quiet month.