DirtyWaterWatch

Maine / Dischargers /

City of South Portland Water Resource Protection

CSO · Maine · South Portland

NPDES permit
ME0100633
Outfalls
6 with coordinates in the registry (the state's layer lists 4)
Receiving waters
Barberry Creek; Fore River; Calvary Pond; Portland Harbor
Tracked waters
Fore River, ME, Casco Bay, ME
Events tracked
0 discharges
Volume reported
no volumes reported

Source: discharger record from the project's research and EPA ECHO (dischargers.json); counts from the 0 event records below, as of 2026-11-02 11:56 UTC.

How it tells the public

No event notification found. Permit requires a permanent 12x18 inch green 'wet weather sewage discharge' sign at each CSO outfall (standard MEPDES CSO special condition) and Ch. 570 annual newspaper notice; annual totals appear only in the DEP CSO Status Report (published each June-July for the prior year). Website check 2026-11-01: southportland.org homepage scanned; CivicAlerts news only.

Source: the project's research on each operator's notification channel (research/<state>/dischargers.json), checked by fetching the operator's pages.

Outfalls

Source: water outlines from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL); outfalls from EPA ECHO and the state outfall layers; modeled reaches computed by DirtyWaterWatch from USGS NLDI, NHDPlus and the nearest USGS gauge (Jobson 1996); basemap OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

6 outfalls in the registry
  • 005 CASH CORNER · CSO · Fore River
  • 006 BROADWAY & EVANS · CSO · Fore River
  • 018 FRONT STREET · CSO · Fore River
  • 019 West High Street · CLS · Portland Harbor
  • 021 Main Street · CLS · Fore River
  • 024 ELM STREET · CSO · Fore River

Source: EPA ECHO CSO outfall inventory matched to waters (data/outfalls-ne.json).

Event history

Events reported for City of South Portland Water Resource Protection, newest first
StartEnd Water OutfallTypeVolumeSourceLinks
2024 2025 Casco Bay, ME not stated Annual total 791,675 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100633:2025, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2023 2024 Casco Bay, ME not stated Annual total 4.24 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100633:2024, published Jun 29, 2025, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2022 2023 Casco Bay, ME not stated Annual total 1.19 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100633:2023, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2021 2022 Casco Bay, ME not stated Annual total 1.56 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100633:2022, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2020 2021 Casco Bay, ME not stated Annual total 2.51 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100633:2021, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2019 2020 Casco Bay, ME not stated Annual total 859,095 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100633:2020, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2018 2019 Casco Bay, ME not stated Annual total 8.65 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100633:2019, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2017 2018 Casco Bay, ME not stated Annual total 3.53 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100633:2018, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2016 2017 Casco Bay, ME not stated Annual total 2.03 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100633:2017, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2015 2016 Casco Bay, ME not stated Annual total 6.24 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100633:2016, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2014 2015 Casco Bay, ME not stated Annual total 11.16 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100633:2015, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2013 2014 Casco Bay, ME not stated Annual total 15.53 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100633:2014, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2012 2013 Casco Bay, ME not stated Annual total 1.86 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100633:2013, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2011 2012 Casco Bay, ME not stated Annual total 37.13 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100633:2012, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2010 2011 Casco Bay, ME not stated Annual total 14.91 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100633:2011, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

History

Reported yearly totals: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals)

Maine DEP reports one total per community and year (all of its CSO outfalls); it is shown in full on each water the community's outfalls reach. Event-days: calendar days with any CSO discharge in the community. Source: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals). Covered 2011-01-01 to 2025-12-31.

Reported volume

Gallons per year.

Show table
Reported volume
YearReported volume
201114,906,594 gal
201237,134,882 gal
20131,858,579 gal
201415,531,600 gal
201511,161,602 gal
20166,240,350 gal
20172,033,229 gal
20183,533,710 gal
20198,651,990 gal
2020859,095 gal
20212,511,052 gal
20221,561,258 gal
20231,191,467 gal
20244,242,992 gal
2025791,675 gal

Days with a CSO discharge

Days per year.

Show table
Days with a CSO discharge
YearDays with a CSO discharge
201113
201212
20137
20149
20152
20163
20172
20184
20193
20203
20212
20226
20235
20245
20252
How these charts are counted

Discharge events are counted once: where a source publishes both public notices and verified reports (MassDEP, Vermont DEC), a discharger's month with any verified report counts its verified reports only, and other months count notices. Revisions are folded into the record they revise, and EPA copies of a state report are not counted twice. Monthly and yearly totals (Maine DEP, EPA discharge monitoring reports, Portsmouth) are shown on their own and never added to the event counts. Hours under advisory follow the map's red rules. A muted band marks periods no source covers: a gap there is missing data, not a quiet month.