DirtyWaterWatch

Rhode Island / Dischargers /

Narragansett Bay Commission - Bucklin Point WWTF and associated CSOs

CSO · Rhode Island · Pawtucket, Central Falls, Cumberland, Lincoln (part), East Providence (part), Smithfield (part)

NPDES permit
RI0100072
Outfalls
27 with coordinates in the registry (the state's layer lists 25)
Receiving waters
Blackstone River; Seekonk River; Moshassuck River; Bucklin Brook
Tracked waters
Blackstone River, RI, Pawtucket River, RI, Seekonk River, RI
Events tracked
9 discharges · latest Oct 5, 2026, 8:50 PM EDT
Volume reported
11,102,285 gallons across the 4 discharges that give a volume (5 without one)

Source: discharger record from the project's research and EPA ECHO (dischargers.json); counts from the 9 event records below, as of 2026-11-02 11:56 UTC.

How it tells the public

NBC CSO Alarm Map, https://www.narrabay.com/programs-and-initiatives/combined-sewer-overflow-cso/cso-alarm-map/ (JSON: https://cso-api.narrabay.com/pins and /dryoverflows). Same map as Field's Point. Dry-weather CSOs also appear in EPA ECHO as violations.

Source: the project's research on each operator's notification channel (research/<state>/dischargers.json), checked by fetching the operator's pages.

Outfalls

Source: water outlines from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL); outfalls from EPA ECHO and the state outfall layers; modeled reaches computed by DirtyWaterWatch from USGS NLDI, NHDPlus and the nearest USGS gauge (Jobson 1996); basemap OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

27 outfalls in the registry
  • 002 · CSO · SEEKONK RIVER
  • 003 · TCS · SEEKONK RIVER
  • 101A CSO at River Street at Samoset Street · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 103A CSO at Aigan Street at High Street · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 104A CSO at Charles Street at Sacred Heart Avenue · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 105A CSO at Cross Street at Roosevelt Avenue · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 106A CSO at Higginsonn Avenue (2 pipes) · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 107A CSO at Dexter Street (107A), Hunt Street (207B) combined at Richmond Street · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 201A CSO at East Street west of Branch Street · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 202A CSO at Beneath Roosevelt Ave bridge west of Japonica Street · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 203A CSO at Carnation Street west of Front Street · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 204A CSO at North Side of Central Avenue northwest of intersection with Front Street · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 205A CSO at Central Avenue west of intersection with Front Street · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 206A CSO at Blackstone Avenue east of Roosevelt Avenue · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 207A CSO at Blackstone Avenue west of Front Street · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 208A CSO at Exchange Street east of Roosevelt Avenue · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 209A CSO at Exchange Street west of Fountain Street · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 210A CSO at Main Street between East Avenue and west abutment of Main St Bridge (relief pipe for 211A) · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 211A CSO at Main Street between East Avenue and west abutment of Main St Bridge · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 212A CSO at Main Street between diversion structure on Broadway and east abutment on Main St Bridge · CSO · Blackstone River
  • 213A CSO at easement area extending east of intersection of East Avenue and Pleasant Street · CSO · Seekonk River
  • 214A CSO at Roosevelt Avenue extension east of Pleasant Street · CSO · Seekonk River
  • 215A CSO at Division Street between east bridge abutment and diversion structure (#18) · CSO · Seekonk River
  • 216A CSO at Between intersection of School Street and Woodlawn Avenue · CSO · Seekonk River
  • 217A CSO at Overflow from diversion structures at Taft & Merry St thru easement to west bank of river · CSO · Seekonk River
  • 218A CSO at Bucklin Brook overflow · CSO · Seekonk River
  • 220A CSO at Moshassuck Street · CSO · Moshassuck River · not on a tracked water

Source: EPA ECHO CSO outfall inventory matched to waters (data/outfalls-ne.json).

Event history

Events reported for Narragansett Bay Commission - Bucklin Point WWTF and associated CSOs, newest first
StartEnd Water OutfallTypeVolumeSourceLinks
Oct 5, 2026, 8:50 PM EDT Oct 5, 2026, 11:11 PM EDT “Moshassuck River (inferred)” (not placed) OF 220 OF 220_Moshassuck_Esten Combined sewer overflow not reported Narragansett Bay Commission CSO Alarm Map via NBC CSO Alarm Map live outfall status (JSON), record OF220-20261005T2050, reported Oct 6, 2026, 8:12 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:55 UTC · notice
Oct 5, 2026 Oct 6, 2026 not placed not stated Combined sewer overflowrevised not reported EPA ECHO (reported to regulators) via ri-echo-dfr, record 3690904462, published Oct 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:55 UTC · notice
Aug 17, 2026 ended, time not reported not placed not stated Combined sewer overflow not reported EPA ECHO (reported to regulators) via ri-echo-dfr, record 3689643657, published Oct 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:55 UTC · notice
Mar 24, 2026, 1:45 AM EDT Mar 24, 2026, 3:45 AM EDT Seekonk River, RI not stated Bypass 11.1 million gal EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset (eRule Phase 2, current versions), record RI0100072:5:1, reported Mar 25, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

Mar 23, 2026 ended, time not reported Seekonk River, RI not stated Bypass not reported EPA ECHO (reported to regulators) via ri-echo-dfr, record 3687360434, published Oct 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:55 UTC · notice
Apr 28, 2025, 5:00 AM EDT Apr 28, 2025, 11:30 AM EDT Seekonk River, RI not stated Bypass 0 gal EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset (eRule Phase 2, current versions), record RI0100072:4:1, reported Apr 28, 2025, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

Apr 28, 2025 ended, time not reported Seekonk River, RI not stated Bypassrevised not reported EPA ECHO (reported to regulators) via ri-echo-dfr, record 3682532754, published Oct 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:55 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

Feb 8, 2025 ended, time not reported not placed not stated Combined sewer overflow not reported EPA ECHO (reported to regulators) via ri-echo-dfr, record 3680520061, published Oct 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:55 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

Dec 30, 2024, 5:00 PM EST Dec 30, 2024, 10:00 PM EST Seekonk River, RI not stated Bypass 0 gal EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset (eRule Phase 2, current versions), record RI0100072:3:1, reported Jun 2, 2025, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

Sep 22, 2024, 1:00 PM EDT Oct 11, 2024, 2:00 PM EDT Seekonk River, RI not stated Bypass 2,285 gal EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset (eRule Phase 2, current versions), record RI0100072:2:1, reported Nov 3, 2024, 7:00 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

Feb 14, 2024 ended, time not reported Seekonk River, RI not stated Bypass not reported EPA ECHO (reported to regulators) via ri-echo-dfr, record 3674298044, published Oct 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:55 UTC · notice

History

  • Discharge events, last 12 months4Dec 2025 to Nov 2026; partly covered or sparse source
  • Days with a discharge, last 12 months4Dec 2025 to Nov 2026; partly covered or sparse source
  • Hours under advisory, last 12 months100Dec 2025 to Nov 2026; on this discharger's reports; partly covered or sparse source
  • 2026 season under advisory8.0%May to October, partly covered; 50 h

Discharge events per month

9 events, Jan 2022 to Nov 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Bypass, blended or other
  • No source
  • Partly covered or sparse source
Sparse sourceSparse source

No source covers 2022-01 to 2022-04. EPA ECHO sewer overflow records are sparse (only what permittees file with EPA). EPA ECHO facility-report events for Rhode Island are sparse (only what permittees file with EPA). The Narragansett Bay Commission feed shows current overflows only; our record begins 2026-10-05.

Sources: EPA ECHO sewer overflow events; EPA ECHO facility reports (RI); Narragansett Bay Commission CSO feed. Covered 2022-05-03 to 2026-11-02.

Show table
Discharge events per month
MonthCombined sewer overflowSanitary sewer overflowBypass, blended or otherTotalCounted fromCoverage
Jan 20220000No source
Feb 20220000No source
Mar 20220000No source
Apr 20220000No source
May 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
May 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 20240011Source recordsPartly covered or sparse source
Mar 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
May 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20240011Source recordsPartly covered or sparse source
Oct 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 20240011Source recordsPartly covered or sparse source
Jan 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 20251001Source recordsPartly covered or sparse source
Mar 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 20250011Source recordsPartly covered or sparse source
May 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 20260022Source recordsPartly covered or sparse source
Apr 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
May 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20261001Source recordsPartly covered or sparse source
Sep 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20261001Source recordsPartly covered or sparse source
Nov 20260000

Hours under advisory per month

Hours this discharger's reports put a water under an advisory, by the map's red rules.

  • Advisory in effect
  • No source
  • Partly covered or sparse source
Sparse sourceSparse source

No source covers 2022-01 to 2022-04. 4 discharge events have no reported end and no ongoing status; under the status rules they set caution, not an advisory, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria advisories are counted on water pages only. EPA ECHO sewer overflow records are sparse (only what permittees file with EPA). EPA ECHO facility-report events for Rhode Island are sparse (only what permittees file with EPA). The Narragansett Bay Commission feed shows current overflows only; our record begins 2026-10-05.

Sources: EPA ECHO sewer overflow events; EPA ECHO facility reports (RI); Narragansett Bay Commission CSO feed. Covered 2022-05-03 to 2026-11-02.

Show table
Hours under advisory per month
MonthHours under advisoryFrom discharge windowsHours in monthCoverage
Jan 202200744No source
Feb 202200672No source
Mar 202200744No source
Apr 202200720No source
May 202200744Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 202200720Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 202200744Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 202200744Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 202200720Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 202200744Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 202200720Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 202200744Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 202300744Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 202300672Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 202300744Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 202300720Partly covered or sparse source
May 202300744Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 202300720Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 202300744Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 202300744Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 202300720Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 202300744Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 202300720Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 202300744Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 202400744Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 202400696Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 202400744Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 202400720Partly covered or sparse source
May 202400744Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 202400720Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 202400744Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 202400744Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 2024203203720Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 2024302302744Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 202400720Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 20243131744Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 20252222744Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 202500672Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 202500744Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 20255555720Partly covered or sparse source
May 202500744Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 202500720Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 202500744Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 202500744Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 202500720Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 202500744Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 202500720Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 202500744Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 202600744Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 202600672Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 20265050744Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 202600720Partly covered or sparse source
May 202600744Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 202600720Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 202600744Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 202600744Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 202600720Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20265050744Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20260032

Days with a discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it (start to reported end, local time); an event with no end counts its start day.

  • No source
  • Partly covered or sparse source
Sparse sourceSparse source

No source covers 2022-01 to 2022-04.

Sources: EPA ECHO sewer overflow events; EPA ECHO facility reports (RI); Narragansett Bay Commission CSO feed. Covered 2022-05-03 to 2026-11-02.

Show table
Days with a discharge per month
MonthDays with a dischargeCoverage
Jan 20220No source
Feb 20220No source
Mar 20220No source
Apr 20220No source
May 20220Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20220Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20220Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20220Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20220Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20220Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20220Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 20220Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 20230Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 20230Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 20230Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 20230Partly covered or sparse source
May 20230Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20230Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20230Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20230Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20230Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20230Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20230Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 20230Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 20240Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 20241Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 20240Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 20240Partly covered or sparse source
May 20240Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20240Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20240Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20240Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20249Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 202411Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20240Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 20241Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 20250Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 20251Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 20250Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 20251Partly covered or sparse source
May 20250Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20250Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20250Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20250Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20250Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20250Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20250Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 20250Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 20260Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 20260Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 20262Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 20260Partly covered or sparse source
May 20260Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20260Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20260Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20261Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20260Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20261Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20260

Reported volume per year

Gallons, summed from the 4 events that gave a number (5 did not).

  • Partly covered or sparse source
Sparse sourceSparse source

5 of 9 events gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Sources: EPA ECHO sewer overflow events; EPA ECHO facility reports (RI); Narragansett Bay Commission CSO feed. Covered 2022-05-03 to 2026-11-02.

Show table
Reported volume per year
YearGallonsEvents with a numberEvents withoutCoverage
2022000Partly covered or sparse source
2023000Partly covered or sparse source
20242,28521Partly covered or sparse source
2025011Partly covered or sparse source
202611,100,00013Partly covered or sparse source

Hours under advisory per year

Hours under advisory each year; 2026 to date.

  • Advisory in effect
  • Partly covered or sparse source
Sparse sourceSparse source

4 discharge events have no reported end and no ongoing status; under the status rules they set caution, not an advisory, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: EPA ECHO sewer overflow events; EPA ECHO facility reports (RI); Narragansett Bay Commission CSO feed. Covered 2022-05-03 to 2026-11-02.

Show table
Hours under advisory per year
YearHours under advisoryShare of the yearCoverage
202200.0%Partly covered or sparse source
202300.0%Partly covered or sparse source
20245366.1%Partly covered or sparse source
2025770.9%Partly covered or sparse source
20261001.4%Partly covered or sparse source

Share of the May to October season under advisory

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with an advisory in effect.

  • Advisory in effect
  • Season partly covered

Seasons only partly covered by a source: 2026 (share is of the covered hours). 4 discharge events have no reported end and no ongoing status; under the status rules they set caution, not an advisory, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: EPA ECHO sewer overflow events; EPA ECHO facility reports (RI); Narragansett Bay Commission CSO feed. Covered 2022-05-03 to 2026-11-02.

Show table
Share of the May to October season under advisory
SeasonShare under advisoryHours under advisoryHours coveredSeason hoursPartly covered
20268.0%506274,416yes

Discharge events by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge event, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Sources: EPA ECHO sewer overflow events; EPA ECHO facility reports (RI); Narragansett Bay Commission CSO feed. Covered 2022-05-03 to 2026-11-02.

Show table
Discharge events by calendar month, all years
MonthEventsYears of records
Jan00
Feb20
Mar20
Apr10
May00
Jun00
Jul00
Aug10
Sep10
Oct11
Nov01
Dec10

Discharge events by outfall

The 1 outfalls with the most events of 1, all years.

EPA ECHO sewer overflow records are sparse (only what permittees file with EPA). EPA ECHO facility-report events for Rhode Island are sparse (only what permittees file with EPA). The Narragansett Bay Commission feed shows current overflows only; our record begins 2026-10-05.

Sources: EPA ECHO sewer overflow events; EPA ECHO facility reports (RI); Narragansett Bay Commission CSO feed. Covered 2022-05-03 to 2026-11-02.

Show table
Discharge events by outfall
OutfallEvents
OF 220 OF 220_Moshassuck_Esten1
Outfall not stated8
How these charts are counted

Discharge events are counted once: where a source publishes both public notices and verified reports (MassDEP, Vermont DEC), a discharger's month with any verified report counts its verified reports only, and other months count notices. Revisions are folded into the record they revise, and EPA copies of a state report are not counted twice. Monthly and yearly totals (Maine DEP, EPA discharge monitoring reports, Portsmouth) are shown on their own and never added to the event counts. Hours under advisory follow the map's red rules. A muted band marks periods no source covers: a gap there is missing data, not a quiet month.

  • EPA ECHO sewer overflow events: 2022-05-03 to now (sparse)
  • EPA ECHO facility reports (RI): 2024-02-11 to now (sparse)
  • Narragansett Bay Commission CSO feed: 2026-10-05 to now