Frenchman Bay
Bay in Maine · near Bar Harbor, Lamoine
Status now
At least one source we follow covers this water, and nothing it reports applies right now.
Why this colour: No current report: nothing a covering source reports colours this water now. How long a water stays coloured, and why
Source: ECHO Effluent Charts REST services (per-permit DMR data incl. monthly CSO event counts, duration, volume per outfall), last answered 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC; ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset (eRule Phase 2, current versions), last answered 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC; Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), last answered 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC; Maine Healthy Beaches live GeoJSON, sampling sites (mapdata_site.geojson), last answered 2026-11-02 11:55 UTC. Status computed by DirtyWaterWatch as of 2026-11-02 11:56 UTC.
It is not a finding about the water. Discharges go unreported, reports arrive late, and storm runoff carries bacteria too. Follow posted signs and local health advice.
As of Nov 2, 2026, 6:56 AM EST.
Map
Source: water outlines from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL); outfalls from EPA ECHO and the state outfall layers; modeled reaches computed by DirtyWaterWatch from USGS NLDI, NHDPlus and the nearest USGS gauge (Jobson 1996); basemap OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Outfalls are small brown dots.
The last 90 days
No red or yellow period in this span.
Source: hourly statuses computed by DirtyWaterWatch (pipeline build/status.py) from the events linked above and the rules on the methods page; history as of 2026-11-02 11:56 UTC.
Discharges over the years
- Discharge events, last 12 months0Dec 2025 to Nov 2026; partly covered or sparse source
Discharge events per month
0 events, Jan 2022 to Nov 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Bypass, blended or other
- No source
- Partly covered or sparse source
No source covers 2022-01 to 2022-04. Some dischargers here report only monthly or yearly totals; those are shown under reported totals, not counted here.
Source: EPA ECHO sewer overflow events. Covered 2022-05-03 to 2026-11-02.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No source | |
| Feb 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No source | |
| Mar 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No source | |
| Apr 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No source | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jun 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jul 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Aug 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Sep 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Oct 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Nov 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Dec 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jan 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Feb 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Mar 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Apr 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jun 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jul 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Aug 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Sep 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Oct 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Nov 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Dec 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jan 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Feb 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Mar 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Apr 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jun 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jul 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Aug 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Sep 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Oct 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Nov 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Dec 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jan 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Feb 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Mar 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Apr 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jun 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jul 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Aug 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Sep 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Oct 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Nov 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Dec 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jan 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Feb 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Mar 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Apr 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jun 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jul 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Aug 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Sep 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Oct 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Nov 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source |
Reported yearly totals: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals)
Maine DEP reports one total per community and year (all of its CSO outfalls); it is shown in full on each water the community's outfalls reach. Event-days: calendar days with any CSO discharge in the community. Source: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals). Covered 2011-01-01 to 2025-12-31.
Reported volume
Gallons per year.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume |
|---|---|
| 2011 | 2,563,669 gal |
| 2012 | 3,776,092 gal |
| 2013 | 407,010 gal |
| 2014 | 1,561,139 gal |
| 2015 | 2,335,692 gal |
| 2016 | 277,000 gal |
| 2017 | 225,200 gal |
| 2018 | 562,221 gal |
| 2019 | 2,757,979 gal |
| 2020 | 971,376 gal |
| 2021 | 3,816,271 gal |
| 2022 | 3,141,462 gal |
| 2023 | 7,478,224 gal |
| 2024 | 3,179,664 gal |
| 2025 | 1,899,328 gal |
Days with a CSO discharge
Days per year.
Show table
| Year | Days with a CSO discharge |
|---|---|
| 2011 | 6 |
| 2012 | 13 |
| 2013 | 6 |
| 2014 | 17 |
| 2015 | 5 |
| 2016 | 2 |
| 2017 | 3 |
| 2018 | 7 |
| 2019 | 14 |
| 2020 | 5 |
| 2021 | 8 |
| 2022 | 11 |
| 2023 | 9 |
| 2024 | 8 |
| 2025 | 13 |
How these charts are counted
Discharge events are counted once: where a source publishes both public notices and verified reports (MassDEP, Vermont DEC), a discharger's month with any verified report counts its verified reports only, and other months count notices. Revisions are folded into the record they revise, and EPA copies of a state report are not counted twice. Monthly and yearly totals (Maine DEP, EPA discharge monitoring reports, Portsmouth) are shown on their own and never added to the event counts. Hours under advisory follow the map's red rules. A muted band marks periods no source covers: a gap there is missing data, not a quiet month.
- EPA ECHO sewer overflow events: 2022-05-03 to now (sparse)
Every event on Frenchman Bay
| Start | End | Discharger | Outfall | Type | Volume | Source | Links |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 26, 2025, 2:08 PM EDT | Aug 27, 2025, 12:21 PM EDT | not stated | not stated | Beach advisory | not reported | Maine Healthy Beaches (Maine DEP); posted by Bar Harbor via Maine Healthy Beaches live GeoJSON, sampling sites (mapdata_site.geojson), record 153:beach_advisory:2025-08-26T14:08, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:55 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2024 | 2025 | Town of Bar Harbor - Main WWTP / Town of Bar Harbor - Hulls Cove WWTF | not stated | Annual total | 1.9 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101214:2025, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| Aug 22, 2024, 2:00 PM EDT | Aug 23, 2024, 3:40 PM EDT | not stated | not stated | Beach advisory | not reported | Maine Healthy Beaches (Maine DEP); posted by Bar Harbor via Maine Healthy Beaches live GeoJSON, sampling sites (mapdata_site.geojson), record 153:beach_advisory:2024-08-22T14:00, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:55 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| Aug 9, 2024, 5:05 PM EDT | Aug 11, 2024, 10:50 AM EDT | not stated | not stated | Rainfall advisory | not reported | Maine Healthy Beaches (Maine DEP); posted by Bar Harbor via Maine Healthy Beaches live GeoJSON, sampling sites (mapdata_site.geojson), record 153:rain_advisory:2024-08-09T17:05, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:55 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| Aug 9, 2024, 5:04 PM EDT | Aug 11, 2024, 10:49 AM EDT | not stated | not stated | Rainfall advisory | not reported | Maine Healthy Beaches (Maine DEP); posted by Bar Harbor via Maine Healthy Beaches live GeoJSON, sampling sites (mapdata_site.geojson), record 120:rain_advisory:2024-08-09T17:04, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:55 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| Jul 2, 2024, 3:00 PM EDT | Jul 3, 2024, 3:00 PM EDT | not stated | not stated | Beach advisory | not reported | Maine Healthy Beaches (Maine DEP); posted by Bar Harbor via Maine Healthy Beaches live GeoJSON, sampling sites (mapdata_site.geojson), record 120:beach_advisory:2024-07-02T15:00, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:55 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2023 | 2024 | Town of Bar Harbor - Main WWTP / Town of Bar Harbor - Hulls Cove WWTF | not stated | Annual total | 3.18 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101214:2024, published Jun 29, 2025, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2022 | 2023 | Town of Bar Harbor - Main WWTP / Town of Bar Harbor - Hulls Cove WWTF | not stated | Annual total | 7.48 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101214:2023, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2021 | 2022 | Town of Bar Harbor - Main WWTP / Town of Bar Harbor - Hulls Cove WWTF | not stated | Annual total | 3.14 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101214:2022, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2020 | 2021 | Town of Bar Harbor - Main WWTP / Town of Bar Harbor - Hulls Cove WWTF | not stated | Annual total | 3.82 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101214:2021, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2019 | 2020 | Town of Bar Harbor - Main WWTP / Town of Bar Harbor - Hulls Cove WWTF | not stated | Annual total | 971,376 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101214:2020, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2018 | 2019 | Town of Bar Harbor - Main WWTP / Town of Bar Harbor - Hulls Cove WWTF | not stated | Annual total | 2.76 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101214:2019, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2017 | 2018 | Town of Bar Harbor - Main WWTP / Town of Bar Harbor - Hulls Cove WWTF | not stated | Annual total | 562,221 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101214:2018, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2016 | 2017 | Town of Bar Harbor - Main WWTP / Town of Bar Harbor - Hulls Cove WWTF | not stated | Annual total | 225,200 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101214:2017, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2015 | 2016 | Town of Bar Harbor - Main WWTP / Town of Bar Harbor - Hulls Cove WWTF | not stated | Annual total | 277,000 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101214:2016, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2014 | 2015 | Town of Bar Harbor - Main WWTP / Town of Bar Harbor - Hulls Cove WWTF | not stated | Annual total | 2.34 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101214:2015, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2013 | 2014 | Town of Bar Harbor - Main WWTP / Town of Bar Harbor - Hulls Cove WWTF | not stated | Annual total | 1.56 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101214:2014, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2012 | 2013 | Town of Bar Harbor - Main WWTP / Town of Bar Harbor - Hulls Cove WWTF | not stated | Annual total | 407,010 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101214:2013, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2011 | 2012 | Town of Bar Harbor - Main WWTP / Town of Bar Harbor - Hulls Cove WWTF | not stated | Annual total | 3.78 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101214:2012, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2010 | 2011 | Town of Bar Harbor - Main WWTP / Town of Bar Harbor - Hulls Cove WWTF | not stated | Annual total | 2.56 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101214:2011, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
Outfalls on this water
No outfall in the registry is matched to this water.
Dischargers: Town of Bar Harbor - Hulls Cove WWTF, Town of Bar Harbor - Main WWTP.
Launches
Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, ODbL). · Frenchman Bay on OpenBoatLaunch
Sources covering this water
- ECHO Effluent Charts REST services (per-permit DMR data incl. monthly CSO event counts, duration, volume per outfall) · updating · last answered Nov 2, 2026, 6:54 AM EST
- ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset (eRule Phase 2, current versions) · updating · last answered Nov 2, 2026, 6:54 AM EST
- Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026) · updating · last answered Nov 2, 2026, 6:54 AM EST
- Maine Healthy Beaches live GeoJSON, sampling sites (mapdata_site.geojson) · updating · last answered Nov 2, 2026, 6:55 AM EST
20 events placed on this water in this build.