DirtyWaterWatch

Maine / Waters /

Saco River

River in Maine · near Biddeford, Brownfield, Buxton, Dayton, Fryeburg

Status now

No current report

At least one source we follow covers this water, and nothing it reports applies right now.

Why this colour: No current report: nothing a covering source reports colours this water now. How long a water stays coloured, and why

Source: ECHO Effluent Charts REST services (per-permit DMR data incl. monthly CSO event counts, duration, volume per outfall), last answered 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC; ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset (eRule Phase 2, current versions), last answered 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC; Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), last answered 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC. Status computed by DirtyWaterWatch as of 2026-11-02 11:56 UTC.

It is not a finding about the water. Discharges go unreported, reports arrive late, and storm runoff carries bacteria too. Follow posted signs and local health advice.

Rivers are not coloured as a whole: a discharge colours a modeled stretch downstream of its outfall, listed below when there is one.

As of Nov 2, 2026, 6:56 AM EST.

Map

Source: water outlines from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL); outfalls from EPA ECHO and the state outfall layers; modeled reaches computed by DirtyWaterWatch from USGS NLDI, NHDPlus and the nearest USGS gauge (Jobson 1996); basemap OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Outfalls are small brown dots.

Modeled downstream reaches on Saco River

No discharge colours a modeled reach on this water now.

Traced outfall paths

Source: paths traced by DirtyWaterWatch on the USGS NLDI / NHDPlus network from each outfall to the head of tide, the first lake or the distance cap; statuses from the events on them.

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: advisory in effect; yellow: caution; hatched yellow: unresolved, no end reported; grey: no current report; hatched purple: a source was not updating.

No red or yellow period in this span.

Source: hourly statuses computed by DirtyWaterWatch (pipeline build/status.py) from the events linked above and the rules on the methods page; history as of 2026-11-02 11:56 UTC.

Discharges over the years

  • Discharge events, last 12 months0Dec 2025 to Nov 2026; partly covered or sparse source

Discharge events per month

0 events, Jan 2022 to Nov 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Bypass, blended or other
  • No source
  • Partly covered or sparse source
Sparse sourceSparse source

No source covers 2022-01 to 2022-04. Some dischargers here report only monthly or yearly totals; those are shown under reported totals, not counted here.

Source: EPA ECHO sewer overflow events. Covered 2022-05-03 to 2026-11-02.

Show table
Discharge events per month
MonthCombined sewer overflowSanitary sewer overflowBypass, blended or otherTotalCounted fromCoverage
Jan 20220000No source
Feb 20220000No source
Mar 20220000No source
Apr 20220000No source
May 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
May 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
May 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
May 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
May 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20260000Partly covered or sparse source

Reported yearly totals: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals)

Maine DEP reports one total per community and year (all of its CSO outfalls); it is shown in full on each water the community's outfalls reach. Event-days: calendar days with any CSO discharge in the community. Sum of 2 reporting dischargers. Source: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals). Covered 2011-01-01 to 2025-12-31.

Reported volume

Gallons per year.

Show table
Reported volume
YearReported volume
2011115,279,979 gal
2012144,163,757 gal
201391,682,660 gal
2014196,041,572 gal
201596,887,208 gal
2016100,091,656 gal
201749,808,091 gal
201872,953,300 gal
201972,126,000 gal
202035,622,000 gal
202129,136,500 gal
202214,785,300 gal
202331,863,000 gal
202424,658,322 gal
20254,640,880 gal

Community event-days (summed)

Community-days per year.

Show table
Community event-days (summed)
YearCommunity event-days (summed)
2011104
2012167
201392
2014107
201561
201669
201762
201856
201951
202060
202158
202249
202344
202427
202514
How these charts are counted

Discharge events are counted once: where a source publishes both public notices and verified reports (MassDEP, Vermont DEC), a discharger's month with any verified report counts its verified reports only, and other months count notices. Revisions are folded into the record they revise, and EPA copies of a state report are not counted twice. Monthly and yearly totals (Maine DEP, EPA discharge monitoring reports, Portsmouth) are shown on their own and never added to the event counts. Hours under advisory follow the map's red rules. A muted band marks periods no source covers: a gap there is missing data, not a quiet month.

  • EPA ECHO sewer overflow events: 2022-05-03 to now (sparse)

Every event on Saco River

Events placed on Saco River, newest first
StartEnd Discharger OutfallTypeVolumeSourceLinks
2024 2025 City of Saco Water Resource Recovery Facility not stated Annual total 971,000 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101117:2025, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2024 2025 City of Biddeford WWTF not stated Annual total 3.67 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100048:2025, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2023 2024 City of Saco Water Resource Recovery Facility not stated Annual total 4.03 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101117:2024, published Jun 29, 2025, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2023 2024 City of Biddeford WWTF not stated Annual total 20.63 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100048:2024, published Jun 29, 2025, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2022 2023 City of Saco Water Resource Recovery Facility not stated Annual total 1.86 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101117:2023, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2022 2023 City of Biddeford WWTF not stated Annual total 30 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100048:2023, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2021 2022 City of Saco Water Resource Recovery Facility not stated Annual total 242,000 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101117:2022, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2021 2022 City of Biddeford WWTF not stated Annual total 14.54 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100048:2022, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2020 2021 City of Saco Water Resource Recovery Facility not stated Annual total 2.49 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101117:2021, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2020 2021 City of Biddeford WWTF not stated Annual total 26.65 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100048:2021, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2019 2020 City of Saco Water Resource Recovery Facility not stated Annual total 978,000 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101117:2020, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2019 2020 City of Biddeford WWTF not stated Annual total 34.64 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100048:2020, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2018 2019 City of Saco Water Resource Recovery Facility not stated Annual total 2.68 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101117:2019, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2018 2019 City of Biddeford WWTF not stated Annual total 69.45 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100048:2019, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2017 2018 City of Saco Water Resource Recovery Facility not stated Annual total 2.14 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101117:2018, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2017 2018 City of Biddeford WWTF not stated Annual total 70.81 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100048:2018, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2016 2017 City of Saco Water Resource Recovery Facility not stated Annual total 304,000 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101117:2017, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2016 2017 City of Biddeford WWTF not stated Annual total 49.5 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100048:2017, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2015 2016 City of Saco Water Resource Recovery Facility not stated Annual total 599,000 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101117:2016, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2015 2016 City of Biddeford WWTF not stated Annual total 99.49 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100048:2016, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2014 2015 City of Saco Water Resource Recovery Facility not stated Annual total 1.06 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101117:2015, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2014 2015 City of Biddeford WWTF not stated Annual total 95.83 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100048:2015, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2013 2014 City of Saco Water Resource Recovery Facility not stated Annual total 1.74 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101117:2014, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2013 2014 City of Biddeford WWTF not stated Annual total 194.3 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100048:2014, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2012 2013 City of Saco Water Resource Recovery Facility not stated Annual total 1.1 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101117:2013, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2012 2013 City of Biddeford WWTF not stated Annual total 90.58 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100048:2013, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2011 2012 City of Saco Water Resource Recovery Facility not stated Annual total 2.96 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101117:2012, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2011 2012 City of Biddeford WWTF not stated Annual total 141.2 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100048:2012, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2010 2011 City of Saco Water Resource Recovery Facility not stated Annual total 1.37 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101117:2011, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2010 2011 City of Biddeford WWTF not stated Annual total 113.91 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100048:2011, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

Outfalls on this water

No outfall in the registry is matched to this water.

Dischargers: City of Biddeford WWTF, City of Saco Water Resource Recovery Facility.

Launches

Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, ODbL). · Saco River on OpenBoatLaunch

Sources covering this water

30 events placed on this water in this build.