Saint Croix River
River in Maine · near Baileyville, Calais, Dyer Twp, Lambert Lake Twp, Robbinston
Status now
At least one source we follow covers this water, and nothing it reports applies right now.
Why this colour: No current report: nothing a covering source reports colours this water now. How long a water stays coloured, and why
Source: ECHO Effluent Charts REST services (per-permit DMR data incl. monthly CSO event counts, duration, volume per outfall), last answered 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC; ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset (eRule Phase 2, current versions), last answered 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC; Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), last answered 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC. Status computed by DirtyWaterWatch as of 2026-11-02 11:56 UTC.
It is not a finding about the water. Discharges go unreported, reports arrive late, and storm runoff carries bacteria too. Follow posted signs and local health advice.
Rivers are not coloured as a whole: a discharge colours a modeled stretch downstream of its outfall, listed below when there is one.
As of Nov 2, 2026, 6:56 AM EST.
Map
Source: water outlines from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL); outfalls from EPA ECHO and the state outfall layers; modeled reaches computed by DirtyWaterWatch from USGS NLDI, NHDPlus and the nearest USGS gauge (Jobson 1996); basemap OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Outfalls are small brown dots.
Modeled downstream reaches on Saint Croix River
No discharge colours a modeled reach on this water now.
Traced outfall paths
- No current report ME0100129 outfall 005 · 0.219 km traced · Model stops here: tidal below this point
- No current report ME0100129 outfall 006 · 1.196 km traced · Model stops here: tidal below this point
Source: paths traced by DirtyWaterWatch on the USGS NLDI / NHDPlus network from each outfall to the head of tide, the first lake or the distance cap; statuses from the events on them.
The last 90 days
No red or yellow period in this span.
Source: hourly statuses computed by DirtyWaterWatch (pipeline build/status.py) from the events linked above and the rules on the methods page; history as of 2026-11-02 11:56 UTC.
Discharges over the years
- Discharge events, last 12 months0Dec 2025 to Nov 2026; partly covered or sparse source
Discharge events per month
0 events, Jan 2022 to Nov 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Bypass, blended or other
- No source
- Partly covered or sparse source
No source covers 2022-01 to 2022-04. Some dischargers here report only monthly or yearly totals; those are shown under reported totals, not counted here.
Source: EPA ECHO sewer overflow events. Covered 2022-05-03 to 2026-11-02.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No source | |
| Feb 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No source | |
| Mar 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No source | |
| Apr 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No source | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jun 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jul 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Aug 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Sep 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Oct 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Nov 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Dec 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jan 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Feb 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Mar 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Apr 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jun 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jul 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Aug 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Sep 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Oct 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Nov 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Dec 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jan 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Feb 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Mar 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Apr 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jun 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jul 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Aug 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Sep 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Oct 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Nov 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Dec 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jan 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Feb 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Mar 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Apr 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jun 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jul 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Aug 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Sep 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Oct 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Nov 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Dec 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jan 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Feb 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Mar 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Apr 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jun 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Jul 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Aug 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Sep 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Oct 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source | |
| Nov 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Partly covered or sparse source |
Reported yearly totals: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals)
Maine DEP reports one total per community and year (all of its CSO outfalls); it is shown in full on each water the community's outfalls reach. Event-days: calendar days with any CSO discharge in the community. Source: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals). Covered 2011-01-01 to 2025-12-31.
Reported volume
Gallons per year.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume |
|---|---|
| 2011 | 16,860,000 gal |
| 2012 | 18,210,000 gal |
| 2013 | 18,311,206 gal |
| 2014 | 20,775,288 gal |
| 2015 | 5,292,778 gal |
| 2016 | 4,624,354 gal |
| 2017 | 4,512,300 gal |
| 2018 | 10,000,030 gal |
| 2019 | 2,403,000 gal |
| 2020 | 1,839,927 gal |
| 2021 | 587,400 gal |
| 2022 | 3,848,188 gal |
| 2023 | 2,937,000 gal |
| 2024 | 1,975,800 gal |
| 2025 | 881,100 gal |
Days with a CSO discharge
Days per year.
Show table
| Year | Days with a CSO discharge |
|---|---|
| 2011 | 6 |
| 2012 | 14 |
| 2013 | 8 |
| 2014 | 14 |
| 2015 | 6 |
| 2016 | 7 |
| 2017 | 9 |
| 2018 | 15 |
| 2019 | 6 |
| 2020 | 2 |
| 2021 | 2 |
| 2022 | 10 |
| 2023 | 7 |
| 2024 | 4 |
| 2025 | 1 |
How these charts are counted
Discharge events are counted once: where a source publishes both public notices and verified reports (MassDEP, Vermont DEC), a discharger's month with any verified report counts its verified reports only, and other months count notices. Revisions are folded into the record they revise, and EPA copies of a state report are not counted twice. Monthly and yearly totals (Maine DEP, EPA discharge monitoring reports, Portsmouth) are shown on their own and never added to the event counts. Hours under advisory follow the map's red rules. A muted band marks periods no source covers: a gap there is missing data, not a quiet month.
- EPA ECHO sewer overflow events: 2022-05-03 to now (sparse)
Every event on Saint Croix River
| Start | End | Discharger | Outfall | Type | Volume | Source | Links |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 2025 | City of Calais WWTP | not stated | Annual total | 881,100 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100129:2025, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2023 | 2024 | City of Calais WWTP | not stated | Annual total | 1.98 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100129:2024, published Jun 29, 2025, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2022 | 2023 | City of Calais WWTP | not stated | Annual total | 2.94 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100129:2023, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2021 | 2022 | City of Calais WWTP | not stated | Annual total | 3.85 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100129:2022, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2020 | 2021 | City of Calais WWTP | not stated | Annual total | 587,400 gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100129:2021, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2019 | 2020 | City of Calais WWTP | not stated | Annual total | 1.84 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100129:2020, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2018 | 2019 | City of Calais WWTP | not stated | Annual total | 2.4 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100129:2019, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2017 | 2018 | City of Calais WWTP | not stated | Annual total | 10 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100129:2018, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2016 | 2017 | City of Calais WWTP | not stated | Annual total | 4.51 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100129:2017, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2015 | 2016 | City of Calais WWTP | not stated | Annual total | 4.62 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100129:2016, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2014 | 2015 | City of Calais WWTP | not stated | Annual total | 5.29 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100129:2015, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2013 | 2014 | City of Calais WWTP | not stated | Annual total | 20.78 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100129:2014, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2012 | 2013 | City of Calais WWTP | not stated | Annual total | 18.31 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100129:2013, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2011 | 2012 | City of Calais WWTP | not stated | Annual total | 18.21 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100129:2012, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
| 2010 | 2011 | City of Calais WWTP | not stated | Annual total | 16.86 million gal | Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0100129:2011, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice | record below · Map |
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own) | |||||||
Outfalls on this water
No outfall in the registry is matched to this water.
Dischargers: City of Calais WWTP.
Launches
- Saint Croix River Boat Launch
- Brooks Cove Boat Launch
- Saint Croix River Boat Launch Baileyville
- Saint Croix River Boat Launch Dyer Twp
- Saint Croix River Boat Launch Lambert Lake Twp
Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, ODbL). · Saint Croix River on OpenBoatLaunch
Sources covering this water
- ECHO Effluent Charts REST services (per-permit DMR data incl. monthly CSO event counts, duration, volume per outfall) · updating · last answered Nov 2, 2026, 6:54 AM EST
- ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset (eRule Phase 2, current versions) · updating · last answered Nov 2, 2026, 6:54 AM EST
- Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026) · updating · last answered Nov 2, 2026, 6:54 AM EST
15 events placed on this water in this build.