DirtyWaterWatch

Maine / Waters /

Saint John River

River in Maine · near Allagash, Fort Kent, Frenchville, Grand Isle, Madawaska

Status now

No current report

At least one source we follow covers this water, and nothing it reports applies right now.

Why this colour: No current report: nothing a covering source reports colours this water now. How long a water stays coloured, and why

Source: ECHO Effluent Charts REST services (per-permit DMR data incl. monthly CSO event counts, duration, volume per outfall), last answered 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC; ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset (eRule Phase 2, current versions), last answered 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC; Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), last answered 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC. Status computed by DirtyWaterWatch as of 2026-11-02 11:56 UTC.

It is not a finding about the water. Discharges go unreported, reports arrive late, and storm runoff carries bacteria too. Follow posted signs and local health advice.

Rivers are not coloured as a whole: a discharge colours a modeled stretch downstream of its outfall, listed below when there is one.

As of Nov 2, 2026, 6:56 AM EST.

Map

Source: water outlines from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL); outfalls from EPA ECHO and the state outfall layers; modeled reaches computed by DirtyWaterWatch from USGS NLDI, NHDPlus and the nearest USGS gauge (Jobson 1996); basemap OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Outfalls are small brown dots.

Modeled downstream reaches on Saint John River

No discharge colours a modeled reach on this water now.

Traced outfall paths

Source: paths traced by DirtyWaterWatch on the USGS NLDI / NHDPlus network from each outfall to the head of tide, the first lake or the distance cap; statuses from the events on them.

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: advisory in effect; yellow: caution; hatched yellow: unresolved, no end reported; grey: no current report; hatched purple: a source was not updating.

No red or yellow period in this span.

Source: hourly statuses computed by DirtyWaterWatch (pipeline build/status.py) from the events linked above and the rules on the methods page; history as of 2026-11-02 11:56 UTC.

Discharges over the years

  • Discharge events, last 12 months0Dec 2025 to Nov 2026; partly covered or sparse source

Discharge events per month

0 events, Jan 2022 to Nov 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Bypass, blended or other
  • No source
  • Partly covered or sparse source
Sparse sourceSparse source

No source covers 2022-01 to 2022-04. Some dischargers here report only monthly or yearly totals; those are shown under reported totals, not counted here.

Source: EPA ECHO sewer overflow events. Covered 2022-05-03 to 2026-11-02.

Show table
Discharge events per month
MonthCombined sewer overflowSanitary sewer overflowBypass, blended or otherTotalCounted fromCoverage
Jan 20220000No source
Feb 20220000No source
Mar 20220000No source
Apr 20220000No source
May 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 20220000Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
May 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 20230000Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
May 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 20240000Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
May 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Dec 20250000Partly covered or sparse source
Jan 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Feb 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Mar 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Apr 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
May 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Jun 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Jul 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Aug 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Sep 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Oct 20260000Partly covered or sparse source
Nov 20260000Partly covered or sparse source

Reported yearly totals: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals)

Maine DEP reports one total per community and year (all of its CSO outfalls); it is shown in full on each water the community's outfalls reach. Event-days: calendar days with any CSO discharge in the community. Source: Maine DEP CSO status reports (annual totals). Covered 2011-01-01 to 2025-12-31.

Reported volume

Gallons per year.

Show table
Reported volume
YearReported volume
20111,490,000 gal
2012377,488 gal
2013349,400 gal
20141,830,563 gal
20150 gal
20160 gal
20171,562,430 gal
20183,988,640 gal
20198,205,821 gal
202010,242 gal
2021422,838 gal
2022616,123 gal
2023423,493 gal
2024789,394 gal
20250 gal

Days with a CSO discharge

Days per year.

Show table
Days with a CSO discharge
YearDays with a CSO discharge
201110
20128
20133
20147
20150
20160
20173
20183
20192
20204
20215
20229
20236
20242
20250
How these charts are counted

Discharge events are counted once: where a source publishes both public notices and verified reports (MassDEP, Vermont DEC), a discharger's month with any verified report counts its verified reports only, and other months count notices. Revisions are folded into the record they revise, and EPA copies of a state report are not counted twice. Monthly and yearly totals (Maine DEP, EPA discharge monitoring reports, Portsmouth) are shown on their own and never added to the event counts. Hours under advisory follow the map's red rules. A muted band marks periods no source covers: a gap there is missing data, not a quiet month.

  • EPA ECHO sewer overflow events: 2022-05-03 to now (sparse)

Every event on Saint John River

Events placed on Saint John River, newest first
StartEnd Discharger OutfallTypeVolumeSourceLinks
2024 2025 Town of Madawaska not stated Annual total 0 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101681:2025, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2023 2024 Town of Madawaska not stated Annual total 789,394 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101681:2024, published Jun 29, 2025, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2022 2023 Town of Madawaska not stated Annual total 423,493 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101681:2023, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2021 2022 Town of Madawaska not stated Annual total 616,123 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101681:2022, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2020 2021 Town of Madawaska not stated Annual total 422,838 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101681:2021, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2019 2020 Town of Madawaska not stated Annual total 10,242 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101681:2020, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2018 2019 Town of Madawaska not stated Annual total 8.21 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101681:2019, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2017 2018 Town of Madawaska not stated Annual total 3.99 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101681:2018, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2016 2017 Town of Madawaska not stated Annual total 1.56 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101681:2017, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2015 2016 Town of Madawaska not stated Annual total 0 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101681:2016, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2014 2015 Town of Madawaska not stated Annual total 0 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101681:2015, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2013 2014 Town of Madawaska not stated Annual total 1.83 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101681:2014, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2012 2013 Town of Madawaska not stated Annual total 349,400 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101681:2013, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2011 2012 Town of Madawaska not stated Annual total 377,488 gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101681:2012, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

2010 2011 Town of Madawaska not stated Annual total 1.49 million gal Maine DEP CSO Status Report via Maine DEP Maine Combined Sewer Overflow Status Report (annual; latest = 2025 report, June 2026), record ME0101681:2011, published Jun 29, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:54 UTC · notice
Full record (older than 180 days, so no page of its own)

This record in the archive list

Outfalls on this water

No outfall in the registry is matched to this water.

Dischargers: Town of Madawaska.

Launches

Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, ODbL). · Saint John River on OpenBoatLaunch

Sources covering this water

15 events placed on this water in this build.