DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

North Carolina / Sewer operators /

City of Raleigh (Raleigh Water)

Sewer utility · North Carolina · Raleigh, Garner, Wake Forest, Knightdale, Zebulon

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional). Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
NC0029033, WQCS00002, NC0030759, NC0079316
Wastewater outlets
4 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 125 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Neuse River basin; Crabtree Creek; Walnut Creek; NEUSE RIVER; Little Creek
Tracked waters
Little Creek, NC, Neuse River, NC, Lake Johnson, NC, Walnut Creek, NC, Big Branch, NC, Crabtree Creek, NC, Southwest Prong Beaverdam Creek, NC, Brier Creek, NC, Buffalo Creek, NC, Richland Creek, NC, Bridges Branch, NC, Big Branch, NC, Pigeon House Branch, NC, Perry Creek, NC, Poplar Creek, NC, Buck Branch, NC, Sycamore Creek, NC, Cemetery Branch, NC, Mahlers Creek, NC, Lake Raleigh, NC, Hare Snipe Creek, NC, Hatters Branch, NC, Little Brier Creek, NC, Simmons Branch, NC, Mine Creek, NC, Rocky Creek, NC, Mango Creek, NC, Wildcat Branch, NC, Marsh Creek, NC
Discharge records counted
129 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
3,015,646 gallons across the 121 records that give a volume (8 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Pages where City of Raleigh (Raleigh Water) or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):

Its public-notice channels

Source: City of Raleigh (Raleigh Water)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records; DirtyWaterWatch register of public-notice channels and its page monitor.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

4 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 125 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

4 outfalls

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

125 places · 10 not on the map (reports say the sewage reached no water)

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jun 29, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jan 14, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Dec 19, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jul 6, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 7, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 23, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 23, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 19, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 8, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jul 7, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jun 5, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest May 31, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 125.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to City of Raleigh (Raleigh Water), newest first
WhenReportStatus
to 6:25 PM“Unnamed Tributary near Neuse” · 5329 Departure Dr, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27616 · SSO · 335 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 3:46 PMLake Johnson, Walnut Creek · 5312 Woodsdale Rd, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27606 · SSO · 70,492 gallons in all mapended
to 2:08 PM“Unnamed Tributary near Neuse” · 2614-2622 Spring Forest Rd, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27616 · SSO · 1,020 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 8:55 AM“none” · 5217 Cedarwood Drive, Raleigh · SSO · 1,050 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 10:18 PMNeuse River · 701 Thistlegate Trail, Raleigh · SSO · 4,935 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:47 PMBig Branch · 149 Magenta Rose Drive, Raleigh · SSO · 37 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 10:54 AM“Unnamed Tributary near Neuse” · 5321 Coronado Drive, Raleigh · SSO · 390 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 6:30 PMNeuse River · 1333 Four Winds Drive, Raleigh · SSO · 1,728 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 8:06 PMCrabtree Creek · 4400 Deep Hollow Drive · SSO · 3,120 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 7:07 PMSouthwest Prong Beaverdam Creek · 403 Furches Street, Raleigh · SSO · 450 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 9:58 PMBrier Creek · 2800 John Brantley Boulevard, Morrisville · SSO · 1.14 million gallons report · notice · mapended
to 10:46 PMBuffalo Creek · 279 Sweetbay Tree Drive, Wendell · SSO · 636 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 8:36 PM“Unnamed Tributary near Neuse” · 6705 Glendower Road · SSO · 800 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 12:41 PM“Unnamed Tributary near Neuse” · 121 Blackthrone place · SSO · 4,075 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Apr 21, 10:47 AMWalnut Creek · 600 Hadley Road, Raleigh NC 27610 · SSO · 1,975 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 7:09 PMWater not mapped · 800 Green Ridge Drive, Raleigh · SSO · 25 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 1:15 PMRichland Creek · 2900-3098 WAKEFIELD CROSSING DRIVE, RALEIGH, NC, Raleigh · SSO · 17,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 6:59 PMBridges Branch · 1515 North Raleigh Boulevard, Raleigh · SSO · 810 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:13 AM“Unnamed Tributary near Neuse” · 8800 Westgate Park Drive, Suite 100-110, Raleigh · SSO · 1,635 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:53 PMBuffalo Creek · 6724 Osprey Landing Drive, Wendell · SSO · 1,200 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 2:05 PMNeuse River · 147 Carriage House Trail, Garner · SSO · 675 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to 7:40 AMBig Branch · 404 Vernon Terrace, Raleigh · SSO · 180 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended

Sources: NC DEQ DWR "SSOs and Bypasses" ArcGIS layer, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC; NC DWR Sanitary Sewer Overflows September 2022 through December 2025 (ArcGIS), retrieved 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 134 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in North Carolina by year: 2026 (33 from City of Raleigh (Raleigh Water)) · 2025 (31 from City of Raleigh (Raleigh Water)) · 2024 (29 from City of Raleigh (Raleigh Water)) · 2023 (33 from City of Raleigh (Raleigh Water)) · 2022 (8 from City of Raleigh (Raleigh Water))

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to
    1 report: Lake Johnson 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Lake Johnson 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by City of Raleigh (Raleigh Water), last 12 months33December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by City of Raleigh (Raleigh Water), last 12 months28December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from City of Raleigh (Raleigh Water)'s reports, last 12 months94December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (City of Raleigh (Raleigh Water))1.0%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

129 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022. 102 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2022.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 121 reports that gave a volume as a number (8 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited recordsLimited records

8 of 129 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited recordsLimited records

102 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2022. The share is of the hours a source covered. 102 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 55, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025: records from September 1, 2022 to February 15, 2026
  • nc-dwr-sso-2026: records from January 2, 2026 to the latest update