City of Covington Wastewater Treatment Plant
Sewer utility · Virginia · Covington
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
No outlet locations are in our records for this operator. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.
- Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
- VA0025542
- Wastewater outlets
- None with locations in our records
- Waters listed as receiving wastewater
- Jackson River; Potts Creek
- Tracked waters
- Jackson River, VA, Potts Creek, VA
- Discharge records counted
- 38 records · latest
- Total reported volume in these records
- 1,000,000 gallons across the 13 records that give a volume (25 without one)
These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.
Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.
Public notices and alerts
We do not list an alert service for this operator yet. Check its website.
Source: City of Covington Wastewater Treatment Plant's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.
Report a missing notice or error
Wastewater outlets
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reports and advisories
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to 9:00 PM | Jackson River · SSO · 3,600 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 13, 11:15 AM | Jackson River · SSO · 43,200 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 12, 12:30 AM | Jackson River · Bypass · 62,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Jackson River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| to 4:00 PM | Jackson River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to 6:44 PM | Jackson River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:14 PM | Jackson River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 2, 11:15 AM | Jackson River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:48 AM | Jackson River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:30 PM | Jackson River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to 6:00 PM | Jackson River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| Jackson River · SSO · 140,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Jackson River · SSO · volume in each report map | ended | |
| Jackson River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| Jackson River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| to May 15 ’25, 10:52 AM | Jackson River · SSO · 66,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Jackson River · SSO · volume in each report map | ended | |
| Jackson River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| Jackson River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| Jackson River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| Jackson River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| to 8:56 AM | Jackson River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Feb 17 ’25, 11:21 AM | Jackson River · SSO · 86,400 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Feb 17 ’25, 11:16 PM | Jackson River · SSO · 57,600 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Feb 17 ’25, 2:09 PM | Potts Creek · SSO · 56,700 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Jackson River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| Jackson River · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
Showing the latest 25 records of 38 records.See them all with filters.
All reports in Virginia by year: 2026 (11 from City of Covington Wastewater Treatment Plant) · 2025 (27 from City of Covington Wastewater Treatment Plant)
Other sewer operators on these waters
The last 90 days
- Caution: to 1 report: Jackson River 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Jackson River 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 2 reports: Jackson River 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Jackson River 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 1 report: Jackson River 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Jackson River 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- End not confirmed: to 1 report: Jackson River 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 1 report: Jackson River 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
Historical charts are not available here. See the reports and sources on this page.