Connecticut / Reports /
Treatment plant bypass reported — BRANFORD, Jul 21, 2026
Ended (as reported) · BRANFORD (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard)
Source: BRANFORD (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard) via CT DEEP CSO/SSO Performance Dashboard (QScend), record 11028, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:20 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 10:57 AM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: BRANFORD. Outlet: “Treatment Plant, 75 Block Island Rd, Branford, CT”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Branford Harbor”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Branford Harbor, CT. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- not reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “Fully treated sewage from WWTP”
- Volume
- 300,000 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “300,000 gallons”
Advice from BRANFORD (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Status history from this report
- Caution Branford Harbor: Discharge record with unclear status, Jul 21, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT to Aug 4, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT
- End not confirmed Branford Harbor: End not confirmed, Aug 4, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT to Aug 20, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT
- No current status shown Branford Harbor: End not confirmed, Aug 20, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT to Oct 19, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-02 15:57 UTC.
Source and versions
- Source
- CT DEEP CSO/SSO Performance Dashboard (QScend)
- Source record number
- 11028
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ct-deep:11028 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ct-deep |
| Source record number | 11028 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment plant bypass |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ct-branford |
| Sewer operator | BRANFORD |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Treatment Plant, 75 Block Island Rd, Branford, CT |
| Water named in the report | Branford Harbor |
| Linked waters | branford-harbor-ct |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jul 21, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT (2026-07-21T16:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 6:20 AM EST (2026-11-02T11:20:59Z) |
| Material | Fully treated sewage from WWTP |
| Volume, in gallons | 300,000 |
| Volume as reported | 300,000 gallons |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | BRANFORD (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://deepct.qscend.mygovcenter.com/cms/cms?id=1 |
Original source data
{
"Reporting Utility": "BRANFORD",
"Status": "Closed",
"Incident Type": "Sewage Bypass",
"Weather Conditions": "Rain less than 1\" per hour",
"Date Bypass Began or was Discovered": "07/21/2026",
"Event Start Time": "04:00 PM",
"Location of Bypass": "Treatment Plant",
"Type of Bypass": "Fully treated sewage from WWTP",
"Cause of Bypass": "Excessive Flows - Storm Event",
"Cause of Bypass Other Explanation": null,
"How was Incident Discovered": "Plant operators onsite during storm event were alerted by alarm system.",
"Estimated Quantity or Rate of Discharge": "300,000 gallons",
"How was estimated Quantity or Rate Determined": "educated guess",
"Reach Waterbody": "Yes",
"Request ID": "11028",
"Waterbody Name": "Branford Harbor",
"Date Bypass Ended": null,
"Event End Time": null,
"Final Quantity": null,
"How was Final Volume Determined": null,
"How incident was resolved": null,
"Municipality": "Branford",
"Address": "75 Block Island Rd, Branford, CT",
"_view": "SSO DATA VIEW"
} Source: BRANFORD (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard) via CT DEEP CSO/SSO Performance Dashboard (QScend), record 11028, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:20 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.