Connecticut / Reports /
Treatment plant bypass reported — BRANFORD, Sep 13, 2026
Ended (as reported) · BRANFORD (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard)
Source: BRANFORD (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard) via CT DEEP CSO/SSO Performance Dashboard (QScend), record 11453, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:20 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 10:57 AM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: BRANFORD. Outlet: “Treatment Plant, 75 Block Island Rd, Branford, CT”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Branford Harbor.”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Branford Harbor, CT. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “Disinfected Partially Treated Raw Sewage”
- Volume
- 600,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “600,000 gallons”
Advice from BRANFORD (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Status history from this report
- Discharge or advisory reported Branford Harbor: Discharge reported ongoing, Sep 13, 2026, 10:00 AM EDT to Sep 13, 2026, 8:30 PM EDT
- Discharge or advisory reported Branford Harbor: Post-discharge period applies, Sep 13, 2026, 8:30 PM EDT to Sep 15, 2026, 8:30 PM EDT
- Caution Branford Harbor: Within the caution period after the reported end, Sep 15, 2026, 8:30 PM EDT to Sep 16, 2026, 8:30 PM EDT
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-02 15:57 UTC.
Source and versions
- Source
- CT DEEP CSO/SSO Performance Dashboard (QScend)
- Source record number
- 11453
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ct-deep:11453 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ct-deep |
| Source record number | 11453 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment plant bypass |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ct-branford |
| Sewer operator | BRANFORD |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Treatment Plant, 75 Block Island Rd, Branford, CT |
| Water named in the report | Branford Harbor. |
| Linked waters | branford-harbor-ct |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Sep 13, 2026, 10:00 AM EDT (2026-09-13T10:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Sep 13, 2026, 8:30 PM EDT (2026-09-13T20:30:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 6:20 AM EST (2026-11-02T11:20:59Z) |
| Material | Disinfected Partially Treated Raw Sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | 600,000 |
| Volume as reported | 600,000 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | BRANFORD (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://deepct.qscend.mygovcenter.com/cms/cms?id=1 |
Original source data
{
"Reporting Utility": "BRANFORD",
"Status": "Closed",
"Incident Type": "Sewage Bypass",
"Weather Conditions": "Rain 1-2\" per hour",
"Date Bypass Began or was Discovered": "09/13/2026",
"Event Start Time": "10:00 AM",
"Location of Bypass": "Treatment Plant",
"Type of Bypass": "Disinfected Partially Treated Raw Sewage",
"Cause of Bypass": "Excessive Flows - Storm Event",
"Cause of Bypass Other Explanation": null,
"How was Incident Discovered": "Operators responding to alarms.",
"Estimated Quantity or Rate of Discharge": "400,000 gallons, but ongoing currently.",
"How was estimated Quantity or Rate Determined": "Educated guess.",
"Reach Waterbody": "Yes",
"Request ID": "11453",
"Waterbody Name": "Branford Harbor.",
"Date Bypass Ended": "09/13/2026",
"Event End Time": "08:30 PM",
"Final Quantity": "600,000 gallons",
"How was Final Volume Determined": null,
"How incident was resolved": "Flows subsided",
"Municipality": "Branford",
"Address": "75 Block Island Rd, Branford, CT",
"_view": "SSO DATA VIEW"
} Source: BRANFORD (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard) via CT DEEP CSO/SSO Performance Dashboard (QScend), record 11453, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:20 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.