Connecticut / Reports /
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — PLAINFIELD, TOWN OF, Sep 14, 2026
Ended (as reported) · PLAINFIELD, TOWN OF (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard)
Source: PLAINFIELD, TOWN OF (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard) via CT DEEP CSO/SSO Performance Dashboard (QScend), record 11470, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:20 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 11:21 AM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: PLAINFIELD, TOWN OF. Outlet: “Lateral - Public, 677 Norwich Rd, Plainfield, CT”. Location: 41.67420, -71.91520; location source: given in the source record, accurate to about 11 metres.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names no water. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “Raw Sewage”
- Volume
- 30 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “30 gallons”
Advice from PLAINFIELD, TOWN OF (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- CT DEEP CSO/SSO Performance Dashboard (QScend)
- Source record number
- 11470
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ct-deep:11470 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ct-deep |
| Source record number | 11470 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ct-plainfield-town-of |
| Sewer operator | PLAINFIELD, TOWN OF |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Lateral - Public, 677 Norwich Rd, Plainfield, CT |
| Water named in the report | Not provided |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 41.674 |
| Longitude | -71.915 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | 11 |
| Started | Sep 14, 2026, 9:00 AM EDT (2026-09-14T09:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Sep 14, 2026, 10:30 AM EDT (2026-09-14T10:30:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 6:20 AM EST (2026-11-02T11:20:59Z) |
| Material | Raw Sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | 30 |
| Volume as reported | 30 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | PLAINFIELD, TOWN OF (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://deepct.qscend.mygovcenter.com/cms/cms?id=1 |
Original source data
{
"Reporting Utility": "PLAINFIELD, TOWN OF",
"Status": "Open",
"Incident Type": "Sewage Bypass",
"Weather Conditions": "Dry",
"Date Bypass Began or was Discovered": "09/14/2026",
"Event Start Time": "09:00 AM",
"Location of Bypass": "Lateral - Public",
"Type of Bypass": "Raw Sewage",
"Cause of Bypass": "Sewage Line Blockage - Roots",
"Cause of Bypass Other Explanation": null,
"How was Incident Discovered": "Homeowner called private plumber",
"Estimated Quantity or Rate of Discharge": "25-45 gallons",
"How was estimated Quantity or Rate Determined": "on site estimation",
"Reach Waterbody": "No",
"Request ID": "11470",
"Waterbody Name": null,
"Date Bypass Ended": "09/14/2026",
"Event End Time": "10:30AM",
"Final Quantity": "30 gallons",
"How was Final Volume Determined": null,
"How incident was resolved": "jetted sewer lateral",
"Municipality": "Plainfield",
"Address": "677 Norwich Rd, Plainfield, CT",
"_view": "SSO DATA VIEW",
"_dww_note": [
"source status 'Open' but an end date and time are given: treated as ended"
],
"_map_point": {
"lat": 41.6742,
"lon": -71.9152,
"chart": "Open SSO Bypasses by Location"
}
} Source: PLAINFIELD, TOWN OF (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard) via CT DEEP CSO/SSO Performance Dashboard (QScend), record 11470, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 11:20 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.