Connecticut / Reports /
Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — The Metropolitan District (MDC), Nov 6, 2026
Ongoing (as reported) · The Metropolitan District (MDC) (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard)
Source: The Metropolitan District (MDC) (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard) via CT DEEP CSO/SSO Performance Dashboard (QScend), record 11647, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-06 08:37 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
Discharge or advisory reported on Connecticut River: Discharge reported ongoing. Current rule period ends Nov 13, 2026, 12:30 AM EST. This is not a water-quality test.
Why this status: Discharge or advisory reported: the discharge is reported as ongoing.
Why we use this rule: A report marked ongoing stays red until an end is found or 7 days pass. After 7 days we label the end unconfirmed rather than assume the discharge continues.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Latest conditions:At the Connecticut River at Thompsonville, CT gauge, 24 kilometres from the nearest wastewater outlet on Connecticut River: flow 4,190 cubic feet per second (Nov 6, 2026, 3:30 AM EST), water temperature 13.5 C, turbidity 2.6 FNU. Cold water (under 15 C) keeps bacteria alive longer. Conditions are measured at the gauge, not at this spot, and do not change the status.Conditions on Connecticut River
Source: U.S. Geological Survey via Water Data for the Nation, gauge 01184000, reading Nov 6, 2026, 3:30 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-06 08:53 UTC. Gauge chosen by DirtyWaterWatch. · Readings and history at USGS
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: The Metropolitan District (MDC) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, CT0100251). Outlet: not stated. Location: 41.76420, -72.66550; location source: given in the source record, accurate to about 11 metres.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names no water. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Connecticut River, CT. Match basis: the report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- ongoing, as last reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
- Status in the record
- Ongoing (as reported)
- Material
- not stated
- Volume
- 23,000 gallons (measured or verified)
- Volume as reported
- “0.023 MG”
Advice from The Metropolitan District (MDC) (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Status history from this report
- Discharge or advisory reported Connecticut River: Discharge reported ongoing, Nov 6, 2026, 12:30 AM EST to Nov 13, 2026, 12:30 AM EST (the end is scheduled: a new report can change it)
- End not confirmed Connecticut River, Nov 13, 2026, 12:30 AM EST to Dec 6, 2026, 12:30 AM EST (scheduled: a new report can change it)
- No current status shown Connecticut River: end not confirmed, no map colour, Dec 6, 2026, 12:30 AM EST to Feb 4, 2027, 12:30 AM EST (scheduled: a new report can change it)
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-06 09:03 UTC.
Source and versions
- Source
- CT DEEP CSO/SSO Performance Dashboard (QScend)
- Source record number
- 11647
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ct-deep:11647 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ct-deep |
| Source record number | 11647 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Combined sewer overflow (CSO) |
| Status in the report | Ongoing (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ct-mdc-hartford |
| Sewer operator | The Metropolitan District (MDC) |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | CT0100251 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Not provided |
| Linked waters | connecticut-river-ct |
| How this report was linked to the water | the report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water |
| Latitude | 41.764 |
| Longitude | -72.666 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | 11 |
| Started | Nov 6, 2026, 12:30 AM EST (2026-11-06T00:30:00-05:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 6, 2026, 3:37 AM EST (2026-11-06T08:37:25Z) |
| Material | Not provided |
| Volume, in gallons | 23,000 |
| Volume as reported | 0.023 MG |
| How volume was determined | measured or verified |
| Authority | The Metropolitan District (MDC) (CT DEEP Performance Dashboard) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://deepct.qscend.mygovcenter.com/cms/cms?id=1 |
Original source data
{
"Report Type": "CSO - MDC 2 Hour Report",
"Muncipality": "Hartford",
"Status": "Open",
"Date Activated": "11/06/2026",
"Event Start Time": "00:30 AM",
"CSO Group Name": null,
"Request ID": "11647",
"Receiving Waterbody": null,
"CSO Estimated Volume": "0.023 MG",
"How was estimated quantity or rate determined": "MDC SCADA",
"Date Ceased": null,
"Event End Time": null,
"Total Rainfall": null,
"Final Volume": null,
"Describe how final volume was determined": null
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.