Massachusetts / Reports /
Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — City of Chicopee (Water Pollution Control), Sep 1, 2026
Ended (as reported) · EPA ECHO Discharge Monitoring Reports (permittee-reported monthly CSO figures)
Source: EPA ECHO Discharge Monitoring Reports (permittee-reported monthly CSO figures) via ECHO Effluent Charts REST services, record MA0101508:32B:2026-09, reported Oct 8, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 15:54 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 10:57 AM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: City of Chicopee (Water Pollution Control) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MA0101508). Outlet: 32B “ROBERTS POND”. Location: 42.19321, -72.58460; location source: from the state's or EPA's outfall layer.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Source: EPA ECHO wastewater outlet records, permit MA0101508, outlet 32B. Location linked by DirtyWaterWatch.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “CHICOPEE RIVER”. Not linked to a mapped water. name match too far (3.7 km)
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the month only
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “combined sewage and stormwater”
- Volume
- “6 discharge event(s); NODI duration Q, flow Q” (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “6 discharge event(s); NODI duration Q, flow Q”
Advice from EPA ECHO Discharge Monitoring Reports (permittee-reported monthly CSO figures)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- ECHO Effluent Charts REST services
- Source record number
- MA0101508:32B:2026-09
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | echo-cso-dmr-monthly:MA0101508:32B:2026-09 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | echo-cso-dmr-monthly |
| Source record number | MA0101508:32B:2026-09 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Combined sewer overflow (CSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ma-chicopee |
| Sewer operator | City of Chicopee (Water Pollution Control) |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | MA0101508 |
| Outlet number | 32B |
| Outlet name | ROBERTS POND |
| Water named in the report | CHICOPEE RIVER |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 42.193 |
| Longitude | -72.585 |
| Location source | from the state's or EPA's outfall layer |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | September 2026 (2026-09-01) |
| Ended | September 2026 (2026-09-30) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the month only |
| Reported to the source | October 2026 (2026-10-08) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 10:54 AM EST (2026-11-02T15:54:36Z) |
| Material | combined sewage and stormwater |
| Volume, in gallons | Not provided |
| Volume as reported | 6 discharge event(s); NODI duration Q, flow Q |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | EPA ECHO Discharge Monitoring Reports (permittee-reported monthly CSO figures) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://echo.epa.gov/effluent-charts#MA0101508 |
Original source data
{
"month": "2026-09",
"permit_feature": "32B",
"limit_set_schedule_id": "3600937836",
"monitoring_location": "Effluent Gross",
"parameters": {
"events": {
"ParameterCode": null,
"_param": "Number of Events",
"DMRValueId": "3880117003",
"DMRValueNmbr": "6",
"DMRUnitDesc": "#",
"StatisticalBaseDesc": "MO TOTAL",
"ValueTypeDesc": "Quantity1",
"NODICode": null,
"NODIDesc": null,
"ValueReceivedDate": "08-OCT-26",
"DMRDueDate": "15-OCT-26",
"DaysLate": null,
"VersionNmbr": "0"
},
"duration": {
"ParameterCode": null,
"_param": "Duration of discharge",
"DMRValueId": "3880117002",
"DMRValueNmbr": null,
"DMRUnitDesc": null,
"StatisticalBaseDesc": "MO TOTAL",
"ValueTypeDesc": "Quantity1",
"NODICode": "Q",
"NODIDesc": "Not Quantifiable",
"ValueReceivedDate": "08-OCT-26",
"DMRDueDate": "15-OCT-26",
"DaysLate": null,
"VersionNmbr": "0"
},
"flow": {
"ParameterCode": null,
"_param": "Flow, total",
"DMRValueId": "3880117001",
"DMRValueNmbr": null,
"DMRUnitDesc": null,
"StatisticalBaseDesc": "MO TOTAL",
"ValueTypeDesc": "Quantity1",
"NODICode": "Q",
"NODIDesc": "Not Quantifiable",
"ValueReceivedDate": "08-OCT-26",
"DMRDueDate": "15-OCT-26",
"DaysLate": null,
"VersionNmbr": "0"
}
},
"note": "monthly DMR total, not an individual event"
} Source: EPA ECHO Discharge Monitoring Reports (permittee-reported monthly CSO figures) via ECHO Effluent Charts REST services, record MA0101508:32B:2026-09, reported Oct 8, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 15:54 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.