DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Massachusetts / Reports /

Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — Springfield Water and Sewer Commission, Jul 1, 2026

Ended (as reported) · EPA ECHO Discharge Monitoring Reports (permittee-reported monthly CSO figures)

Source: EPA ECHO Discharge Monitoring Reports (permittee-reported monthly CSO figures) via ECHO Effluent Charts REST services, record MA0101613:010:2026-07, reported Aug 6, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 15:54 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 11:21 AM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Springfield Water and Sewer Commission (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MA0101613). Outlet: 010 “CLINTON ST.”. Location: 42.10467, -72.60230; location source: from the state's or EPA's outfall layer.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Source: EPA ECHO wastewater outlet records, permit MA0101613, outlet 010. Location linked by DirtyWaterWatch.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Connecticut River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Connecticut River, MA. Match basis: the outlet's permit and number in EPA and state records.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the month only
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“combined sewage and stormwater”
Volume
“5 discharge event(s); 18.2 hr of discharge; 12572000 gal/d (DAILY MX; monthly-total semantics unconfirmed)” (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“5 discharge event(s); 18.2 hr of discharge; 12572000 gal/d (DAILY MX; monthly-total semantics unconfirmed)”

Advice from EPA ECHO Discharge Monitoring Reports (permittee-reported monthly CSO figures)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
ECHO Effluent Charts REST services
Source record number
MA0101613:010:2026-07
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierecho-cso-dmr-monthly:MA0101613:010:2026-07
Source identifierecho-cso-dmr-monthly
Source record numberMA0101613:010:2026-07
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeCombined sewer overflow (CSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierma-springfield-wsc
Sewer operatorSpringfield Water and Sewer Commission
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)MA0101613
Outlet number010
Outlet nameCLINTON ST.
Water named in the reportConnecticut River
Linked watersconnecticut-river-ma
How this report was linked to the waterthe outlet's permit and number in EPA and state records
Latitude42.105
Longitude-72.602
Location sourcefrom the state's or EPA's outfall layer
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJuly 2026 (2026-07-01)
EndedJuly 2026 (2026-07-31)
Detail provided by the sourceto the month only
Reported to the sourceAugust 2026 (2026-08-06)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 10:54 AM EST (2026-11-02T15:54:36Z)
Materialcombined sewage and stormwater
Volume, in gallonsNot provided
Volume as reported5 discharge event(s); 18.2 hr of discharge; 12572000 gal/d (DAILY MX; monthly-total semantics unconfirmed)
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityEPA ECHO Discharge Monitoring Reports (permittee-reported monthly CSO figures)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://echo.epa.gov/effluent-charts#MA0101613

Original source data

{
  "month": "2026-07",
  "permit_feature": "010",
  "limit_set_schedule_id": "3600786252",
  "monitoring_location": "Storm Water",
  "parameters": {
    "events": {
      "ParameterCode": null,
      "_param": "Number of Events",
      "DMRValueId": "3875186517",
      "DMRValueNmbr": "5",
      "DMRUnitDesc": "#",
      "StatisticalBaseDesc": "DAILY MX",
      "ValueTypeDesc": "Quantity2",
      "NODICode": null,
      "NODIDesc": null,
      "ValueReceivedDate": "06-AUG-26",
      "DMRDueDate": "15-AUG-26",
      "DaysLate": null,
      "VersionNmbr": "0"
    },
    "duration": {
      "ParameterCode": null,
      "_param": "Duration of discharge",
      "DMRValueId": "3875186521",
      "DMRValueNmbr": "18.2",
      "DMRUnitDesc": "hr",
      "StatisticalBaseDesc": "DAILY MX",
      "ValueTypeDesc": "Quantity2",
      "NODICode": null,
      "NODIDesc": null,
      "ValueReceivedDate": "06-AUG-26",
      "DMRDueDate": "15-AUG-26",
      "DaysLate": null,
      "VersionNmbr": "0"
    },
    "flow": {
      "ParameterCode": null,
      "_param": "Flow, total",
      "DMRValueId": "3875186520",
      "DMRValueNmbr": "12572000",
      "DMRUnitDesc": "gal/d",
      "StatisticalBaseDesc": "DAILY MX",
      "ValueTypeDesc": "Quantity2",
      "NODICode": null,
      "NODIDesc": null,
      "ValueReceivedDate": "06-AUG-26",
      "DMRDueDate": "15-AUG-26",
      "DaysLate": null,
      "VersionNmbr": "0"
    }
  },
  "note": "monthly DMR total, not an individual event"
}

Source: EPA ECHO Discharge Monitoring Reports (permittee-reported monthly CSO figures) via ECHO Effluent Charts REST services, record MA0101613:010:2026-07, reported Aug 6, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 15:54 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.