District of Columbia / Reports /
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — District of Columbia Water and Sewer Authority (DC Water), May 20, 2026
Ended (as reported) · EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)
Source: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record DC0021199:110:1, reported May 26, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:28 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: District of Columbia Water and Sewer Authority (DC Water) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, DC0021199). Outlet: not stated. Location: 38.87550, -76.96044; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Pope Branch”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Pope Branch, DC. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “untreated sewage”
- Volume
- 10,000 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “10,000 gallons (Best Professional Judgement)”
Advice from EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset
- Source record number
- DC0021199:110:1
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | echo-sewer-overflow:DC0021199:110:1 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | echo-sewer-overflow |
| Source record number | DC0021199:110:1 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | dc-dc0021199 |
| Sewer operator | District of Columbia Water and Sewer Authority (DC Water) |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | DC0021199 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Pope Branch |
| Linked waters | pope-branch-dc |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | 38.875 |
| Longitude | -76.96 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | May 20, 2026, 9:47 PM EDT (2026-05-20T21:47:00) |
| Ended | May 21, 2026, 2:00 AM EDT (2026-05-21T02:00:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | May 26, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT (2026-05-26) |
| Published | Nov 2, 2026, 12:00 AM EST (2026-11-02) |
| Source last updated | Nov 2, 2026, 7:15 AM EST (2026-11-02T12:15:51Z) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:28 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:28:52Z) |
| Material | untreated sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | 10,000 |
| Volume as reported | 10,000 gallons (Best Professional Judgement) |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=DC0021199&sys=ICP |
Original source data
{
"sewer_overflow_bypass_event_key": "9387",
"permit_identifier": "DC0021199",
"program_report_form_set_id": "110",
"program_report_form_id": "1",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_event_id_ext": "1",
"program_report_received_date": "2026-05-26",
"program_report_start_date": "2026-05-20",
"program_report_end_date": "2026-05-21",
"electronic_submission_type_code": "ES1",
"electr_submission_type_desc": "EPA electronic reporting system",
"program_report_npdes_data_group_number_code": "G9A",
"program_report_npdes_data_group_desc": "Sewer Overflow/Bypass Event Report ",
"payload_id": "310483547",
"transaction_type": "N",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_description_text": "SSO at 3211 M ST SE",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_reporting_requirement_code": "1",
"sewer_overflow_reporting_requirement_desc": "5-day reporting for noncompliance that may endanger health or the environment",
"wet_weather_occurance_indicator": "N",
"sewer_overflow_structure_type_code": "MAN",
"sewer_overflow_structure_type_desc": "Manhole",
"collection_system_identifier": "001",
"latitude_measure": "38.875498",
"longitude_measure": "-76.960435",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_duration_hours": "4.22",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_start_datetime": "2026-05-20 21:47:00",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_end_datetime": "2026-05-21 02:00:00",
"discharge_quantification_method_code": "BPJ",
"discharge_quantification_method_desc": "Best Professional Judgement",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_discharge_volume_gallons": "10000.00",
"event_transaction_type": "N",
"collection_system_owner_type_code": "CTG",
"collection_system_owner_type_desc": "Municipality",
"collection_system_population": "689545",
"types": [
"Sanitary Sewer Overflow Event"
],
"receiving_waters": [
"Pope Branch"
],
"impacts": [
{
"code": "ODO",
"desc": "Odors",
"other": null
},
{
"code": "OTH",
"desc": "Other",
"other": "UNKNOWN"
}
],
"causes": [
{
"code": "BFO",
"desc": "Blockage - Fats/Oil/Grease",
"other": null
}
],
"corrective_actions": [
{
"code": "FLU",
"desc": "Sewer Flushing, Rodding, Blockage/Debris Removal",
"other": null
}
],
"treatment": [],
"collection_system_name": "D.C. WASA Sanitary Sewer System",
"percent_collection_system_css": "56",
"reached_water_rule": "receiving water named",
"timezone_note": "ECHO gives event times without a timezone; recorded as given (presumably local time)",
"report_version": "1"
} Source: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record DC0021199:110:1, reported May 26, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:28 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.