DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

District of Columbia / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — District of Columbia Water and Sewer Authority (DC Water), Sep 23, 2026

Ended (as reported) · EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)

Source: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record DC0021199:126:1, reported Sep 26, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 09:34 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 3, 2026, 4:44 AM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: District of Columbia Water and Sewer Authority (DC Water) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, DC0021199). Outlet: not stated. Location: 38.81361, -77.02750; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Anacostia River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Anacostia River, DC. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the day only
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“untreated sewage”
Volume
volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
none

Advice from EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 09:44 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset
Source record number
DC0021199:126:1
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierecho-sewer-overflow:DC0021199:126:1
Source identifierecho-sewer-overflow
Source record numberDC0021199:126:1
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierdc-dc0021199
Sewer operatorDistrict of Columbia Water and Sewer Authority (DC Water)
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)DC0021199
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportAnacostia River
Linked watersanacostia-river-dc
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude38.814
Longitude-77.028
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedSep 23, 2026 (2026-09-23)
EndedSep 23, 2026 (2026-09-23)
Detail provided by the sourceto the day only
Reported to the sourceSep 26, 2026 (2026-09-26)
PublishedNov 2, 2026 (2026-11-02)
Source last updatedNov 2, 2026 (2026-11-02T12:15:51Z)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 3, 2026, 4:34 AM EST (2026-11-03T09:34:57Z)
Materialuntreated sewage
Volume, in gallonsNot provided
Volume as reportedNot provided
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityEPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=DC0021199&sys=ICP

Original source data

{
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_event_key": "27546",
  "permit_identifier": "DC0021199",
  "program_report_form_set_id": "126",
  "program_report_form_id": "1",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_event_id_ext": "1",
  "program_report_received_date": "2026-09-26",
  "program_report_start_date": "2026-09-23",
  "program_report_end_date": "2026-09-23",
  "electronic_submission_type_code": "ES1",
  "electr_submission_type_desc": "EPA electronic reporting system",
  "program_report_npdes_data_group_number_code": "G9B",
  "program_report_npdes_data_group_desc": "Extreme Event Report",
  "payload_id": "320937665",
  "transaction_type": "N",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_reporting_requirement_code": "1",
  "sewer_overflow_reporting_requirement_desc": "5-day reporting for noncompliance that may endanger health or the environment",
  "wet_weather_occurance_indicator": "Y",
  "latitude_measure": "38.813611",
  "longitude_measure": "-77.027500",
  "event_transaction_type": "N",
  "types": [
    "Sanitary Sewer Overflow Event"
  ],
  "receiving_waters": [
    "Anacostia river"
  ],
  "impacts": [],
  "causes": [
    {
      "code": "FCS",
      "desc": "Flooding of Collection System - Hurricane or Large Stormwater Event",
      "other": null
    }
  ],
  "corrective_actions": [],
  "treatment": [],
  "collection_system_name": null,
  "percent_collection_system_css": null,
  "reached_water_rule": "receiving water named",
  "timezone_note": "ECHO gives event times without a timezone; recorded as given (presumably local time)",
  "report_version": "1",
  "receiving_water_aliases": {
    "Anacostia river": "Anacostia River"
  },
  "extreme_event_note": "G9B extreme-event report: spills too numerous to list; times are the report period"
}

Source: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record DC0021199:126:1, reported Sep 26, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 09:34 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.