DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Georgia / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Columbus Water Works (South Columbus WRF; also CSO permit GA0036838), Aug 26, 2026

Ended (as reported) · EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)

Source: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), record GA0020516:M-202691-1022862:1, reported Aug 26, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

Duplicate. This report repeats another record. The newest version sets the map status.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Columbus Water Works (South Columbus WRF; also CSO permit GA0036838) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, GA0020516). Outlet: not stated. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Tributary to Upatoi Creek”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Upatoi Creek, GA. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“untreated sewage”
Volume
volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
none

Advice from EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
Public source
Source record number
GA0020516:M-202691-1022862:1
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierecho-sewer-overflow:GA0020516:M-202691-1022862:1
Source identifierecho-sewer-overflow
Source record numberGA0020516:M-202691-1022862:1
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierga-columbus-water-works
Sewer operatorColumbus Water Works (South Columbus WRF; also CSO permit GA0036838)
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)GA0020516
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportTributary to Upatoi Creek
Linked watersupatoi-creek-ga
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
LatitudeNot provided
LongitudeNot provided
Location sourceNot provided
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedAug 26, 2026, 11:50 AM EDT (2026-08-26T11:50:00)
EndedAug 26, 2026, 1:45 PM EDT (2026-08-26T13:45:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceAug 26, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT (2026-08-26)
PublishedNov 4, 2026, 12:00 AM EST (2026-11-04)
Source last updatedNov 4, 2026, 7:16 AM EST (2026-11-04T12:16:43Z)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 5, 2026, 1:08 AM EST (2026-11-05T06:08:38Z)
Materialuntreated sewage
Volume, in gallonsNot provided
Volume as reportedNot provided
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityEPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=GA0020516&sys=ICP

Original source data

{
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_event_key": "27296",
  "permit_identifier": "GA0020516",
  "program_report_form_set_id": "M-202691-1022862",
  "program_report_form_id": "1",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_event_id_ext": "1",
  "program_report_received_date": "2026-08-26",
  "program_report_start_date": "2026-08-26",
  "program_report_end_date": "2026-08-26",
  "electronic_submission_type_code": "ES2",
  "electr_submission_type_desc": "Authorized NPDES program electronic reporting system",
  "program_report_npdes_data_group_number_code": "G9A",
  "program_report_npdes_data_group_desc": "Sewer Overflow/Bypass Event Report ",
  "payload_id": "318124976",
  "transaction_type": "R",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_reporting_requirement_code": "1",
  "sewer_overflow_reporting_requirement_desc": "5-day reporting for noncompliance that may endanger health or the environment",
  "wet_weather_occurance_indicator": "N",
  "collection_system_identifier": "GA0020516",
  "latitude_measure": "32.410056",
  "longitude_measure": "-84.979389",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_duration_hours": "2.00",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_start_datetime": "2026-08-26 11:50:00",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_end_datetime": "2026-08-26 13:45:00",
  "event_transaction_type": "R",
  "types": [
    "Sanitary Sewer Overflow Event"
  ],
  "receiving_waters": [
    "Tributary to Upatoi Creek"
  ],
  "impacts": [
    {
      "code": "NOI",
      "desc": "No observable impacts",
      "other": null
    }
  ],
  "causes": [
    {
      "code": "BPA",
      "desc": "Broken Pipe - Aging Infrastructure",
      "other": null
    }
  ],
  "corrective_actions": [
    {
      "code": "FBP",
      "desc": "Fix Broken Pipe",
      "other": null
    }
  ],
  "treatment": [
    {
      "code": "NON",
      "desc": "No Sewer Overflow Treatment",
      "bypassed_equipment": null
    }
  ],
  "collection_system_name": null,
  "percent_collection_system_css": null,
  "reached_water_rule": "receiving water named",
  "timezone_note": "ECHO gives event times without a timezone; recorded as given (presumably local time)",
  "report_version": "1",
  "reported_point": [
    32.410056,
    -84.979389
  ],
  "point_note": "the same point is given for 59 reports of this permit: taken as the permit's location, not the spill's"
}

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.