DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

New Hampshire / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — JAFFREY SANITARY SEWER SYSTEM, Sep 12, 2026

Ended (as reported) · EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)

Source: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record NH0100595:10:1, reported Sep 14, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 15:54 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 10:57 AM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: JAFFREY SANITARY SEWER SYSTEM (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NH0100595). Outlet: not stated. Location: 42.81425, -72.02377; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names no water. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Contoocook River, NH. Match basis: the report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“untreated sewage”
Volume
100 gallons (estimated)
Volume as reported
“100 gallons (Best Professional Judgement)”

Advice from EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-02 15:57 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset
Source record number
NH0100595:10:1
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierecho-sewer-overflow:NH0100595:10:1
Source identifierecho-sewer-overflow
Source record numberNH0100595:10:1
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierNot provided
Sewer operatorJAFFREY SANITARY SEWER SYSTEM
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)NH0100595
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportNot provided
Linked waterscontoocook-river-nh
How this report was linked to the waterthe report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water
Latitude42.814
Longitude-72.024
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedSep 12, 2026, 3:30 PM EDT (2026-09-12T15:30:00)
EndedSep 12, 2026, 5:30 PM EDT (2026-09-12T17:30:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceSep 14, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT (2026-09-14)
PublishedNov 2, 2026, 12:00 AM EST (2026-11-02)
Source last updatedNov 2, 2026, 7:15 AM EST (2026-11-02T12:15:51Z)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 10:54 AM EST (2026-11-02T15:54:40Z)
Materialuntreated sewage
Volume, in gallons100
Volume as reported100 gallons (Best Professional Judgement)
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityEPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=NH0100595&sys=ICP

Original source data

{
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_event_key": "27395",
  "permit_identifier": "NH0100595",
  "program_report_form_set_id": "10",
  "program_report_form_id": "1",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_event_id_ext": "1",
  "program_report_received_date": "2026-09-14",
  "program_report_start_date": "2026-09-12",
  "program_report_end_date": "2026-09-12",
  "electronic_submission_type_code": "ES1",
  "electr_submission_type_desc": "EPA electronic reporting system",
  "program_report_npdes_data_group_number_code": "G9A",
  "program_report_npdes_data_group_desc": "Sewer Overflow/Bypass Event Report ",
  "payload_id": "319431966",
  "transaction_type": "N",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_description_text": "SSO in front of 8 River Street",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_reporting_requirement_code": "1",
  "sewer_overflow_reporting_requirement_desc": "5-day reporting for noncompliance that may endanger health or the environment",
  "wet_weather_occurance_indicator": "N",
  "sewer_overflow_structure_type_code": "BRO",
  "sewer_overflow_structure_type_desc": "Broken Pipe",
  "collection_system_identifier": "001",
  "latitude_measure": "42.814251",
  "longitude_measure": "-72.023769",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_duration_hours": "2.00",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_start_datetime": "2026-09-12 15:30:00",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_end_datetime": "2026-09-12 17:30:00",
  "discharge_quantification_method_code": "BPJ",
  "discharge_quantification_method_desc": "Best Professional Judgement",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_discharge_volume_gallons": "100.00",
  "event_transaction_type": "N",
  "collection_system_owner_type_code": "CTG",
  "collection_system_owner_type_desc": "Municipality",
  "collection_system_population": "999",
  "types": [
    "Sanitary Sewer Overflow Event"
  ],
  "receiving_waters": [],
  "impacts": [
    {
      "code": "NOI",
      "desc": "No observable impacts",
      "other": null
    }
  ],
  "causes": [
    {
      "code": "BPC",
      "desc": "Broken Pipe - Caused by Construction or Maintenance Activity",
      "other": null
    }
  ],
  "corrective_actions": [
    {
      "code": "FBP",
      "desc": "Fix Broken Pipe",
      "other": null
    }
  ],
  "treatment": [],
  "collection_system_name": "JAFFREY SANITARY SEWER SYSTEM",
  "percent_collection_system_css": "0",
  "reached_water_rule": "text names a water (river)",
  "timezone_note": "ECHO gives event times without a timezone; recorded as given (presumably local time)",
  "report_version": "1"
}

Source: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record NH0100595:10:1, reported Sep 14, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 15:54 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.