DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

US / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — TOWN OF JOHNSTON WWCS, Jul 16, 2026

Ended (as reported) · EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)

Source: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record RISS00005:9:1, reported Jul 16, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 15:54 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 11:21 AM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: TOWN OF JOHNSTON WWCS (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, RISS00005). Outlet: not stated. Location: 41.84873, -71.49334; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Assapumpset Brook”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“untreated sewage”
Volume
180 gallons (estimated)
Volume as reported
“180 gallons (Best Professional Judgement)”

Advice from EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset
Source record number
RISS00005:9:1
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierecho-sewer-overflow:RISS00005:9:1
Source identifierecho-sewer-overflow
Source record numberRISS00005:9:1
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierNot provided
Sewer operatorTOWN OF JOHNSTON WWCS
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)RISS00005
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportAssapumpset Brook
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude41.849
Longitude-71.493
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJul 16, 2026, 1:29 PM EDT (2026-07-16T13:29:00)
EndedJul 16, 2026, 2:05 PM EDT (2026-07-16T14:05:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceJul 16, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT (2026-07-16)
PublishedNov 2, 2026, 12:00 AM EST (2026-11-02)
Source last updatedNov 2, 2026, 7:15 AM EST (2026-11-02T12:15:51Z)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 10:54 AM EST (2026-11-02T15:54:40Z)
Materialuntreated sewage
Volume, in gallons180
Volume as reported180 gallons (Best Professional Judgement)
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityEPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=RISS00005&sys=ICP

Original source data

{
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_event_key": "26483",
  "permit_identifier": "RISS00005",
  "program_report_form_set_id": "9",
  "program_report_form_id": "1",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_event_id_ext": "1",
  "program_report_received_date": "2026-07-16",
  "program_report_start_date": "2026-07-16",
  "program_report_end_date": "2026-07-16",
  "electronic_submission_type_code": "ES1",
  "electr_submission_type_desc": "EPA electronic reporting system",
  "program_report_npdes_data_group_number_code": "G9A",
  "program_report_npdes_data_group_desc": "Sewer Overflow/Bypass Event Report ",
  "payload_id": "314307402",
  "transaction_type": "N",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_description_text": "overflow out of manhole",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_reporting_requirement_code": "1",
  "sewer_overflow_reporting_requirement_desc": "5-day reporting for noncompliance that may endanger health or the environment",
  "wet_weather_occurance_indicator": "N",
  "sewer_overflow_structure_type_code": "BRO",
  "sewer_overflow_structure_type_desc": "Broken Pipe",
  "collection_system_identifier": "001",
  "latitude_measure": "41.848729",
  "longitude_measure": "-71.493336",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_duration_hours": "0.60",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_start_datetime": "2026-07-16 13:29:00",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_end_datetime": "2026-07-16 14:05:00",
  "discharge_quantification_method_code": "BPJ",
  "discharge_quantification_method_desc": "Best Professional Judgement",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_discharge_volume_gallons": "180.00",
  "event_transaction_type": "N",
  "collection_system_owner_type_code": "CTG",
  "collection_system_owner_type_desc": "Municipality",
  "collection_system_population": "15900",
  "types": [
    "Sanitary Sewer Overflow Event"
  ],
  "receiving_waters": [
    "Assapumpset Brook"
  ],
  "impacts": [
    {
      "code": "NOI",
      "desc": "No observable impacts",
      "other": null
    }
  ],
  "causes": [
    {
      "code": "BPO",
      "desc": "Broken Pipe - Other",
      "other": null
    }
  ],
  "corrective_actions": [
    {
      "code": "FBP",
      "desc": "Fix Broken Pipe",
      "other": null
    }
  ],
  "treatment": [],
  "collection_system_name": "TOWN OF JOHNSTON WWCS",
  "percent_collection_system_css": "0",
  "reached_water_rule": "receiving water named",
  "timezone_note": "ECHO gives event times without a timezone; recorded as given (presumably local time)",
  "report_version": "1"
}

Source: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record RISS00005:9:1, reported Jul 16, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 15:54 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.