Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Sykes Creek WWTP FLA102695, Aug 11, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution)
Source: Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution) via Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), record 20267849-20260813T103022, reported Aug 13, 2026, 10:30 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-04 09:03 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 5, 2026, 1:27 AM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Sykes Creek WWTP FLA102695. Outlet: “SSO Port St. John”. Location: 28.53090, -80.79219; location source: given in the source record, accurate to about 15 metres.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names no water. Not linked to a mapped water. The report names no water and no outlet listed in EPA and state records.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the day only
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “untreated wastewater”
- Volume
- 5,000 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “approx. 5000 gallons”
Advice from Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service)
- Source record number
- 20267849-20260813T103022
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | fl-dep-pnp:20267849-20260813T103022 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | fl-dep-pnp |
| Source record number | 20267849-20260813T103022 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | Not provided |
| Sewer operator | Sykes Creek WWTP FLA102695 |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | SSO Port St. John |
| Water named in the report | Not provided |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 28.531 |
| Longitude | -80.792 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | 15 |
| Started | Aug 11, 2026 (2026-08-11T00:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Aug 12, 2026 (2026-08-12T00:00:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the day only |
| Reported to the source | Aug 13, 2026 (2026-08-13T10:30:22-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 4, 2026, 4:03 AM EST (2026-11-04T09:03:51Z) |
| Material | untreated wastewater |
| Volume, in gallons | 5,000 |
| Volume as reported | approx. 5000 gallons |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://ags.dep.state.fl.us/arcgis/rest/services/External_Services/PNP/FeatureServer/1/query?where=INCIDENT_NUMBER%3D20267849&outFields=INCIDENT_NUMBER,INCIDENT_NAME,INCIDENT_REPORT,DATE_TIME_OF_REPORT,RELEASE_START_DATE_TIME,RELEASE_ONGOING,RELEASE_END_DATE_TIME,FACILITY_NAME,FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_1,FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_2,FACILITY_CITY,FACILITY_STATE,FACILITY_ZIP5,AFFECTED_COUNTIES,MIGRATED_OFFSITE,MIGRATED_COUNTIES,LATITUDE,LONGITUDE,DATUM,MAP_SOURCE_SCALE,OBJECTID&returnGeometry=false&f=json |
Original source data
{
"INCIDENT_NUMBER": 20267849,
"INCIDENT_NAME": "SSO Port St. John",
"INCIDENT_REPORT": "A spill that infiltrated a storm drain from a manhole near 1175 Fay Blvd in Port St. John of approx. 5000 gallons was reported and the blockage was cleared.",
"DATE_TIME_OF_REPORT": 1786617022000,
"RELEASE_START_DATE_TIME": 1786406400000,
"RELEASE_ONGOING": "N",
"RELEASE_END_DATE_TIME": 1786492800000,
"FACILITY_NAME": "Sykes Creek WWTP FLA102695",
"FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_1": "3630 N. Courtenay Pkwy",
"FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_2": null,
"FACILITY_CITY": "Merritt Island",
"FACILITY_STATE": "FL",
"FACILITY_ZIP5": 32953,
"AFFECTED_COUNTIES": "Brevard",
"MIGRATED_OFFSITE": null,
"MIGRATED_COUNTIES": null,
"LATITUDE": 28.530902,
"LONGITUDE": -80.792193,
"DATUM": "WGS84",
"MAP_SOURCE_SCALE": 36111
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.