Treatment plant bypass reported — Clearwater City of Northeast WRF, Aug 24, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution)
Source: Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution) via Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), record 20268312-20260824T151724, reported Aug 24, 2026, 3:17 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-04 09:03 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 4, 2026, 8:25 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Clearwater City of Northeast WRF. Outlet: “Northeast WRF 08.24.26”. Location: 28.02955, -82.70368; location source: given in the source record, accurate to about 15 metres.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names no water. No receiving water: the report says the discharge did not reach a water. The report is kept here but is not placed on a water and colours none on the map.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the day only
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “partially treated wastewater”
- Volume
- 3,500 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “3,500 gallons”
Advice from Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service)
- Source record number
- 20268312-20260824T151724
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | fl-dep-pnp:20268312-20260824T151724 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | fl-dep-pnp |
| Source record number | 20268312-20260824T151724 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment plant bypass |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | Not provided |
| Sewer operator | Clearwater City of Northeast WRF |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Northeast WRF 08.24.26 |
| Water named in the report | Not provided |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 28.03 |
| Longitude | -82.704 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | 15 |
| Started | Aug 24, 2026 (2026-08-24T00:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Aug 24, 2026 (2026-08-24T00:00:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the day only |
| Reported to the source | Aug 24, 2026 (2026-08-24T15:17:24-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 4, 2026, 4:03 AM EST (2026-11-04T09:03:51Z) |
| Material | partially treated wastewater |
| Volume, in gallons | 3,500 |
| Volume as reported | 3,500 gallons |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://ags.dep.state.fl.us/arcgis/rest/services/External_Services/PNP/FeatureServer/1/query?where=INCIDENT_NUMBER%3D20268312&outFields=INCIDENT_NUMBER,INCIDENT_NAME,INCIDENT_REPORT,DATE_TIME_OF_REPORT,RELEASE_START_DATE_TIME,RELEASE_ONGOING,RELEASE_END_DATE_TIME,FACILITY_NAME,FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_1,FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_2,FACILITY_CITY,FACILITY_STATE,FACILITY_ZIP5,AFFECTED_COUNTIES,MIGRATED_OFFSITE,MIGRATED_COUNTIES,LATITUDE,LONGITUDE,DATUM,MAP_SOURCE_SCALE,OBJECTID&returnGeometry=false&f=json |
Original source data
{
"INCIDENT_NUMBER": 20268312,
"INCIDENT_NAME": "Northeast WRF 08.24.26",
"INCIDENT_REPORT": "Incident Description: Contractor struck WAS line while moving equipment. Shut down WAS pumps, cut and capped pipe. An estimated 3500 gallons was spilled, with 2000 gallons recovered. the additional 1500 gallons was directed to an onsite manhole, or seeped into the ground. Wastewater Type: Partially Treated Cause: Contractor Spill Volume: 3,500 Volume Recovered: 2,000 Waterbodies Impacted: N Clean-up Status: Complete Clean-up Actions: Vacuumed/pump truck, Applied disinfectant, Applied lime, Washed down area, Raked and disposed of debris Agencies Notified: [removed]",
"DATE_TIME_OF_REPORT": 1787584644000,
"RELEASE_START_DATE_TIME": 1787529600000,
"RELEASE_ONGOING": "N",
"RELEASE_END_DATE_TIME": 1787529600000,
"FACILITY_NAME": "Clearwater City of Northeast WRF",
"FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_1": "3290 State Road 580",
"FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_2": null,
"FACILITY_CITY": "Safety Harbor",
"FACILITY_STATE": "FL",
"FACILITY_ZIP5": 34695,
"AFFECTED_COUNTIES": "Pinellas",
"MIGRATED_OFFSITE": "N",
"MIGRATED_COUNTIES": null,
"LATITUDE": 28.029553,
"LONGITUDE": -82.703685,
"DATUM": "WGS84",
"MAP_SOURCE_SCALE": null,
"reached_water": false
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.