Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — City of Port St. Lucie-USD-Westport WWTP FLA 139653, Sep 14, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution)
Source: Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution) via Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), record 20269102-20260914T174234, reported Sep 14, 2026, 5:42 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-04 09:03 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 4, 2026, 8:25 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: City of Port St. Lucie-USD-Westport WWTP FLA 139653. Outlet: “170 SW Hawthorne Cir. WP-22”. Location: 27.24282, -80.35119; location source: given in the source record, accurate to about 15 metres.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names no water. Not linked to a mapped water. Name match too far (10.9 km) and the report's town (portstlucie) is not among the water's towns (Stuart).
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the day only
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “untreated wastewater”
- Volume
- 1,200 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “Approximately 1,200 gallons”
Advice from Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service)
- Source record number
- 20269102-20260914T174234
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | fl-dep-pnp:20269102-20260914T174234 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | fl-dep-pnp |
| Source record number | 20269102-20260914T174234 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | fl-port-st-lucie |
| Sewer operator | City of Port St. Lucie-USD-Westport WWTP FLA 139653 |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | 170 SW Hawthorne Cir. WP-22 |
| Water named in the report | Not provided |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 27.243 |
| Longitude | -80.351 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | 15 |
| Started | Sep 14, 2026 (2026-09-14T00:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Sep 14, 2026 (2026-09-14T00:00:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the day only |
| Reported to the source | Sep 14, 2026 (2026-09-14T17:42:34-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 4, 2026, 4:03 AM EST (2026-11-04T09:03:51Z) |
| Material | untreated wastewater |
| Volume, in gallons | 1,200 |
| Volume as reported | Approximately 1,200 gallons |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://ags.dep.state.fl.us/arcgis/rest/services/External_Services/PNP/FeatureServer/1/query?where=INCIDENT_NUMBER%3D20269102&outFields=INCIDENT_NUMBER,INCIDENT_NAME,INCIDENT_REPORT,DATE_TIME_OF_REPORT,RELEASE_START_DATE_TIME,RELEASE_ONGOING,RELEASE_END_DATE_TIME,FACILITY_NAME,FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_1,FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_2,FACILITY_CITY,FACILITY_STATE,FACILITY_ZIP5,AFFECTED_COUNTIES,MIGRATED_OFFSITE,MIGRATED_COUNTIES,LATITUDE,LONGITUDE,DATUM,MAP_SOURCE_SCALE,OBJECTID&returnGeometry=false&f=json |
Original source data
{
"INCIDENT_NUMBER": 20269102,
"INCIDENT_NAME": "170 SW Hawthorne Cir. WP-22",
"INCIDENT_REPORT": "On 09-14-2026 at 8:30am utility staff responded to raw sewage escaping from the lift station WP-22 at 170 SW Hawthorne Cir. Staff noticed untreated raw sewage escaping from the wet well lid at a rate of 10 GPM onto the rock area, driveway, swale area and storm sewer structure. The initial inspection discovered that the lift station main breaker was tripped and when staff attempted to reset the breaker, they discovered the breaker had failed. Staff deployed a backup generator to engage the pumps until breaker was replaced and the spill ceased at 10:30 am. Approximately 1,200 gallons escaped onto rocks, swale area of the station and storm sewer structure. Approximately 120 gallons percolated into the soil or 10%. Vacuum Pumper truck recovered 1,080 gallons of wastewater from the rock area, driveway, swale area, and storm sewer structure. Staff spread 3 pounds of lime to disinfect the affected areas. Sampling is required. All regulatory agencies and PSL internal notifications are proceeding according to protocol.",
"DATE_TIME_OF_REPORT": 1789407754000,
"RELEASE_START_DATE_TIME": 1789344000000,
"RELEASE_ONGOING": "N",
"RELEASE_END_DATE_TIME": 1789344000000,
"FACILITY_NAME": "City of Port St. Lucie-USD-Westport WWTP FLA 139653",
"FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_1": "170 SW Hawthorne Cir.",
"FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_2": null,
"FACILITY_CITY": "PORT ST LUCIE",
"FACILITY_STATE": "FL",
"FACILITY_ZIP5": 34953,
"AFFECTED_COUNTIES": "St. Lucie",
"MIGRATED_OFFSITE": null,
"MIGRATED_COUNTIES": null,
"LATITUDE": 27.242823,
"LONGITUDE": -80.35119,
"DATUM": "WGS84",
"MAP_SOURCE_SCALE": 2256
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.