Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Clearwater City of Marshall Street WRF, Sep 19, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution)
Source: Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution) via Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), record 20269293-20260920T071916, reported Sep 20, 2026, 7:19 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-04 09:03 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 4, 2026, 8:25 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Clearwater City of Marshall Street WRF. Outlet: “MS spill Holt ave. & Russel st.”. Location: 27.97945, -82.78566; location source: given in the source record, accurate to about 15 metres.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names no water. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Stevenson Creek, FL. Match basis: the report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the day only
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “untreated wastewater”
- Volume
- 35,686 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “35,686 gallons”
Advice from Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Status history from this report
- Discharge or advisory reported Stevenson Creek: Discharge reported ongoing, Sep 19, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT to Sep 20, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT
- Caution Stevenson Creek: Within the caution period after the reported end, Sep 20, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT to Sep 23, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.
Source and versions
- Source
- Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service)
- Source record number
- 20269293-20260920T071916
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | fl-dep-pnp:20269293-20260920T071916 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | fl-dep-pnp |
| Source record number | 20269293-20260920T071916 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | Not provided |
| Sewer operator | Clearwater City of Marshall Street WRF |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | MS spill Holt ave. & Russel st. |
| Water named in the report | Not provided |
| Linked waters | stevenson-creek-fl |
| How this report was linked to the water | the report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water |
| Latitude | 27.979 |
| Longitude | -82.786 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | 15 |
| Started | Sep 19, 2026 (2026-09-19T00:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Sep 19, 2026 (2026-09-19T00:00:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the day only |
| Reported to the source | Sep 20, 2026 (2026-09-20T07:19:16-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 4, 2026, 4:03 AM EST (2026-11-04T09:03:51Z) |
| Material | untreated wastewater |
| Volume, in gallons | 35,686 |
| Volume as reported | 35,686 gallons |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://ags.dep.state.fl.us/arcgis/rest/services/External_Services/PNP/FeatureServer/1/query?where=INCIDENT_NUMBER%3D20269293&outFields=INCIDENT_NUMBER,INCIDENT_NAME,INCIDENT_REPORT,DATE_TIME_OF_REPORT,RELEASE_START_DATE_TIME,RELEASE_ONGOING,RELEASE_END_DATE_TIME,FACILITY_NAME,FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_1,FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_2,FACILITY_CITY,FACILITY_STATE,FACILITY_ZIP5,AFFECTED_COUNTIES,MIGRATED_OFFSITE,MIGRATED_COUNTIES,LATITUDE,LONGITUDE,DATUM,MAP_SOURCE_SCALE,OBJECTID&returnGeometry=false&f=json |
Original source data
{
"INCIDENT_NUMBER": 20269293,
"INCIDENT_NAME": "MS spill Holt ave. & Russel st.",
"INCIDENT_REPORT": "Incident Description: Apparent power failure caused backup into collection system, which caused a spill at an off site manhole. Wastewater Type: Untreated Cause: Power Spill Volume: 35,686 Volume Recovered: 5,000 Waterbodies Impacted: Y Clean-up Status: Complete Clean-up Actions: Vacuumed/pump truck, Applied lime, Washed down area, Raked and disposed of debris Agencies Notified: [removed]",
"DATE_TIME_OF_REPORT": 1789888756000,
"RELEASE_START_DATE_TIME": 1789776000000,
"RELEASE_ONGOING": "N",
"RELEASE_END_DATE_TIME": 1789776000000,
"FACILITY_NAME": "Clearwater City of Marshall Street WRF",
"FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_1": "1605 Harbor Dr",
"FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_2": null,
"FACILITY_CITY": "Clearwater",
"FACILITY_STATE": "FL",
"FACILITY_ZIP5": 33755,
"AFFECTED_COUNTIES": "Pinellas",
"MIGRATED_OFFSITE": "Y",
"MIGRATED_COUNTIES": "Pinellas",
"LATITUDE": 27.979446,
"LONGITUDE": -82.785663,
"DATUM": "WGS84",
"MAP_SOURCE_SCALE": null,
"reached_water": true
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.