DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Florida / Reports /

Treatment plant bypass reported — Groveland/Sampey Rd. WWTF, Sep 24, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution)

Source: Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution) via Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), record 20269432-20260924T103918, reported Sep 24, 2026, 10:39 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-04 09:03 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 4, 2026, 8:25 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Groveland/Sampey Rd. WWTF. Outlet: “Sampey Clarifier Spill”. Location: 28.56961, -81.84443; location source: given in the source record, accurate to about 15 metres.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names no water. No receiving water: the report says the discharge did not reach a water. The report is kept here but is not placed on a water and colours none on the map.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the day only
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“partially treated wastewater”
Volume
20,000 gallons (estimated)
Volume as reported
“20,000 gallons”

Advice from Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service)
Source record number
20269432-20260924T103918
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierfl-dep-pnp:20269432-20260924T103918
Source identifierfl-dep-pnp
Source record number20269432-20260924T103918
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeTreatment plant bypass
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierNot provided
Sewer operatorGroveland/Sampey Rd. WWTF
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)Not provided
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameSampey Clarifier Spill
Water named in the reportNot provided
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude28.57
Longitude-81.844
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metres15
StartedSep 24, 2026 (2026-09-24T00:00:00-04:00)
EndedSep 24, 2026 (2026-09-24T00:00:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the day only
Reported to the sourceSep 24, 2026 (2026-09-24T10:39:18-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 4, 2026, 4:03 AM EST (2026-11-04T09:03:51Z)
Materialpartially treated wastewater
Volume, in gallons20,000
Volume as reported20,000 gallons
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityFlorida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://ags.dep.state.fl.us/arcgis/rest/services/External_Services/PNP/FeatureServer/1/query?where=INCIDENT_NUMBER%3D20269432&outFields=INCIDENT_NUMBER,INCIDENT_NAME,INCIDENT_REPORT,DATE_TIME_OF_REPORT,RELEASE_START_DATE_TIME,RELEASE_ONGOING,RELEASE_END_DATE_TIME,FACILITY_NAME,FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_1,FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_2,FACILITY_CITY,FACILITY_STATE,FACILITY_ZIP5,AFFECTED_COUNTIES,MIGRATED_OFFSITE,MIGRATED_COUNTIES,LATITUDE,LONGITUDE,DATUM,MAP_SOURCE_SCALE,OBJECTID&returnGeometry=false&f=json

Original source data

{
  "INCIDENT_NUMBER": 20269432,
  "INCIDENT_NAME": "Sampey Clarifier Spill",
  "INCIDENT_REPORT": "Incident Description: During a pre-planned clarifier shut down a contractor performing temporary piping bypass did not follow shut down sequencing plans resulting in their crew removing a 10 inch 90 degree elbow on the clarifier while flow was present resulting in a spill Wastewater Type: Partially Treated Cause: Contractor Spill Volume: 20,000 Volume Recovered: 0 Waterbodies Impacted: N Clean-up Status: Complete Clean-up Actions: Applied lime Agencies Notified: [removed]",
  "DATE_TIME_OF_REPORT": 1790246358000,
  "RELEASE_START_DATE_TIME": 1790208000000,
  "RELEASE_ONGOING": "N",
  "RELEASE_END_DATE_TIME": 1790208000000,
  "FACILITY_NAME": "Groveland/Sampey Rd. WWTF",
  "FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_1": "1198 Sampey Rd",
  "FACILITY_ADDRESS_LINE_2": null,
  "FACILITY_CITY": "Groveland",
  "FACILITY_STATE": "FL",
  "FACILITY_ZIP5": 34736,
  "AFFECTED_COUNTIES": "Lake",
  "MIGRATED_OFFSITE": "N",
  "MIGRATED_COUNTIES": null,
  "LATITUDE": 28.569611,
  "LONGITUDE": -81.844433,
  "DATUM": "WGS84",
  "MAP_SOURCE_SCALE": null,
  "reached_water": false
}

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.