DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Georgia / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Sylvania, City of (Sylvania WPCP), Sep 21, 2026

Not stated by the source · Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD)

Source: Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD) via Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, record ga0021385-20260921-624-friendship-rd-sylvania-ga-30467, published Oct 13, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-04 08:30 UTC, first read from an archived posting · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

No current status shown on Buck Creek: end not confirmed. The report sets no map colour; it stays flagged on the water page until Dec 19, 2026, 11:00 PM EST. This is not a water-quality test.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Sylvania, City of (Sylvania WPCP) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, GA0021385). Outlet: “624 Friendship Rd, Sylvania, Georgia, 30467”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names no water. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Buck Creek, GA. Match basis: the operator's listed receiving water; the report itself does not name the water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
not reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the day only
Reported to the source
not given
Published
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
, first read from an archived posting

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Not stated by the source
Material
not stated
Volume
“not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)”

Advice from Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD
Source record number
ga0021385-20260921-624-friendship-rd-sylvania-ga-30467
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierga-epd-spills:ga0021385-20260921-624-friendship-rd-sylvania-ga-30467
Source identifierga-epd-spills
Source record numberga0021385-20260921-624-friendship-rd-sylvania-ga-30467
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportNot stated by the source
Sewer operator identifierga-ga0021385
Sewer operatorSylvania, City of (Sylvania WPCP)
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)GA0021385
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet name624 Friendship Rd, Sylvania, Georgia, 30467
Water named in the reportNot provided
Linked watersbuck-creek-ga
How this report was linked to the waterthe operator's listed receiving water; the report itself does not name the water
LatitudeNot provided
LongitudeNot provided
Location sourceNot provided
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedSep 21, 2026 (2026-09-21)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the day only
Reported to the sourceNot provided
PublishedOct 13, 2026 (2026-10-13)
Source last updatedOct 21, 2026 (2026-10-21T13:57:58Z)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 4, 2026, 3:30 AM EST (2026-11-04T08:30:55Z), first read from an archived posting
MaterialNot provided
Volume, in gallonsNot provided
Volume as reportednot yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityGeorgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://epd.georgia.gov/document/document/sewagespillsreport20261021/download

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "facility_name": "Sylvania, City of (Sylvania WPCP)",
    "begin_date": "2026-09-21",
    "county": "",
    "city": "",
    "overflow_location": "624 Friendship Rd, Sylvania, Georgia, 30467",
    "quantity_gallons": "",
    "overflow_type": "",
    "permit_number": "GA0021385",
    "spill_source": "",
    "cause": "Equipment Upgrades at Treatment Plant,",
    "river_basin": "",
    "waterway_impacted": "",
    "overflow_destination": "Spill Waters of the State"
  },
  "posting_date": "2026-10-21",
  "epd_spill_end_date": {
    "value": "2026-09-22",
    "posting": "2026-10-13",
    "note": "EPD's end date for the spill, day precision, given on this posting only; kept as given and not used as the record's end (a day gives no time the spill stopped)"
  }
}

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.