Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Sylvester, City of (Sylvester WPCP), Sep 25, 2026
Not stated by the source · Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD)
Source: Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD) via Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, record gaj020132-20260925-301-johnson-st-sylvester-ga-31791, published Sep 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-04 08:30 UTC, first read from an archived posting · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 4, 2026, 8:25 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Sylvester, City of (Sylvester WPCP). Outlet: “301 Johnson St Sylvester, GA 31791”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Storm ditch”. No receiving water: the report names no water, only 'Storm ditch'. The report is kept here but is not placed on a water and colours none on the map.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- not reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the day only
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
- , first read from an archived posting
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Not stated by the source
- Material
- “untreated sewage”
- Volume
- 7,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “7,000 gallons”
Advice from Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD
- Source record number
- gaj020132-20260925-301-johnson-st-sylvester-ga-31791
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ga-epd-spills:gaj020132-20260925-301-johnson-st-sylvester-ga-31791 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ga-epd-spills |
| Source record number | gaj020132-20260925-301-johnson-st-sylvester-ga-31791 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Not stated by the source |
| Sewer operator identifier | ga-gaj020132 |
| Sewer operator | Sylvester, City of (Sylvester WPCP) |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | 301 Johnson St Sylvester, GA 31791 |
| Water named in the report | Storm ditch |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Sep 25, 2026 (2026-09-25) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the day only |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Sep 30, 2026 (2026-09-30) |
| Source last updated | Oct 23, 2026 (2026-10-23T13:08:00Z) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 4, 2026, 3:30 AM EST (2026-11-04T08:30:55Z), first read from an archived posting |
| Material | untreated sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | 7,000 |
| Volume as reported | 7,000 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://epd.georgia.gov/document/document/sewagespillsreport20261023/download |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"facility_name": "Sylvester, City of (Sylvester WPCP)",
"begin_date": "2026-09-25",
"county": "Worth",
"city": "Sylvester",
"overflow_location": "301 Johnson St Sylvester, GA 31791",
"quantity_gallons": "7000",
"overflow_type": "Raw Sewage",
"permit_number": "GAJ020132",
"spill_source": "Collection System",
"cause": "Pump Station Mechanical Failure,",
"river_basin": "Suwannee",
"waterway_impacted": "Storm ditch",
"overflow_destination": "Spill Waters of the State"
},
"posting_date": "2026-10-23",
"epd_spill_end_date": {
"value": "2026-09-25",
"posting": "2026-10-13",
"note": "EPD's end date for the spill, day precision, given on this posting only; kept as given and not used as the record's end (a day gives no time the spill stopped)"
}
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.