DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Massachusetts / Reports /

Blended discharge reported — CITY OF FITCHBURG, Jul 7, 2026

Ended (as reported) · CITY OF FITCHBURG (MassDEP sewage notification portal)

Source: CITY OF FITCHBURG (MassDEP sewage notification portal) via MassDEP CSO API behind the portal, record 1664daf8-42d3-4f7e-8292-9d05257cfd3c, published Jul 8, 2026, 9:36 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:58 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 10:57 AM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: CITY OF FITCHBURG (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MA0100986). Outlet: 063. Location: 42.54221, -71.74615; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “NORTH NASHUA RIVER”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to North Nashua River, MA. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
not given
Published
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“Partially Treated – Blended”
Volume
186,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“186000”

Advice from CITY OF FITCHBURG (MassDEP sewage notification portal)

“Avoid contact with these water bodies for 48 hours after the discharge or overflow ceases due to increased health risks from bacteria and other pollutants. See website for more information on whether specific resource areas, such as bathing beaches, are affected.”

CITY OF FITCHBURG (MassDEP sewage notification portal) · 314 CMR 16.04(10)(g)
Advice period
48 hours
Basis
314 CMR 16.04(10)(g)

Source and versions

Source
MassDEP CSO API behind the portal
Source record number
1664daf8-42d3-4f7e-8292-9d05257cfd3c
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierma-massdep:1664daf8-42d3-4f7e-8292-9d05257cfd3c
Source identifierma-massdep
Source record number1664daf8-42d3-4f7e-8292-9d05257cfd3c
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeBlended discharge
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierma-fitchburg
Sewer operatorCITY OF FITCHBURG
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)MA0100986
Outlet number063
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportNORTH NASHUA RIVER
Linked watersnorth-nashua-river-ma
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude42.542
Longitude-71.746
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJul 7, 2026, 3:45 PM EDT (2026-07-07T15:45:00-04:00)
EndedJul 7, 2026, 6:30 PM EDT (2026-07-07T18:30:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceNot provided
PublishedJul 8, 2026, 9:36 AM EDT (2026-07-08T09:36:44-04:00)
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 5:58 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:58:11Z)
MaterialPartially Treated – Blended
Volume, in gallons186,000
Volume as reported186000
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityCITY OF FITCHBURG (MassDEP sewage notification portal)
AdviceAvoid contact with these water bodies for 48 hours after the discharge or overflow ceases due to increased health risks from bacteria and other pollutants. See website for more information on whether specific resource areas, such as bathing beaches, are affected.
Advice period, in hours48
Basis of the advice period314 CMR 16.04(10)(g)
Original noticehttps://eeaonline.eea.state.ma.us/portal/dep/cso-data-portal/details/1664daf8-42d3-4f7e-8292-9d05257cfd3c

Original source data

{
  "incidentId": "1664daf8-42d3-4f7e-8292-9d05257cfd3c",
  "incidentNumber": "26016645",
  "incidentDate": "2026-07-07T00:00:00",
  "incidentTime": "15:45",
  "amPm": null,
  "reporterClass": "Verified Data Report",
  "eventType": "Partially Treated – Blended",
  "permiteeClass": "CSO",
  "permiteeName": "CITY OF FITCHBURG",
  "permiteeId": "MA0100986",
  "outfallId": "063",
  "municipality": "FITCHBURG",
  "reportingType": null,
  "location": "Other",
  "latitude": "42.54220834",
  "longitude": "-71.74614849",
  "waterBody": "NORTH NASHUA RIVER",
  "waterBodyDescription": null,
  "volumnOfEvent": "186000",
  "rainfallData": "0.70",
  "hours": "2",
  "minutes": "45",
  "month": null,
  "year": null,
  "additionalInformation": null,
  "submittedDate": "2026-07-08T09:36:44.657",
  "parentIncidentId": null,
  "_report_class": "Verified Data Report",
  "_tz_assumed": "America/New_York (portal gives local clock time without zone)",
  "_ended_at_basis": "computed: started_at + verified duration 2 h 45 min (Verified Data Report)",
  "_water": {
    "no_slug": [
      "NORTH NASHUA RIVER (no slug)"
    ]
  },
  "_volume_note": "verified by permittee, reported to MassDEP (metered or modelled not stated)",
  "_advice_source": "required wording of 314 CMR 16.04(10)(g); the permittee's own advisory is only in an attachment the portal will not serve"
}

Source: CITY OF FITCHBURG (MassDEP sewage notification portal) via MassDEP CSO API behind the portal, record 1664daf8-42d3-4f7e-8292-9d05257cfd3c, published Jul 8, 2026, 9:36 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:58 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.