DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Massachusetts / Reports /

Treatment bypass reported — ATTLEBORO WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY, Jan 10, 2024

Ongoing (as reported) · ATTLEBORO WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY (MassDEP sewage notification portal)

Source: ATTLEBORO WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY (MassDEP sewage notification portal) via MassDEP CSO API behind the portal, record 9f76e82e-744b-4279-a813-1b337684c153, published Feb 4, 2024, 3:38 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:58 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 11:21 AM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: ATTLEBORO WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MA0100595). Outlet: 001. Location: 41.89489, -71.33723; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “TEN MILE RIVER”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Ten Mile River, MA. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
ongoing, as last reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
not given
Published
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ongoing (as reported)
Material
“Partially Treated – Other”
Volume
volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
none

Advice from ATTLEBORO WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY (MassDEP sewage notification portal)

“Avoid contact with these water bodies for 48 hours after the discharge or overflow ceases due to increased health risks from bacteria and other pollutants. See website for more information on whether specific resource areas, such as bathing beaches, are affected.”

ATTLEBORO WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY (MassDEP sewage notification portal) · 314 CMR 16.04(10)(g)
Advice period
48 hours
Basis
314 CMR 16.04(10)(g)

Source and versions

Source
MassDEP CSO API behind the portal
Source record number
9f76e82e-744b-4279-a813-1b337684c153
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierma-massdep:9f76e82e-744b-4279-a813-1b337684c153
Source identifierma-massdep
Source record number9f76e82e-744b-4279-a813-1b337684c153
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeTreatment bypass
Status in the reportOngoing (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierma-attleboro-wwtf
Sewer operatorATTLEBORO WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)MA0100595
Outlet number001
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportTEN MILE RIVER
Linked watersten-mile-river-ma
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude41.895
Longitude-71.337
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJan 10, 2024, 2:00 PM EST (2024-01-10T14:00:00-05:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceNot provided
PublishedFeb 4, 2024, 3:38 PM EST (2024-02-04T15:38:07-05:00)
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 5:58 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:58:11Z)
MaterialPartially Treated – Other
Volume, in gallonsNot provided
Volume as reportedNot provided
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityATTLEBORO WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY (MassDEP sewage notification portal)
AdviceAvoid contact with these water bodies for 48 hours after the discharge or overflow ceases due to increased health risks from bacteria and other pollutants. See website for more information on whether specific resource areas, such as bathing beaches, are affected.
Advice period, in hours48
Basis of the advice period314 CMR 16.04(10)(g)
Original noticehttps://eeaonline.eea.state.ma.us/portal/dep/cso-data-portal/details/9f76e82e-744b-4279-a813-1b337684c153

Original source data

{
  "incidentId": "9f76e82e-744b-4279-a813-1b337684c153",
  "incidentNumber": "24007594-10",
  "incidentDate": "2024-01-10T00:00:00",
  "incidentTime": "14:00",
  "amPm": null,
  "reporterClass": "Public Notification Report",
  "eventType": "Partially Treated – Other",
  "permiteeClass": "Non-CSO",
  "permiteeName": "ATTLEBORO WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY",
  "permiteeId": "MA0100595",
  "outfallId": "001",
  "municipality": "ATTLEBORO",
  "reportingType": "Ongoing",
  "location": "Other",
  "latitude": "41.89489085",
  "longitude": "-71.33722602",
  "waterBody": "TEN MILE RIVER",
  "waterBodyDescription": null,
  "volumnOfEvent": "",
  "rainfallData": "",
  "hours": "",
  "minutes": "",
  "month": null,
  "year": null,
  "additionalInformation": null,
  "submittedDate": "2024-02-04T15:38:07.427",
  "parentIncidentId": null,
  "_report_class": "Public Notification Report",
  "_tz_assumed": "America/New_York (portal gives local clock time without zone)",
  "_water": {
    "no_slug": [
      "TEN MILE RIVER (Attleboro/North Attleborough - no slug)"
    ]
  },
  "_advice_source": "required wording of 314 CMR 16.04(10)(g); the permittee's own advisory is only in an attachment the portal will not serve"
}

Source: ATTLEBORO WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY (MassDEP sewage notification portal) via MassDEP CSO API behind the portal, record 9f76e82e-744b-4279-a813-1b337684c153, published Feb 4, 2024, 3:38 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:58 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.