Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Winston-Salem Collection System, Aug 24, 2026
Ended (as reported) · NC DEQ Division of Water Resources (Sanitary Sewer Overflow Tracking Map)
Source: NC DEQ Division of Water Resources (Sanitary Sewer Overflow Tracking Map) via NC DEQ DWR "SSOs and Bypasses" ArcGIS layer, record 46cf3f71-b704-4a7f-a901-1ed469e0179b, reported Aug 24, 2026, 4:08 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 4, 2026, 8:25 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Winston-Salem Collection System (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, WQCS00003). Outlet: “Truliant Federal Credit Union Winston-Salem”. Location: 36.06502, -80.29570; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Burke Creek”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Burke Creek, NC. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “untreated wastewater”
- Volume
- 2,850 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “2,850 gallons estimated; 2,850 gallons reached surface water”
Advice from NC DEQ Division of Water Resources (Sanitary Sewer Overflow Tracking Map)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Status history from this report
- Discharge or advisory reported Burke Creek: Discharge reported ongoing, Aug 24, 2026, 10:00 AM EDT to Aug 24, 2026, 12:50 PM EDT
- Caution Burke Creek: Within the caution period after the reported end, Aug 24, 2026, 12:50 PM EDT to Aug 27, 2026, 12:50 PM EDT
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.
Source and versions
- Source
- NC DEQ DWR "SSOs and Bypasses" ArcGIS layer
- Source record number
- 46cf3f71-b704-4a7f-a901-1ed469e0179b
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | nc-dwr-sso-2026:46cf3f71-b704-4a7f-a901-1ed469e0179b |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | nc-dwr-sso-2026 |
| Source record number | 46cf3f71-b704-4a7f-a901-1ed469e0179b |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | nc-winston-salem |
| Sewer operator | Winston-Salem Collection System |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | WQCS00003 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Truliant Federal Credit Union Winston-Salem |
| Water named in the report | Burke Creek |
| Linked waters | burke-creek-nc |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | 36.065 |
| Longitude | -80.296 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Aug 24, 2026, 10:00 AM EDT (2026-08-24T10:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Aug 24, 2026, 12:50 PM EDT (2026-08-24T12:50:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Aug 24, 2026, 4:08 PM EDT (2026-08-24T16:08:00-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 4, 2026, 8:08 PM EST (2026-11-05T01:08:23Z) |
| Material | untreated wastewater |
| Volume, in gallons | 2,850 |
| Volume as reported | 2,850 gallons estimated; 2,850 gallons reached surface water |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | NC DEQ Division of Water Resources (Sanitary Sewer Overflow Tracking Map) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://services2.arcgis.com/kCu40SDxsCGcuUWO/arcgis/rest/services/Sanitary_Sewer_Overflows_since_Jan_2026/FeatureServer/0/query?where=globalid%3D%2746cf3f71-b704-4a7f-a901-1ed469e0179b%27&outFields=*&f=json |
Original source data
{
"objectid": 468,
"globalid": "46cf3f71-b704-4a7f-a901-1ed469e0179b",
"deq_program": "Sanitary Sewer Overflow",
"dwr_incident_number": "202601449",
"dwr_permit_with_name": "WQCS00003 - Winston-Salem Collection System",
"dwr_regional_office": "Winston-Salem",
"deq_county": "Forsyth",
"deq_address": "Truliant Federal Credit Union Winston-Salem",
"deq_municipality": "Winston Salem",
"dwr_report_date": 1787602080000,
"dwr_start_date": 1787580480000,
"dwr_ongoing": "No",
"dwr_end_date": 1787590200000,
"dwr_volume": 2850,
"dwr_reached_water": "Yes",
"dwr_waterbody": "Burke Creek - 12-94-12-9",
"dwr_unlisted_waterbody": null,
"dwr_volume_waterbody": 2850,
"dwr_conveyance": "Ditch",
"dwr_fish_kill": "No",
"dwr_fish_kill_number": null,
"dwr_report_complete_5d": "Yes",
"dwr_start_date_5d": 1787580000000,
"dwr_end_date_5d": 1787590200000,
"dwr_duration_5d": "2:50",
"dwr_volume_5d": 2850,
"dwr_reached_waterbody_5d": "Yes ",
"dwr_waterbody_5d": "Burke Creek",
"dwr_volume_waterbody_5d": 2850,
"dwr_fish_kill_5d": "No ",
"dwr_fish_kill_number_5d": 0,
"dwr_cause_5d": "Roots",
"dwr_weather_5d": "Clear and Hot",
"deq_latitude": 36.065016000003126,
"deq_longitude": -80.29569600000154,
"unlisted_waterbody": "",
"reached_water": true
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.