Reports /
Cyanobacteria advisory (harmful blue-green algae) reported, Aug 24, 2026
Advisory active · NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control)
Source: NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control), record 0198fe45-e4e7-4117-ba3f-29b2fc933971, updated by the source Aug 24, 2026, 10:38 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: not named. Outlet: not stated. Location: 40.04066, -74.10290; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Greenwood Lake”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- not reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) can make water unfit for contact; the issuing authority decides when its advisory ends.
- Status in the record
- Advisory active
- Material
- not stated
- Volume
- volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- none
Advice from NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control)
“NJDEP HAB alert tier at this site: Watch.”
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- NJDEP HAB Dashboard: the current alert at a site is its latest sample's tier (HAB Watch, Advisory, Warning, Danger); no fixed window
Status history from this report
- Discharge or advisory reported a water not yet on the map: Official advisory in effect, Aug 24, 2026, 10:38 AM EDT to Sep 7, 2026, 10:38 AM EDT
- No current status shown a water not yet on the map: Advisory not re-confirmed by its source recently, Sep 7, 2026, 10:38 AM EDT to Nov 22, 2026, 9:38 AM EST
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-02 21:26 UTC.
Source and versions
- Source
- Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control
- Source record number
- 0198fe45-e4e7-4117-ba3f-29b2fc933971
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | nj-hab:0198fe45-e4e7-4117-ba3f-29b2fc933971 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | nj-hab |
| Source record number | 0198fe45-e4e7-4117-ba3f-29b2fc933971 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Cyanobacteria advisory (harmful blue-green algae) |
| Status in the report | Advisory active |
| Sewer operator identifier | Not provided |
| Sewer operator | Not provided |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Greenwood Lake |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 40.041 |
| Longitude | -74.103 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Aug 24, 2026, 10:38 AM EDT (2026-08-24T10:38:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Aug 24, 2026, 10:38 AM EDT (2026-08-24T10:38:00-04:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 4:19 PM EST (2026-11-02T21:19:42Z) |
| Material | Not provided |
| Volume, in gallons | Not provided |
| Volume as reported | Not provided |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control) |
| Advice | NJDEP HAB alert tier at this site: Watch. |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | NJDEP HAB Dashboard: the current alert at a site is its latest sample's tier (HAB Watch, Advisory, Warning, Danger); no fixed window |
| Original notice | https://www.arcgis.com/home/item.html?id=49190166531d4e5a811c9a91e4a41677 |
Original source data
{
"waterbody": "Greenwood Lake",
"site_id": "03730 Lakeside Community Club Beach",
"municipality": "West Milford Township",
"county": "Passaic",
"bathing_beach": "No",
"visits": [
{
"objectid": 2795,
"sitevisitdate": "2026-08-24T10:38:00-04:00",
"siteid": "03730 Lakeside Community Club Beach",
"advisorytier": "Watch",
"advistorytrigdt": "2026-09-10T08:00:00-04:00",
"algaeobserved": "Yes",
"cellct": 44125,
"microcystins": 1.131,
"cylindrospermopsin": null,
"anatoxin": null,
"saxitoxin": null,
"predomtaxa": "Phormidium",
"toxinpresent": null,
"comments": "Dead fish washed up on shore",
"EditDate": "2026-09-09T13:20:45-04:00"
}
],
"credit": "NJDEP HAB Dashboard (provided for information purposes only; not monitored 24/7)",
"current_tier": "Watch",
"highest_tier": "Watch",
"last_confirmed_basis": "sample time"
} Source: NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control), record 0198fe45-e4e7-4117-ba3f-29b2fc933971, updated by the source Aug 24, 2026, 10:38 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.