Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — Watertown (C) WPCP, Jan 9, 2026
Ongoing (as reported) · Watertown (C) WPCP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Watertown (C) WPCP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2310797095467805, reported Jan 9, 2026, 11:47 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
Earlier version. A later record from the same source replaces this one. The newest version sets the map status. read the newer version
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Latest conditions, not at the time of this report:At the Black River at Watertown NY gauge, 9.5 kilometres from the nearest boat launch on Black River: flow 1,140 cubic feet per second (Nov 2, 2026, 3:30 PM EST). Conditions are measured at the gauge, not at this spot, and do not change the status.Conditions on Black River
Source: U.S. Geological Survey via Water Data for the Nation, gauge 04260500, reading Nov 2, 2026, 3:30 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:22 UTC. Gauge chosen by DirtyWaterWatch. · Readings and history at USGS
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Watertown (C) WPCP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0025984). Outlet: “Engine Street CSO”. Location: 43.98077, -75.92052; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Black River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Black River, NY. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- ongoing, as last reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
- Status in the record
- Ongoing (as reported)
- Material
- “Untreated”
- Volume
- 5,500 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “5500 Gallons Estimated”
Advice from Watertown (C) WPCP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2310797095467805
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- Read the earlier version
- Later versions
- version 2
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2310797095467805 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2310797095467805 |
| Earlier version | ny-dec-sprtk:2310831455298091 |
| Type | Combined sewer overflow (CSO) |
| Status in the report | Ongoing (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-watertown |
| Sewer operator | Watertown (C) WPCP |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | NY0025984 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Engine Street CSO |
| Water named in the report | Black River |
| Linked waters | black-river-black-river-ny |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | 43.981 |
| Longitude | -75.921 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jan 9, 2026, 10:00 AM EST (2026-01-09T10:00:00-05:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Jan 9, 2026, 11:47 AM EST (2026-01-09T11:47:43-05:00) |
| Published | Jan 9, 2026, 11:47 AM EST (2026-01-09T11:47:43-05:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Untreated |
| Volume, in gallons | 5,500 |
| Volume as reported | 5500 Gallons Estimated |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Watertown (C) WPCP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2310797095467805",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "01/09/2026 16:47:43",
"notificationStatus": "Update",
"facilityName": "Watertown (C) WPCP",
"facilityId": "NY0025984",
"countyName": "Jefferson",
"streetNumber": "553",
"streetName": "Coffeen St",
"city": "Watertown",
"addressDescription": "Engine Street CSO",
"latitude": "-75.92052363862302",
"longitude": "43.98076568072932",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "01/09/2026 15:00:00",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "01/09/2026 15:44:00",
"dischargeDuration": "44 Minutes - Ongoing",
"surfaceWater": "Yes",
"receivingWaterBody": "Black River",
"componentDescription": "Engine Street CSO",
"quantity": "5500 Gallons Estimated",
"treatedState": "Untreated",
"dischargeDescription": "Combination of rainwater and sewage",
"stepsToContain": "Permitted CSO discharge",
"geoaddress": "548 Coffeen St, Watertown, NY 13601, USA",
"impactedArea": "Unknown,Unknown -",
"dischargeReason": "System Capacity,Weather Conditions - Rain event and snow melt causing collection system flow greater than it can handle.",
"systemComponent": "CSO Outfall,CSO Outfall - Engine Street CSO",
"region": "6",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
"sprtkExplanation": "Rain event and snow melt causing collection system flow greater than it can handle."
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 147,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_projected_end": "2026-01-09T10:44:00-05:00",
"_projected_end_note": "NY-Alert requires an expected end time on every notice; this one is a projection, not a reported end",
"_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "a CSO outfall named in the system component",
"_water": {
"via": "receiving water name within New York (checked against the geocode)"
},
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NY0025984|553 coffeen st watertown|2026-01-09T15:00Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 2,
"of": 3,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2310831455298091",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2310797095489236"
}
} Source: Watertown (C) WPCP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2310797095467805, reported Jan 9, 2026, 11:47 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.