DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

New York / Reports /

Treatment bypass reported — ECSD #4, Depew ORF, Feb 18, 2026

Ongoing (as reported) · ECSD #4, Depew ORF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

Source: ECSD #4, Depew ORF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2345740949096903, reported Feb 18, 2026, 3:57 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

Earlier version. A later record from the same source replaces this one. The newest version sets the map status. read the newer version

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: ECSD #4, Depew ORF (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0110698). Outlet: “Overflow Retention Facility Outfall”. Location: 42.89990, -78.70630; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Cayuga Creek”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
ongoing, as last reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ongoing (as reported)
Material
“Partially Treated with Disinfection”
Volume
10,000 gallons (estimated)
Volume as reported
“10000 Gallons Estimated”

Advice from ECSD #4, Depew ORF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

“For more information on sewer overflows visit: http://www2.erie.gov/dsm/index.php?q=Sanitary-Sewer-Overflows”

ECSD #4, Depew ORF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
Source record number
2345740949096903
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
version 2

Record details

Record details
Record identifierny-dec-sprtk:2345740949096903
Source identifierny-dec-sprtk
Source record number2345740949096903
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeTreatment bypass
Status in the reportOngoing (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierny-erie-county-sd4-depew-orf
Sewer operatorECSD #4, Depew ORF
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)NY0110698
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameOverflow Retention Facility Outfall
Water named in the reportCayuga Creek
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude42.9
Longitude-78.706
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedFeb 18, 2026, 3:44 PM EST (2026-02-18T15:44:00-05:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceFeb 18, 2026, 3:57 PM EST (2026-02-18T15:57:41-05:00)
PublishedFeb 18, 2026, 3:57 PM EST (2026-02-18T15:57:41-05:00)
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z)
MaterialPartially Treated with Disinfection
Volume, in gallons10,000
Volume as reported10000 Gallons Estimated
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityECSD #4, Depew ORF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
AdviceFor more information on sewer overflows visit: http://www2.erie.gov/dsm/index.php?q=Sanitary-Sewer-Overflows
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "notificationId": "2345740949096903",
    "sprtkAirDateTime": "02/18/2026 20:57:41",
    "notificationStatus": "New",
    "facilityName": "ECSD #4 NY0110698, Depew ORF",
    "facilityId": "NY0110698",
    "countyName": "Erie",
    "streetNumber": "315",
    "streetName": "Borden Road",
    "city": "Depew",
    "addressDescription": "Cayuga Creek Rd near Borden Road",
    "latitude": "-78.7063",
    "longitude": "42.8999",
    "sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "02/18/2026 20:44:00",
    "sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "02/18/2026 22:44:00",
    "dischargeDuration": "2 Hours - Ongoing",
    "surfaceWater": "Yes",
    "receivingWaterBody": "Cayuga Creek",
    "componentDescription": "Overflow Retention Facility Outfall",
    "quantity": "10000 Gallons Estimated",
    "treatedState": "Partially Treated with Disinfection",
    "stepsToContain": "Operate facility to meet interim effluent limits",
    "additionalInstructions": "For more information on sewer overflows visit: http://www2.erie.gov/dsm/index.php?q=Sanitary-Sewer-Overflows",
    "geoaddress": "315 Borden Rd, Depew, NY 14043, USA",
    "impactedArea": "Unknown -",
    "dischargeReason": "System Capacity - Storage capacity at maximum",
    "systemComponent": "Other - Overflow Retention Facility Outfall",
    "region": "9",
    "sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
    "sprtkExplanation": "Storage capacity at maximum",
    "sprtkAdditionalInstructions": "For more information on sewer overflows visit:",
    "sprtkWebsiteUrl": "http://www2.erie.gov/dsm/index.php?q=Sanitary-Sewer-Overflows"
  },
  "_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
  "_row": 418,
  "_time_basis": {
    "air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
  },
  "_projected_end": "2026-02-18T17:44:00-05:00",
  "_projected_end_note": "NY-Alert requires an expected end time on every notice; this one is a projection, not a reported end",
  "_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
  "_event_type_basis": "partially treated discharge (treated state)",
  "_volume_note": "first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
  "_chain": {
    "id": "key:NY0110698|315 borden road depew|2026-02-18T20:44Z",
    "basis": "facility + address + start",
    "position": 1,
    "of": 4,
    "head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2345740949096903",
    "latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2354159085123331"
  }
}

Source: ECSD #4, Depew ORF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2345740949096903, reported Feb 18, 2026, 3:57 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.