Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Glen Cove (C) WWTF, Mar 6, 2026
Ongoing (as reported) · Glen Cove (C) WWTF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Glen Cove (C) WWTF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2380822241995771, reported Mar 6, 2026, 9:38 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
Earlier version. A later record from the same source replaces this one. The newest version sets the map status. read the newer version
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Glen Cove (C) WWTF (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0026620). Outlet: “4CGC1.1398A”. Location: 40.85580, -73.62330; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names no water. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- ongoing, as last reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ongoing (as reported)
- Material
- “Untreated”
- Volume
- “100 Gallons per Minute Estimated” (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “100 Gallons per Minute Estimated”
Advice from Glen Cove (C) WWTF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2380822241995771
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- version 2
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2380822241995771 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2380822241995771 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ongoing (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-glen-cove-wwtf |
| Sewer operator | Glen Cove (C) WWTF |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | NY0026620 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | 4CGC1.1398A |
| Water named in the report | Not provided |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 40.856 |
| Longitude | -73.623 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Mar 6, 2026, 8:15 AM EST (2026-03-06T08:15:00-05:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Mar 6, 2026, 9:38 AM EST (2026-03-06T09:38:23-05:00) |
| Published | Mar 6, 2026, 9:38 AM EST (2026-03-06T09:38:23-05:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Untreated |
| Volume, in gallons | Not provided |
| Volume as reported | 100 Gallons per Minute Estimated |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Glen Cove (C) WWTF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2380822241995771",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "03/06/2026 14:38:23",
"notificationStatus": "New",
"facilityName": "Glen Cove (C) WWTF NY0026620",
"facilityId": "NY0026620",
"countyName": "Nassau",
"streetNumber": "2",
"streetName": "Stanco Street",
"city": "Glen Cove",
"addressDescription": "2 Stanco Street, Glen Cove",
"latitude": "-73.6233",
"longitude": "40.8558",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "03/06/2026 13:15:00",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "03/06/2026 14:40:00",
"dischargeDuration": "Ongoing Minutes - Ongoing",
"surfaceWater": "No",
"receivingWaterBody": "No",
"componentDescription": "4CGC1.1398A",
"quantity": "100 Gallons per Minute Estimated",
"treatedState": "Untreated",
"dischargeDescription": "Sanitary sewer manholes overflow in the 8” sanitary sewer.",
"stepsToContain": "Veolia crew reported an overflow in 2 Stanco Street, Glen Cove at 8:15 AM, and confirmed SSO.",
"geoaddress": "2 Stanco St, Glen Cove, NY 11542, USA",
"impactedArea": "Unknown - NA",
"dischargeReason": "Unknown - NA",
"systemComponent": "Manhole - 4CGC1.1398A",
"region": "1",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Overland Flow",
"sprtkImpactAreaDesc": "NA",
"sprtkExplanation": "NA"
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 745,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_projected_end": "2026-03-06T09:40:00-05:00",
"_projected_end_note": "NY-Alert requires an expected end time on every notice; this one is a projection, not a reported end",
"_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "untreated discharge from a collection-system component",
"_water": {
"why_none": "the notifier says the discharge does not reach surface water"
},
"_volume_note": "a rate, not a volume; first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NY0026620|2 stanco street glen cove|2026-03-06T13:15Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 1,
"of": 2,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2380822241995771",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2380822241997367"
}
} Source: Glen Cove (C) WWTF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2380822241995771, reported Mar 6, 2026, 9:38 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.