DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

New York / Reports /

Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — Niagara Falls (C) WWTP, Mar 11, 2026

Ongoing (as reported) · Niagara Falls (C) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

Source: Niagara Falls (C) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2402400157594497, reported Mar 12, 2026, 6:54 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

Earlier version. A later record from the same source replaces this one. The newest version sets the map status. read the newer version

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Niagara Falls (C) WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0026336). Outlet: 006 “GPS CSO 006”. Location: 43.09944, -79.06055; location source: from the state's or EPA's outfall layer.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Lower Niagara River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Niagara River, NY. Match basis: the outlet's permit and number in EPA and state records.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
ongoing, as last reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
Status in the record
Ongoing (as reported)
Material
“Untreated”
Volume
32.06 million gallons (estimated)
Volume as reported
“32,060,298 Gallons Estimated”

Advice from Niagara Falls (C) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
Source record number
2402400157594497
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
Read the earlier version
Later versions
version 2

Record details

Record details
Record identifierny-dec-sprtk:2402400157594497
Source identifierny-dec-sprtk
Source record number2402400157594497
Earlier versionny-dec-sprtk:2402606315998107
TypeCombined sewer overflow (CSO)
Status in the reportOngoing (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierny-niagara-falls-water-board
Sewer operatorNiagara Falls (C) WWTP
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)NY0026336
Outlet number006
Outlet nameGPS CSO 006
Water named in the reportLower Niagara River
Linked watersniagara-river-ny
How this report was linked to the waterthe outlet's permit and number in EPA and state records
Latitude43.099
Longitude-79.061
Location sourcefrom the state's or EPA's outfall layer
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedMar 11, 2026, 7:15 AM EDT (2026-03-11T07:15:00-04:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceMar 12, 2026, 6:54 AM EDT (2026-03-12T06:54:56-04:00)
PublishedMar 12, 2026, 6:54 AM EDT (2026-03-12T06:54:56-04:00)
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z)
MaterialUntreated
Volume, in gallons32,060,298
Volume as reported32,060,298 Gallons Estimated
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityNiagara Falls (C) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "notificationId": "2402400157594497",
    "sprtkAirDateTime": "03/12/2026 10:54:56",
    "notificationStatus": "Update",
    "facilityName": "Niagara Falls (C) WWTP",
    "facilityId": "NY0026336",
    "countyName": "Niagara",
    "streetNumber": "1099",
    "streetName": "Whirlpool Street",
    "city": "Niagara Falls",
    "addressDescription": "Niagara Gorge",
    "latitude": "-79.0585",
    "longitude": "43.0992",
    "sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "03/11/2026 11:15:00",
    "sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "03/13/2026 11:15:00",
    "dischargeDuration": "24 Hours - Ongoing",
    "surfaceWater": "Yes",
    "receivingWaterBody": "Lower Niagara River",
    "componentDescription": "GPS CSO 006",
    "quantity": "32,060,298 Gallons Estimated",
    "treatedState": "Untreated",
    "dischargeDescription": "Rain Water, Wastewater, some left over snow melt",
    "stepsToContain": "Wet Weather Plan in effect, System at capacity, Permitted CSO discharge.",
    "geoaddress": "611 Ashland Ave, Niagara Falls, NY 14301, USA",
    "impactedArea": "Fishing Area,Fishing Area,Other,Other,Park,Park,Unknown,Unknown - Lower Niagara River",
    "dischargeReason": "System Capacity,System Capacity,System Capacity,System Capacity,Weather Conditions,Weather Conditions,Weather Conditions,Weather Conditions - Wet Weather Event, System at Capacity",
    "systemComponent": "Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station,Pump Station - GPS CSO 006",
    "region": "9",
    "sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
    "sprtkImpactAreaDesc": "Lower Niagara River",
    "sprtkExplanation": "Wet Weather Event, System at Capacity"
  },
  "_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
  "_row": 1048,
  "_time_basis": {
    "air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
  },
  "_projected_end": "2026-03-13T07:15:00-04:00",
  "_projected_end_note": "NY-Alert requires an expected end time on every notice; this one is a projection, not a reported end",
  "_coords": "EPA ECHO CSO inventory NY0026336 outfall 006",
  "_event_type_basis": "a CSO outfall named in the system component",
  "_water": {
    "via": "ECHO CSO inventory (outfalls-mid-atlantic)",
    "echo_outfall": "006",
    "echo_match": "geometry+name",
    "echo_receiving_water": "Niagara River"
  },
  "_coords_notice": {
    "lat": 43.0992,
    "lon": -79.0585,
    "note": "latitude and longitude columns swapped"
  },
  "_chain": {
    "id": "key:NY0026336|1099 whirlpool street niagara falls|2026-03-11T11:15Z",
    "basis": "facility + address + start",
    "position": 2,
    "of": 6,
    "head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2402606315998107",
    "latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2417106125653394"
  }
}

Source: Niagara Falls (C) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2402400157594497, reported Mar 12, 2026, 6:54 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.