Treatment bypass reported — Albion (V) WPCF, Mar 31, 2026
Ongoing (as reported) · Albion (V) WPCF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Albion (V) WPCF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2434011117203231, reported Mar 31, 2026, 8:49 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Latest conditions, not at the time of this report:At the Erie (Barge) Canal at Lock 30 at Macedon NY gauge, 600 metres from the nearest boat launch on Erie Canal: flow 151 cubic feet per second (Nov 2, 2026, 3:15 PM EST). Conditions are measured at the gauge, not at this spot, and do not change the status.Conditions on Erie Canal
Source: U.S. Geological Survey via Water Data for the Nation, gauge 04219000, reading Nov 2, 2026, 3:15 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:22 UTC. Gauge chosen by DirtyWaterWatch. · Readings and history at USGS
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Albion (V) WPCF (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0028401). Outlet: not stated. Location: 43.24640, -78.19360; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “sandy creek”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Erie Canal, NY. Match basis: the report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- ongoing, as last reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ongoing (as reported)
- Material
- “Partially Treated without Disinfection”
- Volume
- 3 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “3" of rain so far Gallons Estimated”
Advice from Albion (V) WPCF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2434011117203231
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2434011117203231 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2434011117203231 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment bypass |
| Status in the report | Ongoing (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-albion-v-wpcf |
| Sewer operator | Albion (V) WPCF |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | NY0028401 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | sandy creek |
| Linked waters | erie-canal-albion-ny |
| How this report was linked to the water | the report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water |
| Latitude | 43.246 |
| Longitude | -78.194 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Mar 31, 2026, 8:15 AM EDT (2026-03-31T08:15:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Mar 31, 2026, 8:49 PM EDT (2026-03-31T20:49:18-04:00) |
| Published | Mar 31, 2026, 8:49 PM EDT (2026-03-31T20:49:18-04:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Partially Treated without Disinfection |
| Volume, in gallons | 3 |
| Volume as reported | 3" of rain so far Gallons Estimated |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Albion (V) WPCF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2434011117203231",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "04/01/2026 00:49:18",
"notificationStatus": "New",
"facilityName": "Albion (V) WPCF NY0028401",
"facilityId": "NY0028401",
"countyName": "Orleans",
"streetNumber": "14740",
"streetName": "Densmore st",
"city": "ALBION",
"latitude": "78.1936",
"longitude": "43.2464",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "03/31/2026 12:15:00",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "04/01/2026 04:00:00",
"dischargeDuration": "on going Hours - Ongoing",
"surfaceWater": "Yes",
"receivingWaterBody": "sandy creek",
"quantity": "3\" of rain so far Gallons Estimated",
"treatedState": "Partially Treated without Disinfection",
"stepsToContain": "follow wet weather plan",
"geoaddress": "14740 DENSMORE ST",
"impactedArea": "-",
"dischargeReason": "Weather Conditions - long line of thunderstorms, heavy rain",
"systemComponent": "-",
"region": "8",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
"sprtkExplanation": "long line of thunderstorms, heavy rain"
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 1755,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_projected_end": "2026-04-01T00:00:00-04:00",
"_projected_end_note": "NY-Alert requires an expected end time on every notice; this one is a projection, not a reported end",
"_coords": "columns swapped and longitude given its missing minus sign; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "partially treated discharge (treated state)",
"_water": {
"name_notes": [
"'sandy creek': the point is not near any of the 1 New York waters with this name: not used"
]
},
"_volume_note": "first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NY0028401|14740 densmore st albion|2026-03-31T12:15Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 1,
"of": 1,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2434011117203231",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2434011117203231",
"notices": [
{
"id": "2434011117203231",
"status": "New",
"aired": "2026-03-31T20:49:18-04:00"
}
]
}
} Source: Albion (V) WPCF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2434011117203231, reported Mar 31, 2026, 8:49 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.