Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — Niagara Falls (C) WWTP, May 6, 2026
Ongoing (as reported) · Niagara Falls (C) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Niagara Falls (C) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2477888502929962, reported May 6, 2026, 9:52 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
Earlier version. A later record from the same source replaces this one. The newest version sets the map status. read the newer version
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Niagara Falls (C) WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0026336). Outlet: not stated. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Cayuga Creek”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- ongoing, as last reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
- Status in the record
- Ongoing (as reported)
- Material
- “Untreated”
- Volume
- “1500 Gallons per Minute Estimated” (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “1500 Gallons per Minute Estimated”
Advice from Niagara Falls (C) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2477888502929962
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- version 2
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2477888502929962 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2477888502929962 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Combined sewer overflow (CSO) |
| Status in the report | Ongoing (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-niagara-falls-water-board |
| Sewer operator | Niagara Falls (C) WWTP |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | NY0026336 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Cayuga Creek |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | May 6, 2026, 8:30 PM EDT (2026-05-06T20:30:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | May 6, 2026, 9:52 AM EDT (2026-05-06T09:52:43-04:00) |
| Published | May 6, 2026, 9:52 AM EDT (2026-05-06T09:52:43-04:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Untreated |
| Volume, in gallons | Not provided |
| Volume as reported | 1500 Gallons per Minute Estimated |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Niagara Falls (C) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2477888502929962",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "05/06/2026 13:52:43",
"notificationStatus": "New",
"facilityName": "Niagara Falls (C) WWTP",
"facilityId": "NY0026336",
"countyName": "Niagara",
"streetNumber": "930",
"streetName": "Luick",
"city": "NIAGARA FALLS",
"latitude": "-85.3594",
"longitude": "40.1864",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "05/07/2026 00:30:00",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "05/08/2026 00:30:00",
"dischargeDuration": "NA Hours - Ongoing",
"surfaceWater": "Yes",
"receivingWaterBody": "Cayuga Creek",
"quantity": "1500 Gallons per Minute Estimated",
"treatedState": "Untreated",
"stepsToContain": "Lift station running at capacity",
"geoaddress": "928 S Luick Ave, Muncie, IN 47302, USA",
"impactedArea": "-",
"dischargeReason": "System Capacity,Weather Conditions - Steady rain",
"systemComponent": "-",
"region": "9",
"sprtkExplanation": "Steady rain"
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 2888,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_projected_end": "2026-05-07T20:30:00-04:00",
"_projected_end_note": "NY-Alert requires an expected end time on every notice; this one is a projection, not a reported end",
"_coords": "geocode -85.3594,40.1864 is outside New York in every column order: not used",
"_event_type_basis": "inferred: untreated wet-weather discharge from a CSO permittee, no component given (could also be a sanitary overflow or plant bypass)",
"_volume_note": "a rate, not a volume; first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NY0026336|930 luick niagara falls|2026-05-07T00:30Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 1,
"of": 2,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2477888502929962",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2497301754939619"
}
} Source: Niagara Falls (C) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2477888502929962, reported May 6, 2026, 9:52 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.