DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Reports /

Treatment bypass reported — ECSD #4 Depew ORF, May 23, 2026

Ended (as reported) · ECSD #4 Depew ORF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

Source: ECSD #4 Depew ORF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2527366526081224, reported May 24, 2026, 10:42 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: ECSD #4 Depew ORF. Outlet: “Overflow Retention Facility outfall”. Location: 42.89990, -78.70630; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Cayuga Creek”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“Partially Treated with Disinfection”
Volume
2.44 million gallons (measured or verified)
Volume as reported
“2,441,500 Gallons Actual”

Advice from ECSD #4 Depew ORF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

“https://www2.erie.gov/dsm/index.php?q=Sanitary-Sewer-Overflows”

ECSD #4 Depew ORF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
Source record number
2527366526081224
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
Read the earlier version
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierny-dec-sprtk:2527366526081224
Source identifierny-dec-sprtk
Source record number2527366526081224
Earlier versionny-dec-sprtk:2527366526070816
TypeTreatment bypass
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierny-ecsd-4-depew-orf
Sewer operatorECSD #4 Depew ORF
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)Not provided
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameOverflow Retention Facility outfall
Water named in the reportCayuga Creek
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude42.9
Longitude-78.706
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedMay 23, 2026, 4:55 PM EDT (2026-05-23T16:55:00-04:00)
EndedMay 24, 2026, 6:14 AM EDT (2026-05-24T06:14:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceMay 24, 2026, 10:42 AM EDT (2026-05-24T10:42:09-04:00)
PublishedMay 24, 2026, 10:42 AM EDT (2026-05-24T10:42:09-04:00)
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z)
MaterialPartially Treated with Disinfection
Volume, in gallons2,441,500
Volume as reported2,441,500 Gallons Actual
How volume was determinedmeasured or verified
AuthorityECSD #4 Depew ORF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Advicehttps://www2.erie.gov/dsm/index.php?q=Sanitary-Sewer-Overflows
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "notificationId": "2527366526081224",
    "sprtkAirDateTime": "05/24/2026 14:42:09",
    "notificationStatus": "Close",
    "facilityName": "ECSD #4 Depew ORF",
    "facilityId": "NYS900040",
    "countyName": "Erie",
    "streetNumber": "317",
    "streetName": "Borden Rd",
    "city": "Depew",
    "latitude": "-78.7063",
    "longitude": "42.8999",
    "sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "05/23/2026 20:55:00",
    "sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "05/24/2026 10:14:00",
    "dischargeDuration": "13.32 Hours - Ended",
    "surfaceWater": "Yes",
    "receivingWaterBody": "Cayuga Creek",
    "componentDescription": "Overflow Retention Facility outfall",
    "quantity": "2,441,500 Gallons Actual",
    "treatedState": "Partially Treated with Disinfection",
    "stepsToContain": "Operate facility to meet interim effluent limits",
    "additionalInstructions": "https://www2.erie.gov/dsm/index.php?q=Sanitary-Sewer-Overflows",
    "geoaddress": "315 Borden Rd, Depew, NY 14043, USA",
    "impactedArea": "Unknown -",
    "dischargeReason": "System Capacity - Storage capacity at maximum",
    "systemComponent": "Other - Overflow Retention Facility outfall",
    "region": "9",
    "sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
    "sprtkExplanation": "Storage capacity at maximum",
    "sprtkWebsiteUrl": "https://www2.erie.gov/dsm/index.php?q=Sanitary-Sewer-Overflows"
  },
  "_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
  "_row": 3283,
  "_time_basis": {
    "air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
  },
  "_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
  "_event_type_basis": "partially treated discharge (treated state)",
  "_chain": {
    "id": "key:NYS900040|317 borden rd depew|2026-05-23T20:55Z",
    "basis": "facility + address + start",
    "position": 2,
    "of": 2,
    "head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2527366526070816",
    "latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2527366526081224",
    "notices": [
      {
        "id": "2527366526070816",
        "status": "New",
        "aired": "2026-05-23T19:18:17-04:00"
      },
      {
        "id": "2527366526081224",
        "status": "Close",
        "aired": "2026-05-24T10:42:09-04:00"
      }
    ]
  }
}

Source: ECSD #4 Depew ORF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2527366526081224, reported May 24, 2026, 10:42 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.