DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

New York / Reports /

Treatment bypass reported — Cayuga Heights (V) WWTP, May 24, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Cayuga Heights (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

Source: Cayuga Heights (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2527435245569795, reported May 24, 2026, 12:52 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Latest conditions, not at the time of this report:At the Cayuga Inlet (Cayuga Lake) at Ithaca NY gauge, 1.2 kilometres from the nearest boat launch on Cayuga Lake: no reading in the last 12 hours. Conditions are measured at the gauge, not at this spot, and do not change the status.Conditions on Cayuga Lake

Source: U.S. Geological Survey via Water Data for the Nation, gauge 04233500, no reading in the last 12 hours, retrieval time not recorded. Gauge chosen by DirtyWaterWatch. · Readings and history at USGS

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Cayuga Heights (V) WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0020958). Outlet: “sludge digester overflow”. Location: 42.46966, -76.50733; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Cayuga Lake”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Cayuga Lake, NY. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
not reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“Partially Treated without Disinfection”
Volume
5,000 gallons (estimated)
Volume as reported
“5000 Gallons Estimated”

Advice from Cayuga Heights (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

“www.cayugaheights.gov”

Cayuga Heights (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-02 21:26 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
Source record number
2527435245569795
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None
Note
Some details could not be read automatically. Check the original notice.

Record details

Record details
Record identifierny-dec-sprtk:2527435245569795
Source identifierny-dec-sprtk
Source record number2527435245569795
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeTreatment bypass
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierny-cayuga-heights-v-wwtp
Sewer operatorCayuga Heights (V) WWTP
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)NY0020958
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet namesludge digester overflow
Water named in the reportCayuga Lake
Linked waterscayuga-lake-ny
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude42.47
Longitude-76.507
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedMay 24, 2026, 5:00 AM EDT (2026-05-24T05:00:00-04:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceMay 24, 2026, 12:52 PM EDT (2026-05-24T12:52:11-04:00)
PublishedMay 24, 2026, 12:52 PM EDT (2026-05-24T12:52:11-04:00)
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z)
MaterialPartially Treated without Disinfection
Volume, in gallons5,000
Volume as reported5000 Gallons Estimated
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityCayuga Heights (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Advicewww.cayugaheights.gov
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "notificationId": "2527435245569795",
    "sprtkAirDateTime": "05/24/2026 16:52:11",
    "notificationStatus": "New",
    "facilityName": "Cayuga Heights (V) WWTP NY0020958",
    "facilityId": "NY0020958",
    "countyName": "Tompkins",
    "streetNumber": "951",
    "streetName": "East Shore Drive",
    "city": "Ithaca",
    "addressDescription": "Village of Cayuga Heights WWTP",
    "latitude": "-76.507333",
    "longitude": "42.469656",
    "sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "05/24/2026 09:00:00",
    "sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "05/11/2026 04:00:00",
    "dischargeDuration": "6 Hours - Ended",
    "surfaceWater": "No",
    "receivingWaterBody": "Cayuga Lake",
    "componentDescription": "sludge digester overflow",
    "quantity": "5000 Gallons Estimated",
    "treatedState": "Partially Treated without Disinfection",
    "dischargeDescription": "The secondary sludge digestor overfilled and spilled out of the top. Partially treated sludge was intercepted in the NYS Route 34 roadside ditch, where is was contained and did not enter into the adjacent stream or lake.",
    "stepsToContain": "The pump was manually shut off and the sludge on the land is being neutralized with lime. The sludge in the roadside ditch will be cleaned up with an excavator and disposed of at the same site as the sludge cake is disposed (Steuben County Landfill).",
    "additionalInstructions": "www.cayugaheights.gov",
    "geoaddress": "951 East Shore Drive",
    "impactedArea": "Unknown - road side ditch with no flowing stormwater",
    "dischargeReason": "Unknown - overflow limit alarm failed",
    "systemComponent": "Other - sludge digester overflow",
    "region": "7",
    "sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
    "sprtkImpactAreaDesc": "road side ditch with no flowing stormwater",
    "sprtkExplanation": "overflow limit alarm failed",
    "sprtkWebsiteUrl": "www.cayugaheights.gov"
  },
  "_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
  "_row": 3292,
  "_time_basis": {
    "air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
  },
  "_end_before_start": "2026-05-11T00:00:00-04:00",
  "_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
  "_event_type_basis": "partially treated discharge (treated state)",
  "_water": {
    "why_none": "the notifier says the discharge does not reach surface water"
  },
  "_volume_note": "first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
  "_chain": {
    "id": "key:NY0020958|951 east shore drive ithaca|2026-05-24T09:00Z",
    "basis": "facility + address + start",
    "position": 1,
    "of": 1,
    "head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2527435245569795",
    "latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2527435245569795",
    "notices": [
      {
        "id": "2527435245569795",
        "status": "New",
        "aired": "2026-05-24T12:52:11-04:00"
      }
    ]
  }
}

Source: Cayuga Heights (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2527435245569795, reported May 24, 2026, 12:52 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.