DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Reports /

Treatment bypass reported — Orangeburg RCSD #1 STP, Jun 7, 2026

Ongoing (as reported) · Orangeburg RCSD #1 STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

Source: Orangeburg RCSD #1 STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2560523673595791, reported Jun 7, 2026, 8:08 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Orangeburg RCSD #1 STP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0031895). Outlet: not stated. Location: 41.15661, -74.02947; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names no water. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
ongoing, as last reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ongoing (as reported)
Material
“Partially Treated without Disinfection”
Volume
“5 Gallons per Minute Estimated” (estimated)
Volume as reported
“5 Gallons per Minute Estimated”

Advice from Orangeburg RCSD #1 STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
Source record number
2560523673595791
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierny-dec-sprtk:2560523673595791
Source identifierny-dec-sprtk
Source record number2560523673595791
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeTreatment bypass
Status in the reportOngoing (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierny-orangeburg-rcsd-1-stp
Sewer operatorOrangeburg RCSD #1 STP
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)NY0031895
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportNot provided
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude41.157
Longitude-74.029
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJun 7, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT (2026-06-07T20:00:00-04:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceJun 7, 2026, 8:08 PM EDT (2026-06-07T20:08:58-04:00)
PublishedJun 7, 2026, 8:08 PM EDT (2026-06-07T20:08:58-04:00)
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z)
MaterialPartially Treated without Disinfection
Volume, in gallonsNot provided
Volume as reported5 Gallons per Minute Estimated
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityOrangeburg RCSD #1 STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "notificationId": "2560523673595791",
    "sprtkAirDateTime": "06/08/2026 00:08:58",
    "notificationStatus": "New",
    "facilityName": "Orangeburg RCSD #1 STP",
    "facilityId": "NY0031895",
    "countyName": "Rockland",
    "streetNumber": "18",
    "streetName": "Fanley Avenue",
    "city": "Spring Valley",
    "latitude": "-74.0294656",
    "longitude": "41.156608",
    "sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "06/08/2026 00:00:00",
    "sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "06/08/2026 00:00:00",
    "dischargeDuration": "minutes Minutes - Ongoing",
    "surfaceWater": "No",
    "receivingWaterBody": "N/A",
    "quantity": "5 Gallons per Minute Estimated",
    "treatedState": "Partially Treated without Disinfection",
    "stepsToContain": "crew is working on it.",
    "geoaddress": "18 Fanley Avenue Spring Valley NY 10977",
    "impactedArea": "-",
    "dischargeReason": "Pipe Break - storm",
    "systemComponent": "-",
    "region": "3",
    "sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
    "sprtkExplanation": "storm"
  },
  "_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
  "_row": 3485,
  "_time_basis": {
    "air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
  },
  "_projected_end": "2026-06-07T20:00:00-04:00",
  "_projected_end_note": "NY-Alert requires an expected end time on every notice; this one is a projection, not a reported end",
  "_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
  "_event_type_basis": "partially treated discharge (treated state)",
  "_water": {
    "why_none": "the notifier says the discharge does not reach surface water"
  },
  "_volume_note": "a rate, not a volume; first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
  "_chain": {
    "id": "key:NY0031895|18 fanley avenue spring valley|2026-06-08T00:00Z",
    "basis": "facility + address + start",
    "position": 1,
    "of": 1,
    "head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2560523673595791",
    "latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2560523673595791",
    "notices": [
      {
        "id": "2560523673595791",
        "status": "New",
        "aired": "2026-06-07T20:08:58-04:00"
      }
    ]
  }
}

Source: Orangeburg RCSD #1 STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2560523673595791, reported Jun 7, 2026, 8:08 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.