Reports /
Treatment bypass reported — Saratoga Springs (C) POSS, Jun 11, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Saratoga Springs (C) POSS (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Saratoga Springs (C) POSS (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2560558033467397, reported Jun 12, 2026, 11:31 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Saratoga Springs (C) POSS. Outlet: “Concrete manhole”. Location: 43.05800, -73.80860; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Geyser Brook”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “Partially Treated with Disinfection”
- Volume
- 5,000 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “5000 Gallons Estimated”
Advice from Saratoga Springs (C) POSS (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2560558033467397
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- Read the earlier version
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2560558033467397 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2560558033467397 |
| Earlier version | ny-dec-sprtk:2560523673707491 |
| Type | Treatment bypass |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-saratoga-springs-c-poss |
| Sewer operator | Saratoga Springs (C) POSS |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Concrete manhole |
| Water named in the report | Geyser Brook |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 43.058 |
| Longitude | -73.809 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jun 11, 2026, 6:30 PM EDT (2026-06-11T18:30:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Jun 11, 2026, 6:40 PM EDT (2026-06-11T18:40:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Jun 12, 2026, 11:31 AM EDT (2026-06-12T11:31:33-04:00) |
| Published | Jun 12, 2026, 11:31 AM EDT (2026-06-12T11:31:33-04:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Partially Treated with Disinfection |
| Volume, in gallons | 5,000 |
| Volume as reported | 5000 Gallons Estimated |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Saratoga Springs (C) POSS (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2560558033467397",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "06/12/2026 15:31:33",
"notificationStatus": "Close",
"facilityName": "Saratoga Springs (C) POSS NYS500018",
"facilityId": "NYS500018",
"countyName": "Saratoga",
"streetNumber": "2",
"streetName": "Old Ballston Ave North",
"city": "Saratoga Springs",
"latitude": "-73.8086",
"longitude": "43.058",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "06/11/2026 22:30:00",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "06/11/2026 22:40:00",
"dischargeDuration": "approximately 10 Min Minutes - Ended",
"surfaceWater": "No",
"receivingWaterBody": "Geyser Brook",
"componentDescription": "Concrete manhole",
"quantity": "5000 Gallons Estimated",
"treatedState": "Partially Treated with Disinfection",
"dischargeDescription": "During the bypass operation, a sudden influx of flow entered the system and exceeded the capacity of the small manhole from which the bypass was being pumped. As a result, wastewater discharged from the manhole. The discharge volume is estimated to be approximately 5,000 gallons.",
"stepsToContain": "Personnel were present on site at the time of the incident and responded immediately. The issue was promptly corrected.",
"geoaddress": "1 Geyser Rd, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866, USA",
"impactedArea": "Other - Low lying area next to pump station",
"dischargeReason": "Unknown - Sudden influx of flow",
"systemComponent": "Manhole - Concrete manhole",
"region": "5",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Overland Flow",
"sprtkImpactAreaDesc": "Low lying area next to pump station",
"sprtkExplanation": "Sudden influx of flow"
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 3561,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "partially treated discharge (treated state)",
"_water": {
"why_none": "the notifier says the discharge does not reach surface water"
},
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NYS500018|2 old ballston ave north saratoga springs|2026-06-11T22:30Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 2,
"of": 2,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2560523673707491",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2560558033467397",
"notices": [
{
"id": "2560523673707491",
"status": "New",
"aired": "2026-06-12T08:08:38-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2560558033467397",
"status": "Close",
"aired": "2026-06-12T11:31:33-04:00"
}
]
}
} Source: Saratoga Springs (C) POSS (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2560558033467397, reported Jun 12, 2026, 11:31 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.