Reports /
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Jamestown WWTP, Jun 16, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Jamestown WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Jamestown WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2560558033568401, reported Jun 16, 2026, 5:07 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Jamestown WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0027570). Outlet: “Pipe break”. Location: 42.19370, -79.29510; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names no water. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “Untreated”
- Volume
- 4,000 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “4000 Gallons Estimated”
Advice from Jamestown WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2560558033568401
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2560558033568401 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2560558033568401 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-jamestown-wwtp |
| Sewer operator | Jamestown WWTP |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | NY0027570 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Pipe break |
| Water named in the report | Not provided |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 42.194 |
| Longitude | -79.295 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jun 16, 2026, 11:50 AM EDT (2026-06-16T11:50:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Jun 16, 2026, 12:20 PM EDT (2026-06-16T12:20:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Jun 16, 2026, 5:07 PM EDT (2026-06-16T17:07:59-04:00) |
| Published | Jun 16, 2026, 5:07 PM EDT (2026-06-16T17:07:59-04:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Untreated |
| Volume, in gallons | 4,000 |
| Volume as reported | 4000 Gallons Estimated |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Jamestown WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2560558033568401",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "06/16/2026 21:07:59",
"notificationStatus": "New",
"facilityName": "Jamestown WWTP NY0027570",
"facilityId": "NY0027570",
"countyName": "Chautauqua",
"streetNumber": "4668",
"streetName": "Fluvanna Townline Rd",
"city": "Jamestown",
"addressDescription": "Residence",
"latitude": "-79.2951",
"longitude": "42.1937",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "06/16/2026 15:50:00",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "06/16/2026 16:20:00",
"dischargeDuration": "30 Minutes - Ended",
"surfaceWater": "No",
"receivingWaterBody": "None",
"componentDescription": "Pipe break",
"quantity": "4000 Gallons Estimated",
"treatedState": "Untreated",
"dischargeDescription": "Landfill leachate discharged through a break in a six inch ductile iron pipe",
"stepsToContain": "The pump was shut off, valves were closed, and a vactor truck removed surface contaminates.",
"geoaddress": "4668 Fluvanna Townline Rd, Jamestown, NY 14701, USA",
"impactedArea": "Unknown - Residence",
"dischargeReason": "Pipe Break - Leachate line pipe break",
"systemComponent": "Pipe - Pipe break",
"region": "9",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Overland Flow",
"sprtkImpactAreaDesc": "Residence",
"sprtkExplanation": "Leachate line pipe break"
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 3732,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "untreated discharge from a collection-system component",
"_water": {
"why_none": "the notifier says the discharge does not reach surface water"
},
"_volume_note": "first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NY0027570|4668 fluvanna townline rd jamestown|2026-06-16T15:50Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 1,
"of": 1,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2560558033568401",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2560558033568401",
"notices": [
{
"id": "2560558033568401",
"status": "New",
"aired": "2026-06-16T17:07:59-04:00"
}
]
}
} Source: Jamestown WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2560558033568401, reported Jun 16, 2026, 5:07 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.