Reports /
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Southtowns AWTF- ECSD #3, Jun 14, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Southtowns AWTF- ECSD #3 (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Southtowns AWTF- ECSD #3 (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2560695472450507, reported Jun 15, 2026, 12:57 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Southtowns AWTF- ECSD #3 (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0095401). Outlet: “Manhole #CF09D”. Location: 42.78373, -78.79652; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Smoke Creek”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “Untreated”
- Volume
- 134,594 gallons (measured or verified)
- Volume as reported
- “134,594 Gallons Actual”
Advice from Southtowns AWTF- ECSD #3 (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2560695472450507
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- Read the earlier version
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2560695472450507 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2560695472450507 |
| Earlier version | ny-dec-sprtk:2560558033515965 |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-southtowns-awtf-ecsd-3 |
| Sewer operator | Southtowns AWTF- ECSD #3 |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | NY0095401 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Manhole #CF09D |
| Water named in the report | Smoke Creek |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 42.784 |
| Longitude | -78.797 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jun 14, 2026, 5:10 PM EDT (2026-06-14T17:10:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Jun 14, 2026, 10:00 PM EDT (2026-06-14T22:00:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Jun 15, 2026, 12:57 PM EDT (2026-06-15T12:57:04-04:00) |
| Published | Jun 15, 2026, 12:57 PM EDT (2026-06-15T12:57:04-04:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Untreated |
| Volume, in gallons | 134,594 |
| Volume as reported | 134,594 Gallons Actual |
| How volume was determined | measured or verified |
| Authority | Southtowns AWTF- ECSD #3 (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2560695472450507",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "06/15/2026 16:57:04",
"notificationStatus": "Close",
"facilityName": "Southtowns AWTF- ECSD #3",
"facilityId": "NY0095401",
"countyName": "Erie",
"streetNumber": "5035",
"streetName": "Richmond Ave.",
"city": "Hamburg",
"addressDescription": "Richmond Ave. near the intersection of Abbott Road.",
"latitude": "-78.79651922560362",
"longitude": "42.78372755126022",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "06/14/2026 21:10:00",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "06/15/2026 02:00:00",
"dischargeDuration": "4.83 Hours - Ended",
"surfaceWater": "Yes",
"receivingWaterBody": "Smoke Creek",
"componentDescription": "Manhole #CF09D",
"quantity": "134,594 Gallons Actual",
"treatedState": "Untreated",
"stepsToContain": "Set up pump, monitor flow. Pump starts and stops automatically based on level.",
"geoaddress": "5018 Richmond Ave, Buffalo, NY 14219, USA",
"impactedArea": "Unknown -",
"dischargeReason": "System Capacity - Localized heavy rainfall",
"systemComponent": "Manhole - Manhole #CF09D",
"region": "9",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Overland Flow",
"sprtkExplanation": "Localized heavy rainfall"
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 3714,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "untreated discharge from a collection-system component",
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NY0095401|5035 richmond ave hamburg|2026-06-14T21:10Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 2,
"of": 2,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2560558033515965",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2560695472450507",
"notices": [
{
"id": "2560558033515965",
"status": "New",
"aired": "2026-06-14T17:22:38-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2560695472450507",
"status": "Close",
"aired": "2026-06-15T12:57:04-04:00"
}
]
}
} Source: Southtowns AWTF- ECSD #3 (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2560695472450507, reported Jun 15, 2026, 12:57 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.