DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Southtowns AWTF- ECSD #3, Jun 14, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Southtowns AWTF- ECSD #3 (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

Source: Southtowns AWTF- ECSD #3 (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2560798551698235, reported Jun 15, 2026, 1:09 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Southtowns AWTF- ECSD #3 (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0095401). Outlet: “Manhole CDFF6”. Location: 42.74583, -78.87638; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Overland flow to storm drain to Foster Brook”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“Untreated”
Volume
32,020 gallons (measured or verified)
Volume as reported
“32,020 Gallons Actual”

Advice from Southtowns AWTF- ECSD #3 (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

“When this SPRTK was sent it misrepresented the actual location of the discharge. The SSO actually took place at 3094 Cloverbank rd. (Rogers and Cloverbank) not 4940 Rogers rd. (Rogers and Bender). The addresses on this SPRTK have been corrected to properly represent the SSO that occurred. http://www2.erie.gov/dsm/index.php?q=Sanitary-Sewer-Overflows”

Southtowns AWTF- ECSD #3 (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
Source record number
2560798551698235
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierny-dec-sprtk:2560798551698235
Source identifierny-dec-sprtk
Source record number2560798551698235
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierny-southtowns-awtf-ecsd-3
Sewer operatorSouthtowns AWTF- ECSD #3
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)NY0095401
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameManhole CDFF6
Water named in the reportOverland flow to storm drain to Foster Brook
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude42.746
Longitude-78.876
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJun 14, 2026, 8:20 PM EDT (2026-06-14T20:20:00-04:00)
EndedJun 14, 2026, 11:28 PM EDT (2026-06-14T23:28:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceJun 15, 2026, 1:09 PM EDT (2026-06-15T13:09:27-04:00)
PublishedJun 15, 2026, 1:09 PM EDT (2026-06-15T13:09:27-04:00)
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z)
MaterialUntreated
Volume, in gallons32,020
Volume as reported32,020 Gallons Actual
How volume was determinedmeasured or verified
AuthoritySouthtowns AWTF- ECSD #3 (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
AdviceWhen this SPRTK was sent it misrepresented the actual location of the discharge. The SSO actually took place at 3094 Cloverbank rd. (Rogers and Cloverbank) not 4940 Rogers rd. (Rogers and Bender). The addresses on this SPRTK have been corrected to properly represent the SSO that occurred. http://www2.erie.gov/dsm/index.php?q=Sanitary-Sewer-Overflows
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "notificationId": "2560798551698235",
    "sprtkAirDateTime": "06/15/2026 17:09:27",
    "notificationStatus": "Close",
    "facilityName": "Southtowns AWTF- ECSD #3",
    "facilityId": "NY0095401",
    "countyName": "Erie",
    "streetNumber": "3094",
    "streetName": "Rogers Road",
    "city": "Hamburg",
    "addressDescription": "Manhole is at the intersection of Rogers Road and Cloverbank Road.",
    "latitude": "-78.87637790514378",
    "longitude": "42.74583351035348",
    "sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "06/15/2026 00:20:00",
    "sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "06/15/2026 03:28:00",
    "dischargeDuration": "3.13 Hours - Ended",
    "surfaceWater": "Yes",
    "receivingWaterBody": "Overland flow to storm drain to Foster Brook",
    "componentDescription": "Manhole CDFF6",
    "quantity": "32,020 Gallons Actual",
    "treatedState": "Untreated",
    "stepsToContain": "Set up pump, monitor flow.",
    "additionalInstructions": "When this SPRTK was sent it misrepresented the actual location of the discharge.  The SSO actually took place at 3094 Cloverbank rd. (Rogers and Cloverbank) not 4940 Rogers rd. (Rogers and Bender).  The addresses on this SPRTK have been corrected to properly represent the SSO that occurred. http://www2.erie.gov/dsm/index.php?q=Sanitary-Sewer-Overflows",
    "geoaddress": "3094 Cloverbank Rd, Hamburg, NY 14075, USA",
    "impactedArea": "Unknown -",
    "dischargeReason": "System Capacity - Localized heavy rainfall",
    "systemComponent": "Manhole - Manhole CDFF6",
    "region": "9",
    "sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
    "sprtkExplanation": "Localized heavy rainfall",
    "sprtkAdditionalInstructions": "When this SPRTK was sent it misrepresented the actual location of the discharge.  The SSO actually took place at 3094 Cloverbank rd. (Rogers and Cloverbank) not 4940 Rogers rd. (Rogers and Bender).  The addresses on this SPRTK have been corrected to properly represent the SSO that occurred.",
    "sprtkWebsiteUrl": "http://www2.erie.gov/dsm/index.php?q=Sanitary-Sewer-Overflows"
  },
  "_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
  "_row": 3722,
  "_time_basis": {
    "air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
  },
  "_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
  "_event_type_basis": "untreated discharge from a collection-system component",
  "_chain": {
    "id": "key:NY0095401|3094 rogers road hamburg|2026-06-15T00:20Z",
    "basis": "facility + address + start",
    "position": 1,
    "of": 1,
    "head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2560798551698235",
    "latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2560798551698235",
    "notices": [
      {
        "id": "2560798551698235",
        "status": "Close",
        "aired": "2026-06-15T13:09:27-04:00"
      }
    ],
    "head_missing": "the chain's first notice in the workbook is not a New notice (earlier notices missing)"
  }
}

Source: Southtowns AWTF- ECSD #3 (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2560798551698235, reported Jun 15, 2026, 1:09 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.