Reports /
Treatment bypass reported — ECSD #1 Cayuga ORF, Jun 18, 2026
Ended (as reported) · ECSD #1 Cayuga ORF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: ECSD #1 Cayuga ORF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2582994942452075, reported Jun 19, 2026, 6:11 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: ECSD #1 Cayuga ORF. Outlet: “Overflow Retention Facility Outfall”. Location: 42.87769, -78.76084; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Cayuga Creek”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “Partially Treated with Disinfection”
- Volume
- 2.25 million gallons (measured or verified)
- Volume as reported
- “2,246,800 Gallons Actual”
Advice from ECSD #1 Cayuga ORF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
“For more information on sewer overflows visit: http://www2.erie.gov/dsm/index.php?q=Sanitary-Sewer-Overflows”
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2582994942452075
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- Read the earlier version
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2582994942452075 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2582994942452075 |
| Earlier version | ny-dec-sprtk:2584403691702048 |
| Type | Treatment bypass |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-ecsd-1-cayuga-orf |
| Sewer operator | ECSD #1 Cayuga ORF |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Overflow Retention Facility Outfall |
| Water named in the report | Cayuga Creek |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 42.878 |
| Longitude | -78.761 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jun 18, 2026, 1:04 PM EDT (2026-06-18T13:04:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Jun 18, 2026, 8:58 PM EDT (2026-06-18T20:58:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Jun 19, 2026, 6:11 AM EDT (2026-06-19T06:11:55-04:00) |
| Published | Jun 19, 2026, 6:11 AM EDT (2026-06-19T06:11:55-04:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Partially Treated with Disinfection |
| Volume, in gallons | 2,246,800 |
| Volume as reported | 2,246,800 Gallons Actual |
| How volume was determined | measured or verified |
| Authority | ECSD #1 Cayuga ORF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | For more information on sewer overflows visit: http://www2.erie.gov/dsm/index.php?q=Sanitary-Sewer-Overflows |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2582994942452075",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "06/19/2026 10:11:55",
"notificationStatus": "Close",
"facilityName": "ECSD #1 Cayuga ORF",
"facilityId": "NYS900038",
"countyName": "Erie",
"streetNumber": "715",
"streetName": "Cayuga Creek Road",
"city": "Cheektowaga",
"addressDescription": "Cayuga Creek Rd near William St.",
"latitude": "-78.76084",
"longitude": "42.877688",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "06/18/2026 17:04:00",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "06/19/2026 00:58:00",
"dischargeDuration": "7.90 Hours - Ended",
"surfaceWater": "Yes",
"receivingWaterBody": "Cayuga Creek",
"componentDescription": "Overflow Retention Facility Outfall",
"quantity": "2,246,800 Gallons Actual",
"treatedState": "Partially Treated with Disinfection",
"stepsToContain": "Operate facility to meet interim effluent limits",
"additionalInstructions": "For more information on sewer overflows visit: http://www2.erie.gov/dsm/index.php?q=Sanitary-Sewer-Overflows",
"geoaddress": "715 Cayuga Creek Rd, Buffalo, NY 14227, USA",
"impactedArea": "Unknown -",
"dischargeReason": "System Capacity - Storage capacity at maximum",
"systemComponent": "Other - Overflow Retention Facility Outfall",
"region": "9",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
"sprtkExplanation": "Storage capacity at maximum",
"sprtkAdditionalInstructions": "For more information on sewer overflows visit:",
"sprtkWebsiteUrl": "http://www2.erie.gov/dsm/index.php?q=Sanitary-Sewer-Overflows"
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 3818,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "partially treated discharge (treated state)",
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NYS900038|715 cayuga creek road cheektowaga|2026-06-18T17:04Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 2,
"of": 2,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2584403691702048",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2582994942452075",
"notices": [
{
"id": "2584403691702048",
"status": "New",
"aired": "2026-06-18T13:09:18-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2582994942452075",
"status": "Close",
"aired": "2026-06-19T06:11:55-04:00"
}
]
}
} Source: ECSD #1 Cayuga ORF (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2582994942452075, reported Jun 19, 2026, 6:11 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.