Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — Metropolitan Syracuse WWTP, Jun 19, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Metropolitan Syracuse WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Metropolitan Syracuse WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2582994942532180, reported Jun 22, 2026, 7:28 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Metropolitan Syracuse WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0027081). Outlet: “Multiple CSO outfalls along Onondaga Creek.”. Location: 43.01614, -76.15700; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Onondaga Creek”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “Untreated”
- Volume
- 136,440 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “136,440 Gallons Estimated”
Advice from Metropolitan Syracuse WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
“The volume of this discharge is an average based on the average CSO discharge from 2016 to 2022. The estimated duration and volume of this discharge, if any, is unknown at the time of this report. The location identified is the furthest upstream CSO outfall on Onondaga Creek. Wet weather may cause sporadic CSO discharges.”
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2582994942532180
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- Read the earlier version
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2582994942532180 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2582994942532180 |
| Earlier version | ny-dec-sprtk:2579936925793406 |
| Type | Combined sewer overflow (CSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-onondaga-county-metro-syracuse |
| Sewer operator | Metropolitan Syracuse WWTP |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | NY0027081 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Multiple CSO outfalls along Onondaga Creek. |
| Water named in the report | Onondaga Creek |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 43.016 |
| Longitude | -76.157 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jun 19, 2026, 2:45 PM EDT (2026-06-19T14:45:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Jun 19, 2026, 4:15 PM EDT (2026-06-19T16:15:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Jun 22, 2026, 7:28 AM EDT (2026-06-22T07:28:42-04:00) |
| Published | Jun 22, 2026, 7:28 AM EDT (2026-06-22T07:28:42-04:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Untreated |
| Volume, in gallons | 136,440 |
| Volume as reported | 136,440 Gallons Estimated |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Metropolitan Syracuse WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | The volume of this discharge is an average based on the average CSO discharge from 2016 to 2022. The estimated duration and volume of this discharge, if any, is unknown at the time of this report. The location identified is the furthest upstream CSO outfall on Onondaga Creek. Wet weather may cause sporadic CSO discharges. |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2582994942532180",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "06/22/2026 11:28:42",
"notificationStatus": "Close",
"facilityName": "Metropolitan Syracuse WWTP",
"facilityId": "NY0027081",
"countyName": "Onondaga",
"streetNumber": "631",
"streetName": "W Newell St",
"city": "Syracuse",
"addressDescription": "CSO outfall is farthest upstream.",
"latitude": "-76.15700410793454",
"longitude": "43.01613877582463",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "06/19/2026 18:45:00",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "06/19/2026 20:15:00",
"dischargeDuration": "90 Minutes - Ended",
"surfaceWater": "Yes",
"receivingWaterBody": "Onondaga Creek",
"componentDescription": "Multiple CSO outfalls along Onondaga Creek.",
"quantity": "136,440 Gallons Estimated",
"treatedState": "Untreated",
"stepsToContain": "Permitted CSO Discharge.",
"additionalInstructions": "The volume of this discharge is an average based on the average CSO discharge from 2016 to 2022. The estimated duration and volume of this discharge, if any, is unknown at the time of this report. The location identified is the furthest upstream CSO outfall on Onondaga Creek. Wet weather may cause sporadic CSO discharges.",
"geoaddress": "631 W Newell St, Syracuse, NY 13205, USA",
"impactedArea": "Fishing Area -",
"dischargeReason": "Weather Conditions - Wet Weather may cause sporadic CSO discharges.",
"systemComponent": "CSO Outfall - Multiple CSO outfalls along Onondaga Creek.",
"region": "7",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
"sprtkExplanation": "Wet Weather may cause sporadic CSO discharges.",
"sprtkAdditionalInstructions": "The volume of this discharge is an average based on the average CSO discharge from 2016 to 2022. The estimated duration and volume of this discharge, if any, is unknown at the time of this report. The location identified is the furthest upstream CSO outfall on Onondaga Creek. Wet weather may cause sporadic CSO discharges."
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 3875,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "a CSO outfall named in the system component",
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NY0027081|631 w newell st syracuse|2026-06-19T19:00Z",
"basis": "facility + address; the start was edited by 0.25 h after the New notice (joined to the open chain at the same place)",
"position": 4,
"of": 4,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2582994942464019",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2582994942532180",
"notices": [
{
"id": "2582994942464019",
"status": "New",
"aired": "2026-06-19T15:48:18-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2584403691759609",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-06-20T15:13:57-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2579936925793406",
"status": "Update",
"aired": "2026-06-21T15:22:31-04:00"
},
{
"id": "2582994942532180",
"status": "Close",
"aired": "2026-06-22T07:28:42-04:00"
}
]
}
} Source: Metropolitan Syracuse WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2582994942532180, reported Jun 22, 2026, 7:28 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.