DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Thompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP, Jun 29, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Thompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

Source: Thompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2593474662722370, reported Jun 29, 2026, 10:12 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Thompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0030724). Outlet: “Force Main”. Location: 41.68430, -74.66860; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names no water. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“Untreated”
Volume
100 gallons (estimated)
Volume as reported
“100 Gallons Estimated”

Advice from Thompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
Source record number
2593474662722370
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierny-dec-sprtk:2593474662722370
Source identifierny-dec-sprtk
Source record number2593474662722370
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierny-thompson-t-kiamesha-lake-stp
Sewer operatorThompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)NY0030724
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameForce Main
Water named in the reportNot provided
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude41.684
Longitude-74.669
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJun 29, 2026, 7:00 AM EDT (2026-06-29T07:00:00-04:00)
EndedJun 29, 2026, 10:00 AM EDT (2026-06-29T10:00:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceJun 29, 2026, 10:12 AM EDT (2026-06-29T10:12:01-04:00)
PublishedJun 29, 2026, 10:12 AM EDT (2026-06-29T10:12:01-04:00)
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z)
MaterialUntreated
Volume, in gallons100
Volume as reported100 Gallons Estimated
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityThompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "notificationId": "2593474662722370",
    "sprtkAirDateTime": "06/29/2026 14:12:01",
    "notificationStatus": "New",
    "facilityName": "Thompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP NY0030724",
    "facilityId": "NY0030724",
    "countyName": "Sullivan",
    "streetNumber": "357",
    "streetName": "Fraser",
    "city": "Kiamesha Lake",
    "addressDescription": "Force Main",
    "latitude": "-74.6686",
    "longitude": "41.6843",
    "sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "06/29/2026 11:00:00",
    "sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "06/29/2026 14:00:00",
    "dischargeDuration": "3 Hours - Ended",
    "surfaceWater": "No",
    "receivingWaterBody": "None",
    "componentDescription": "Force Main",
    "quantity": "100 Gallons Estimated",
    "treatedState": "Untreated",
    "stepsToContain": "The pump station was shut off and the Town began hauling wastewater from the pump station.  The pipe is being excavated and repaired by Town staff.",
    "geoaddress": "357 Fraser Rd, Monticello, NY 12701, USA",
    "impactedArea": "Unknown -",
    "dischargeReason": "Pipe Break - The force main has a crack in it",
    "systemComponent": "Pipe - Force Main",
    "region": "3",
    "sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Overland Flow",
    "sprtkExplanation": "The force main has a crack in it"
  },
  "_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
  "_row": 4037,
  "_time_basis": {
    "air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
  },
  "_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
  "_event_type_basis": "untreated discharge from a collection-system component",
  "_water": {
    "why_none": "the notifier says the discharge does not reach surface water"
  },
  "_volume_note": "first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
  "_chain": {
    "id": "key:NY0030724|357 fraser kiamesha lake|2026-06-29T11:00Z",
    "basis": "facility + address + start",
    "position": 1,
    "of": 1,
    "head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2593474662722370",
    "latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2593474662722370",
    "notices": [
      {
        "id": "2593474662722370",
        "status": "New",
        "aired": "2026-06-29T10:12:01-04:00"
      }
    ]
  }
}

Source: Thompson (T) Kiamesha Lake STP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2593474662722370, reported Jun 29, 2026, 10:12 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.